Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners
The Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners was established by the Legislature in 1887 to help protect the interest of Arkansas citizens. The Board is authorized by statute to license dentists and dental hygienists by examination or credentials. The Board issues specialty licenses to dentists who have post-graduate training and successfully complete an examination. The Board registers dental corporations. The Board issues permits to dental assistants who have qualified for expanded duties. It issues anesthesia permits to dentists who have special training and wish to use general anesthesia or conscious sedation in their offices. It issues local anesthesia permits to dental hygienists who have special training that meets Board criteria.
The Board by rule and regulation prescribes those acts, services, procedures, and practices which define the practice of dentistry and those acts, services, procedures, and practices that can be performed by dental hygienists and dental assistants.
The Board disciplines its licensees and permit holders if there has been a violation of the Dental Practice Act, the Dental Corporation Act, or the Board’s Rules and Regulations.
The Board is entirely self-supporting. Application fees, renewal fees, permit fees, disciplinary fines, and penalties fund the work of the Board.
|Matthew McDonough, DDS, President||Jonesboro|
|Charles Garrett Taylor, DDS, Vice President||Pine Bluff|
|Dwight Duckworth, DDS, Secretary/Treasurer||Springdale|
|Cara Jones, DDS||Little Rock|
|Robert Carlisle, DDS||Benton|
|Jeffrey Wisener, DDS||Rogers|
|Erika Thomas, RDH||Conway|
|Meredith Rogers, Executive Director|
|Corneshia Harrison, Administrative Analyst|
|Sara Farris, Board Attorney|
Proposed Rules & Regulations
The Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners is revising its rules. The new rule (Article IX) complies with Act 135 of 2021 concerning licensure for military members and their spouses by granting temporary licensure for 90 days, extending the license expiration date for a deployed service member/spouse, and grants a full exemption from continuing education requirements for 180 days following the date of the service member’s return from deployment.
The Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners was created by act 144 of 1887 and has been in continuous existence since that time. Currently, Act 14 of 1955, known as the Dental Practice Act, governs Board operations. The Board regulates the practice of dentistry, dental hygiene, and dental assisting, by examining applicants for competency and issuing licenses to candidates meeting the requirements of the State and the Board.
The Board is also vested with the power to revoke or suspend the privilege of practicing professionally under any license or permit issued by it; it may place a licensee or permittee on probation, may impose a fine, or a combination of these sanctions; it has the authority to promulgate Rules and Regulations governing the practice of dentistry; it may conduct disciplinary hearings under the Administrative Procedures Act.
The Board is composed of six practicing dentists, one practicing dental hygienist, and two consumer representatives; one represents the senior citizens of the State. Members are appointed by the Governor for five year terms; officers are elected annually. The
Board meets eight or more times a year and conducts disciplinary hearings in conjunction with those meetings.
More than 5,000 individuals hold a current license or permit issued by the Board of Dental Examiners.
Board meetings are open to the public and are held in the Main Street Mall building on the corner of 6th and Main Streets in downtown Little Rock. The meetings begin at 8:30 am. The public is welcome. View the calendar for a complete list of upcoming board meetings.
Resources & Links
- Renew your dental/dental hygiene license
- Application Fees
- Complaint Form
- Dental Practice Act (last updated October 2020)
- Enter Your Continuing Education Hours
- Legal Files
- Licensure (Dentists)
- Licensure (Assistants)
- Licensure (Hygienists)
- License Verification (dental license, hygiene license, and dental assisting permit)
Upcoming Board Meetings:
Meetings begin at 9am.
The following meetings will be held at 9am in Main Street Mall (101 E. Capitol Avenue, Little Rock AR 72201) in the Cox Conference Room on the basement level:
- September 16, 2022
- November 18, 2022
- January 20, 2023
- March 3, 2023
- May 5, 2023
- June 9, 2023
- May 6, 2022
- March 4, 2022
- January 14, 2022
- December 14, 2021
- November 16, 2021
- November 5, 2021
- September 10, 2021
- August 13, 2021
- June 18, 2021
- May 14, 2021
- March 12, 2021
- January 15, 2021
|Arkansas State Board of Dental Examiners||101 East Capitol Ave.
Little Rock, AR 72201