Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board
NOTICE OF PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD
The Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) is accepting public comments from January 9, 2024, to February 7, 2024, on the act to amend the military licensing of uniformed service members, veterans, and spouses act (Senate Bill 193 of 2021); the act to modify the number of board members of the Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board that constitutes a quorum and that may call a special meeting; and the act to authorize the use of email for renewal notices (House Bill 1108 of 2023).
The comment period is provided to allow interested parties and the public to provide any comments. The proposed repealed rule with a summary of changes can be viewed online here or you may request a copy from our office at 501-661-2530.
Comments on the proposed changes can also be mailed to Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board 5800 W. 10th Street, Suite 103 Little Rock, AR 72204, or emailed to email@example.com
Licensees should provide a valid email address on all applications and correspondence. Information, including licenses, is provided via email. Email address changes should be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org. Ample time should be provided to receive a license renewal. Renewal notices are sent to licensees approximately 60 days before the license expiration dates. Renewal applications sent the week of the license expiration date may not be processed before the expiration date.
Effective 9-17-23, Pam Tanner joined the ADLB as director and full-time staff member. Please direct all communication regarding licensing, verification of licenses, or other requests to Pam: email@example.com. We are pleased to have Pam join our team and look forward to further opportunities to streamline our processes utilizing Pam’s expertise.
Announcement: Under the authority vested in the Secretary of the Arkansas Department of Health by Act 114 of 2023, the Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board will be reducing certain fees effective 7/1/23:
- New Application fee: $6.00
- Renewal Fee: $3.00
The fee reduction will be in effect beginning 7/1/23 and ending 6/30/24. These regulatory fees and charges have been reduced in light of the fund balance accumulated by the board and the reduction may or may not apply in future years.
Applicants renewing an expired license must pay the renewal fee plus penalty and provide an attestation statement. CEUs must have been earned within the correct time frame for the original expiration date. See Rules X.F.
Fee to replace a current issued license card: $25
The purpose of the Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board (ADLB) is to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public. This is accomplished by providing for the licensing and regulation of persons engaged in the practice of dietetics as established by the Dietetics Practice Act in l989.
The Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board members appointed by the Governor meet regularly to process new and renewal licensure applications. The state of Arkansas currently licenses over 793 dietitians in the state.
The law that established licensure for dietitians in Arkansas also specified that for renewal of that license, every licensed dietitian would yearly complete twelve (12) hours of continuing education(CE). The CE would be approved by the Commission on Dietetic Registration or its designee. These Continuing Education Guidelines provide additional information regarding this process.
The Board is comprised of five (5) persons, all of whom are Arkansas Residents, with the following qualifications: three (3) Board members are Licensed Dietitians; two (2) Board members are representatives of the public at large. The members of the Board are appointed by the Governor, with the consent of the Senate, and serve staggered terms of five (5) years each beginning January 15 of odd-numbered years. The dietetic professional members are selected from a list of ten (10) names submitted to the Governor by the Board of Directors of the Arkansas Academy of Dietetics and Nutrition. Each of these Licensed Dietitian Board members has been practicing dietitians for at least five (5) years preceding their appointment.
Functions of the Board
Duties of the Board include the licensure and regulation of individuals qualified to engage in the practice of dietetics and other nutrition care services.
At least two (2) regular meetings of the Board are held each calendar year, and at the first regular meeting every two (2) years, the Board elects a chairperson and vice-chairperson. Special called meetings may be held at the discretion of the chairperson or at the written request of any three (3) members of the Board. All regular meetings of the Board are open to the public. Reasonable notice of all meetings are given in the manner prescribed by the laws of this State.
A quorum of the Board consists of three (3) members. A secretary of the Board is elected by the Board and holds office at the pleasure of the Board.
Board Meetings for 2024
- February 13
- March 12
- April 9
- May 14
- June 11
- July 9
- August 13
- September 10
- October 8
- October 22
- November 5
- November 12
- November 26
- December 10
- Pursuant to Act 392, “Dietetics Practice Act” the Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board established the following rules and regulations: Dietetics Practice Act.
- Paper Renewal Application (ADLB-2 - Updated 7.31.23) (Contains ADLB 1, 2, & 3)
- Renewal Application Online Form
- Continuing Education Guidelines (ADLB-7)
- Paper New Application (ADLB-2 - Updated 7.31.23)
- New Application Online Form
- Complaint Form (ADLB-8)
- Additional Online PLD Application Documents
- Additional Online New Application Documents
- Verification List
- Emergency Advisory to Arkansas Licensing Agencies, Boards, and Commissions of an Imposter Scam
- Letter to Health Care Workers
- Guidelines for Fully Vaccinated Persons to Quarantine if Exposed to a Person Known to have COVID-19
- Guidelines for Dietetics Routine Care Reopening
- Commission on Dietetic Registration
- Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
- Arkansas Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
|Arkansas Dietetics Licensing Board
|5800 W 10th St.
Little Rock, AR 72204