On March 23, 2020, the Secretary of Health, in conjunction with the Governor, issued a directive that Barber Shops, Body Art Establishments, Body Art Schools, Cosmetology Establishments, Massage Therapy Clinics/Spas, and Medical Spas should close for in-person operations. Beginning May 6, 2020, these providers may resume services if they meet the conditions outlined in this directive. The new directive specifies steps licensees must take to safely reopen. The directive notes that the Department of Health COVID Infection Control Education module should be viewed prior to reopening. That module can be viewed here. Additional supplemental recommendations are available here.
Under the new directive, signage must be posted in cosmetology establishments and massage clinics, informing clients and staff about new requirements. Signage appropriate for this use is available here.
Failure to voluntarily comply with lawful Directives of ADH, include the potential for enforcement through criminal and civil penalties, as provided in Arkansas law.
Thank you for your cooperation to this manner.
DURING THE PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY ALL APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES WHETHER APPROVED FOR HANDS-ON OR ONLINE CAN BE ADMINISTERED ONLINE.
Until the public health emergency is lifted one of the following guidelines can be used for renewals:
- All required 18 hours of Continuing education can be obtained through on line courses.
- Renewals can be mailed in without the required 18 hours of continuing education however the hours should be submitted within 90 days after the conclusion of the public health emergency.
- Renewals can be deferred for 90 days past expiration without late fee penalties after the conclusion of the public health emergency.
The Arkansas Department of Health regulates Massage Therapy for the protection of public welfare in the mission of protecting public health. Massage Therapy is a health care service that treats soft tissues: skin, fascia, and muscles; as well as their dysfunctions for therapeutic purposes of establishing and maintaining good physical condition, comfort, and relief of pain. ADH licenses and ensures standards of competency and practice in the Massage Therapy Profession for the state of Arkansas. ADH is responsible for the regulation and enforcement of rules and laws for the vocation of Massage Therapy in all establishments and schools. This regulation and enforcement extends also over the qualifications of Massage Therapists in practice or instruction. ADH imposes penalties for violations of laws, rules, and regulations of Massage Therapy.
- Massage Therapy Technical Advisory Committee 2018- 2021
- Approved Continuing Education for Massage Therapy
- Massage Therapy Look Up
Office hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Our office is closed on all published state holidays.
|Massage Therapy||4815 W. Markham Street, Slot #8
Little Rock, AR 72205