Adoption File Requests
Act 519 of 2017 provides individuals who were adopted, and are at least 21 years of age, the ability to request their adoption file from the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH). An ADH adoption file usually includes an original birth certificate and adoption decree, although what is included in a file can vary depending on the adoption. The law also allows for birth parents to redact their name from an adoption file and update family history and contact preference by submitting that information to ADH.
Information for Birth Parents
Birth parents may complete forms to redact their name from an adoption file as well as update their family history information and contact preference. They can request to be contacted by the adopted child directly, through a third party or not at all, although the ADH cannot guarantee that request will be followed.
To submit a request, a birth parent must show proof of their identity, submit a notarized form and update their genetic or social history. A form cannot be submitted by one birth parent for another.
These forms are now available for birth parents who wish to redact their name from an adoption file, or update their contact or medical information.
Forms must be returned to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Vital Records Department
4815 West Markham St., Slot 44
Little Rock AR 72205.
|Form A - Contact Preference|
|Form B - Family History|
|Form C - Redaction Request|
|Birth Parent Pack Instructions|
Information for Adoptees
Beginning August 1, 2018, individuals who were adopted may request their adoption file. Written requests for adoption files will be accepted starting Wednesday, Aug. 1, by adoptees or, upon their death, a surviving spouse or a guardian of their child. That request must be notarized and include proof of their identity. There is a $100 fee for adoption files.
|Request for an Adopted Person's Original Birth Record - Instructions|
|Request for an Adopted Person's Original Birth Record|