Healthy Communities

Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission

Mission Statement

The mission of the Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission (ATSC) is to provide oversight and assessment of the performance of the seven (7) programs funded by the Tobacco Settlement Proceeds Act of 2000.



John Henderson, MD 
Commission Chair
Physician, Unity Health 
Speaker of the House Appointee (term expires 9.30.2019)

Alex Johnston 
Commission Vice-Chair 
Director, Department of Rural Services, Arkansas Economic Development Commission
AEDC Permanent Designee

Andrea Allen
Commission Executive Committee Member
Deputy Director, Arkansas State University Delta Center for Economic Development
Governor Appointee (term expires 10.1.2021)

Jerri Clark 
Director, School Health Services, Arkansas Department of Education
ADE Permanent Designee

Mary Franklin 
Director, Division of County Operations, Arkansas Department of Human Services
ADHS Permanent Designee

Nick Fuller 
Deputy Director, Arkansas Department of Higher Education
ADHE Permanent Designee

Ken Knecht, MD
Physician, Arkansas Children's Hospital
Senate President Pro Tempore Appointee (term expires 9.30.2021)

Roddy Lochala, DO 
Physician, Family Practice Clinic
Attorney General Appointee (term expires 10.1.2017)

Nathaniel Smith, MD, MPH 
State Health Officer, Secretary of Health, Arkansas Department of Health

Commission Staff
April Robinson, Administrative Specialist III


Upcoming Meetings

April 8, 2020
10am to 12pm
ATSC Commission Meeting
101 East Capitol Ave., Suite 108
Little Rock, AR 72201

April 23, 2020
April 8, 2020
February 12, 2020

Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission Programs


The UAMS Centers on Aging's mission is to improve the quality of life for older adults and their families through two primary missions: an infrastructure that provides quality interdisciplinary clinical care and innovative education programs.




The Fay W. Boozman College of Public Health (COPH) educates a public health workforce and advances the health of the public by investigating the causes, treatments, and prevention of human health problems. The College's mission of improving the health of all Arkansans is realized through teaching and research as well as service to elected officials, agencies, organizations, and communities.



UAMS East Regional Campus provide healthcare outreach services to seven counties including St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Chicot, Desha, Monroe, and Crittenden counties. UAMS East Regional Campus, formerly known as the Delta Area Health Education Center (AHEC), was established in 1990 with the purpose of providing health education to under-served populations in the Arkansas Delta region.



Arkansas Biosciences Institute (ABI), the agricultural and biomedical research programs of the Tobacco Settlement Proceeds Act, is a partnership of scientists from Arkansas Children's Hospital Research Institute, Arkansas State University, the University of Arkansas-Division of Agriculture, the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, and the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. ABI supports long-term agricultural and biomedical research at its five member institutions and focuses on fostering collaborative research that connects investigators from various disciplines across institutions.


The Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Program (TPCP) includes community and school education prevention programs, enforcement of youth tobacco controls laws, tobacco cessation programs, health communications, and awareness campaigns. The TPCP also sponsors statewide tobacco control programs that involve youth to increase local coalition activities, tobacco-related disease prevention programs, minority initiatives and monitoring, and evaluation. TPCP follows the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Best Practices for Tobacco Control 2014 as a guide for program development.



The Tobacco Settlement Medicaid Expansion Program (TS-MEP) is a separate component of the Arkansas Medicaid Program that improves the health of Arkansas by expanding healthcare coverage and benefits to targeted populations. The program works to expand Medicaid coverage and benefits in four population: 1) Expands Medicaid coverage and benefits to pregnant women with incomes ranging from 138%-200% of the Federal Poverty Level; 2) Expands inpatient and outpatient hospital reimbursements and benefits to adults age 19-64; 3) Expands non-institutional coverage and benefits to seniors age 65 and over; 4) To reduce the developmental disabilities waiting list.



The Arkansas Minority Health Initiative (MHI) was established in 2001 through Initiated Act I to administer the Targeted State Needs for screening, monitoring, and treating hypertension, strokes, and other disorders disproportionately critical to minority groups in Arkansas by 1) increasing awareness, 2) providing screening or access to screening, 3) developing intervention strategies (including educational programs) and developing/maintaining a database. 


Coverage Areas






Click on the map above for the TPCP Sub-Grantee Coverage Area Map. Click here for the MISRGO Sub-Recipients Coverage Area Map.


Quick Links:


Office Address Phone Fax
Arkansas Tobacco Settlement Commission 101 E. Capitol Avenue
Suite 108
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-683-0072 501-661-2332

Judy Zorn, Administrative Specialist III

Public Health Accrediation Board
Arkansas Department of Health
© 2017 Arkansas Department of Health. All Rights Reserved.
4815 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72205-3867