Arkansas Vital Records has birth records dating from February 1, 1914 through the present. There are a limited number of birth records available prior to 1914. Those records were filed with Arkansas Vital Records after 1914. We also have original copies of some Little Rock and Fort Smith births dating from 1881.
All documents are in PDF format unless otherwise noted.
|Birth Certificate Application | PDF | Word
|Birth Certificate Resulting in Stillbirth Application | PDF | Word
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: What types of birth copies are issued?
Answer: Vital Records issues a certified copy of the original birth certificate in paper form.
Q: How much do birth records cost?
Answer: The cost of a birth record is $12.00 for the first copy and $10.00 for each additional copy of the same record that is ordered at the same time. If no record is found or no copy is made, state law requires that we keep $12.00 for a search fee. You will receive a refund of any amount you paid over the required $12.00 search fee.
If you used the "Express Service" both the Express fee and the search fee of $12.00 are not refundable, but you will receive a credit of any credit card fees paid in excess of the search fee of $12.00 and the Express Service fee.
We accept cash, checks, money orders made out to Arkansas Department of Health, and and all major credit cards, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®. Please do not send cash in the mail.
Q: Who may order a birth certificate?
Answer: Arkansas Statute 20-18-305 allows release of birth records to specific persons who are related to the registrant and to his/her designated representatives, to academic research groups, and to persons who demonstrate a right to the record. Births over 100 years old may be released to the public.
Q: What information must be provided with the application?
- Government issued photo identification
- Full name of the person on the birth certificate (please provide your maiden name or your name at birth)
- Date of birth
- City or town and county of birth
- Father’s full name
- Mother’s full name, to include her maiden name
- Requester’s relationship to the person named on the certificate
- Requester’s reason for requesting the certificate
- Cash, check, or money order payable to Arkansas Department of Health