Healthy Communities

Arkansas State Board of Health

The Arkansas State Board of Health was established by Act 96 of 1913, which serves as the charter or constitution for this Board. The Board has the general supervision and control of all matters pertaining to the health of the citizens of Arkansas. It is empowered to make all necessary and reasonable rules and regulations of a general nature for: 

The Department of Health is the state agency responsible for implementing the Board’s regulations.

Resources

State Board of Health Members
Terry Yamauchi, M.D.,President
(12-31-2019 – At Large)
terry.yamauchi@arkansas.gov
Catherine Tapp, MPH, President-Elect
12-31-2016 – APHA)
catherine.tapp@arkansas.gov
Perry Amerine, O.D.
(12-31-2016 – APHA)
perry.amerine@arkansas.gov
Gary Bass, Pharm. D.
(12-31-2018 – Pharmacist)
gary.bass@arkansas.gov
Miranda Childs Bebee, DDS.
(12-31-2017 – dentist)
miranda.bebee@arkansas.gov
Greg Bledsoe, M.D.
Surgeon General
greg.bledsoe@arkansas.gov
Lawrence Braden, M.D.
12-31-2016 – District 4)
lawrence.md@arkansas.gov
Glen “Eddie” Bryant, M.D.
(12-31-2016 – District 1)
glen.bryant@arkansas.gov
Clark Fincher, M.D.
(12-31-2016 – District 2)
clark.fincher@arkansas.gov
Beverly Foster, D.C
(12-31-2017 – Chiropractor)
beverly.foster@arkansas.gov
Alan Fortenberry, P.E.
(12-31-2017 – Engineer)
alan.fortenberry@arkansas.gov
Anthony N. Hui, M.D.
(12-31-2016 – District 3)
anthony.hui@arkansas.gov
Lee Johnson, M.D
(12-31-2016 – At Large)
lee.johnson@arkansas.gov
Susan Jones, M.D.
(12-31-2016 - Rural Physician)
susan.jones@arkansas.gov
Thomas Jones, R.S.
(12-31-2016 – Sanitarian)
thomas.jones@arkansas.gov
Jim M. Lambert
(12-31-2019 – Hospital Adm.)
jim.lambert@arkansas.gov
Robbie Thomas Knight, Ph.D.
(12-31-2017 – Consumer)
robbie.knight@arkansas.gov
Peggy Walker, MSN, CADC
(12-31-2016 – Registered Nurse)
peggy.walker@arkansas.gov
Susan Weinstein, DVM
(12-31-2019–Veterinarian)
susan.weinstein@arkansas.gov
Dr. James Zini, DO
(12-31-16 - At Large)
james.zini@arkansas.gov
Nathaniel Smith, MD, MPH
Secretary/Director
nathaniel.smith@arkansas.gov

Note: Meetings are always held quarterly on the fourth Thursday of the month, except in October, in the Charles H. Hughes, O.D. Board Room on the 9th Floor of the Freeway Medical Building, Little Rock, Arkansas, at 10:00 a.m.

2017 Quarterly Meetings

Date Time Location
October 26 & 27 (Quarterly meeting and retreat) n/a Little Rock Marriott

2018 Quarterly Meetings

Date Time Location
January 25 10:00 AM Freeway Medical Building
9th floor, Charles H. Hughes, O.D. Board Room
5800 W. 10th St.
Little Rock, AR 72204
April 26 10:00 AM Freeway Medical Building
9th floor, Charles H. Hughes, O.D. Board Room
5800 W. 10th St.
Little Rock, AR 72204
July 26 10:00 AM Freeway Medical Building
9th floor, Charles H. Hughes, O.D. Board Room
5800 W. 10th St.
Little Rock, AR 72204
Executive Committee Meetings
Executive Committee Meetings are only held at the discretion of the President and the Secretary/Director.
Board of Health Meeting Minutes
04.27.17
01.26.17
10.20.16
07.28.16
04.28.16
01.28.16

For older archives, email Karley Altazan.

Arkansas Department of Health
© 2017 Arkansas Department of Health. All Rights Reserved. | www.healthy.arkansas.gov
4815 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72205-3867 | 1-800-462-0599