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Early Hearing Detection & Intervention (EHDI)

Who is EHDI?

Each year, an estimated 1 to 3 per 1,000 infants are born with moderate, severe, or profound hearing loss
resulting in potentially delayed development in language, learning, and speech. Even more will lose their
hearing during infancy or childhood (American Speech-Language-Hearing Association 2020). Children who are
deaf or hard of hearing face a neuro-developmental emergency and need to be identified as quickly as possible
so appropriate intervention services can begin.

The mission of Arkansas’ EHDI program, Arkansas Department of Health’s Infant Hearing Program is to ensure
all newborns meet the Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (JCIH) EHDI goals:

* Ensure early identification of all deaf and hard-of-hearing children and access to timely intervention
enroliment.

* Enhance providers’ knowledge about EHDI 1-3-6 guidelines — screening by 1 month of age, diagnosis of
hearing loss by 3 months of age, and enrollment in early intervention by 6 months of age if diagnosed with
hearing loss.

* Incorporate EHDI into an integrated, medical-home approach to child health.

* Ensure newborn hearing screening results are clearly communicated to parents and reported to EHDI in
accordance with state laws and rules.

For tracking and surveillance, the EHDI Program needs hospitals, primary care physicians, pediatricians,
audiologists, and interventionists to provide accurate and complete information regarding hearing screening,
testing, and intervention next steps on a consistent basis. This also allows the EHDI Program to connect
families to appropriate resources and services.
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Arkansas Law: Act 1559 of 1999

Arkansas Law — Act 1559 of 1999

An Act to ensure early detection of hearing loss for all newborns/infants in Arkansas and to establish the
universal newborn/infant hearing screening, tracking, and intervention program and advisory board.

+ All birthing hospitals must provide bilateral hearing screening on each birth admission;

» Al birthing hospitals, physicians, or other providers administering initial screening or follow-up care must
report results to the Arkansas Department of Health’s (ADH) Infant Hearing Program (IHP); and

» Al birthing hospitals, physicians, or other providers administering initial screening or follow-up care shall
inform parents where to obtain medical and audiological follow-up screening/care.

All test results are reported via the Electronic Registry of Arkansas Vital Events (ERAVE), a web-based
database that collects and reports hearing, birth, and death records.

RAVE

Electronic Registration
of Arkansas Vital Events
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When Should Infants Be Screened?

1-3-6 EHDI Plan

Infant hearing loss has been defined as a neurodevelopmental emergency. Children with hearing loss are at
risk not only for lifelong deficits in speech and language acquisition, but poor academic performance, personal-
social maladjustments and emotional difficulties. Timing is critical to optimize outcomes. Babies with hearing
loss identified in the first weeks of life, and who begin hearing optimally no later than six months, have a good
chance of developing neural connections in their auditory brain pathways necessary to lay the foundation for

spoken language development.

Newborn Hearing Screening Checklist provided with this toolkit to assist with next steps in the 1-3-6 process,
https://lwww.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/NBHS_Checklist.pdf

Early Identification of Hearing
Loss- Method

A

Early Intervention

¢ No later than 6

Diagnostic months of age

testing with
Pediatric

Screening ! )
Audiologist
*No laterthan 1
month of age ¢ No laterthan 3

months of age
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1-3-6 NEWBORN HEARING SCREENING

CHECKLIST

Patient Name:

Patient DOB:

Date of Visit:

1 INITIAL SCREENING (by no later than 1 month of age)

“did not pass” or if otherwise necessary)?

Where will the rescreening be performed?

v If hospital/outpatient center, when is the rescreening
appointment?

v If conducted in office:

* Determine what screening equipment was used at the

)

O Hospital:

Has the child had a newborn hearing screening? Yes | No = Schedule initial screening
Did you obtain the test results from the screening hospital Yes | No = Contact the hospital or state EHDI program
or state EHDI program?
Are the results recorded in the patient’s chart? Yes | No = Record test results in patient chart
Did the child pass the newborn hearing screening? Yes | No = Schedule rescreening appointment
Have the results been reported to the state EHDI program? | Yes | No = Confirm results have been reported to state EHDI
program within 48 hours of receiving them
Have results been discussed with family? Yes | No= U Fora child who passed, stress the importance
of ongoing surveillance and risk factors®
O For a child who did not pass, discuss the
need for follow-up and assist in arranging a
rescreening
Has a rescreening occurred (if the initial screen resulted in Yes | No = Schedule rescreening appointment

RESCREENING (by no /ater than 1 month of age

O Office

Q Other (specify):

hospital. Location:
* Follow the AAP office rescreening guidelines.
Date:
Did the child pass the rescreening? Yes | No = Send child to audiologist with pediatric expertise for
diagnostic evaluation.
Are the results recorded in the patient chart? Yes | No = Record results in patient chart.
Have the results been discussed with the family? Yes | No = O For a child who passed, stress the importance of
ongoing surveillance and risk factors*

QO For a child who did not pass, discuss the need
for follow-up and assist in arranging an
audiologic evaluation

Have the results been reported? Yes | No = Confirm results have been reported to state EHDI
program within 48 hours of receipt
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DIAGNOSTIC EVALUATION (by no later than 3 months of age)

If the child was diagnosed with a hearing loss, was he/ Yes
she referred for early intervention and multidisciplinary

evaluation?

ONGOING SURVEILLANCE AND SCREENING

If the child did not pass the rescreening, was he/she Yes No = Refer to
referred to an audiologist with expertise in pediatrics? Provider: agdiologist
with
Date of Visit: expertise in
pediatrics
Were the results of the diagnostic test normal? Yes | No = Discuss early intervention (El) and need for
comprehensive plan
Have the results been discussed with the family? Yes | No = O For a child who passed, stress the importance of
ongoing surveillance and risk factors*
O For a child who did not pass, discuss El and
need for comprehensive plan
Have the results been reported? Yes | No = Confirm results have been reported back to state
EHDI program within 48 hours of receipt

‘3 EARLY INTERVENTION (by no later than 6 months of age)

Date of visit:

Continue to perform ongoing surveillance and screening for late-onset hearing loss, particularly children with risk factors.

No = Provide referral for El,
ophthalmology, and
otolaryngology and offer

referral for genetics

*JCIH Risk Factors

a program to enhance the health & development of infants & children

Early Hearing Detection
& Intervention Program

A program of the American Academy of Pediatrics in cooperation with the
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention and Maternal & Child Health Bureau/HRSA

%

Funding for the development of these materials was provided through a cooperative agreement
(U43MC09134) between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the US Department

of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Maternal

and Child Health Bureau as well as through a cooperative agreement (6U58DD00587)
between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Center on Birth Defects and
Developmental Disabilities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Content
is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent the official views of
the Maternal and Child Health Bureau or the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

April 2014
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Roles and Responsibilities of Audiologists

The Role of the Audiologist in Arkansas’ EHDI Program:

Provide a seamless progression of hearing healthcare throughout the EHDI process to ensure infants
and their families receive appropriate and timely services from screening through evaluation and early
intervention.

Serve as key stakeholder assisting the Infant Hearing Program in developing and implementing
comprehensive, community-based protocols to facilitate optimal outcomes for infants and families.
Provide education to community/hospital personnel identifying the importance of early identification and
intervention of hearing loss in infants.

Responsibilities during the Diagnostic Hearing Evaluation:

Conduct appropriate diagnostic testing to determine type and degree of hearing loss.

Share the results of the diagnostic hearing evaluation both verbally and in writing with the parents/
caregivers (in the family’s primary language, if possible).

Ensure the family can restate the next steps following the diagnostic appointment including results and the
need for future appointments.

Provide information about unbiased communication options and resource materials to families.

Provide information about early intervention services to families.

Responsibilities after the Diagnostic Evaluation:

Monitor and evaluate infants and toddlers at risk for hearing loss.

Report results to the child’s Primary Care Provider and the Infant Hearing Program within 7 business days
of the evaluation.

Remind families/caregivers of any upcoming appointments for additional testing.
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Pediatric Audiological Assessment

The following best practice recommendations were developed by the Arkansas Department of Health’s Infant
Hearing Program in collaboration with the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening, Tracking, and Intervention
Advisory Board. The recommendations take into consideration information from national organizations, such
as, the National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management (NCHAM), the Joint Committee of Infant
Hearing (JCIH), the American Academy of Audiology (AAA) and the American Speech-Language-Hearing
Association (ASHA).

This document serves to facilitate the diagnosis of hearing loss in infants. The Arkansas Department of
Health recognizes individual cases may present unique challenges influencing the approach to evaluation
and management. Therefore, these recommendations should be regarded as a guideline for practice, not as
standards, and are not intended or designed to substitute for the reasonable exercise of independent clinical
judgment. However, the protocol presented is consistent with generally accepted “standards of care” in
pediatric audiology.

Initial Hearing Screen/Rescreen

Otoacoustic emissions (OAEs) and automated auditory brainstem response (ABRs) are physiologic
measures that can be used to screen newborns and infants for hearing loss. The following summarized
protocols for the initial hearing screen/rescreen process were obtained from the 2020 JCIH Position
Statement.

O Screening Protocols in the Well-Infant Nursery
B OAEs and automated ABRs are both acceptable screening measures for infants in the well-
infant nursery.
B |nfants in the well-infant nursery who fail automated ABR testing should not be rescreened
by OAE testing and “passed,” because such infants are presumed to be at risk of
having a subsequent diagnosis of auditory neuropathy/dyssynchrony.

O Screening Protocols in the NICU
® JCIH recommends ABR technology as the only appropriate screening technique for use in
the NICU.
B For infants who do not pass automated ABR testing in the NICU, referral should be made
directly to an audiologist for rescreening and, when indicated, comprehensive evaluation,
including diagnostic ABR testing, rather than general outpatient rescreening.

O Outpatient Rescreening for Infants Who Do Not Pass the Birth Admission Screening
B The outpatient rescreening should include the testing of both ears, even if only one ear
failed the inpatient screening.
B |f the infant does not pass the rescreening, a referral for a diagnostic evaluation should be
made to an audiologist.

Professional qualifications for Providers Completing Diagnostic Assessments

Any audiologist accepting infants for diagnostic audiological evaluations should be prepared with the
equipment, training and skills to complete the procedures recommended by (JCIH). A licensed audiologist
with experience in the pediatric population is the professional best qualified to perform diagnostic audiological
assessments for infants. If the audiologist does not have the expertise and/or equipment necessary to evaluate
and manage infants/young children, consideration for a referral should be made to professionals and facilities
that provide pediatric diagnostic services.
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Recommended Pediatric Audiologic Assessment

Birth to 6 Months of Age

When testing infants birth to 6 months of age, the confirmatory audiological test battery includes:

* Child and family history (including an evaluation of risk factors for congenital hearing loss).

+ Assessment of parental report of the infant’s response to environmental sounds.

+ Clinician observation of the infant’s auditory behavior as a crosscheck in conjunction with
electrophysiological measures.

* Confirm middle ear status with one or more of the following techniques:

aor®Od~

o

8.

9.

High frequency tympanometry.

Pneumatic otoscopy by a physician experienced in its application.

Acoustic reflex threshold testing should be considered especially with concern of auditory neuropathy.
Distortion product and/or transient evoked OAEs (TEOAE and/or DPOAE).

Frequency specific assessment of hearing sensitivity using ABR air-conduction toneburst at 500Hz,
1000Hz, 2000Hz, and 4000Hz with bone-conduction toneburst utilized when indicated.

When permanent hearing loss is detected, frequency-specific ABR testing is needed to determine the
degree and configuration of hearing loss in each ear for fitting of amplification devices.

Click-evoked ABR testing using both condensation and rarefaction single-polarity stimulus, if there
are risk indicators for neural hearing loss (auditory neuropathy/auditory dyssynchrony) such as
hyperbilirubinemia or anoxia, to determine if a cochlear microphonic is present.

Because some infants with neural hearing loss have no risk indicators, any infant who demonstrates
“no response” on ABR elicited by tone-burst stimuli must be evaluated by a click-evoked ABR.
Identify cases of non-permanent hearing loss (non-congenital origin, such as fluctuating conclusive loss).

Six Months to 36 Months of Age

* For subsequent testing of infants and toddlers at developmental ages of 6 to 36 months, the confirmatory
audiological test battery includes:

Child and family history including an evaluation of risk factors for congenital hearing loss and parental
report of auditory and visual behaviors and communication milestones.

Confirm middle ear status with one or more of the following techniques:

Tympanometry.

Pneumatic otoscopy by a physician experienced in its application.

Acoustic reflex threshold testing should be considered especially when concern is present of auditory
neuropathy.

Distortion product and/or transient evoked OAEs (TEOAE and/or DPOAE), when indicated.
Behavioral audiometry (either visual reinforcement or conditioned-play audiometry, depending on the
child’s developmental level), including pure-tone audiometry across the frequency range for each ear.
ABR testing if responses to behavioral audiometry are not reliable.

Once Assessment is Completed

* Itis important to discuss the results of the evaluation and follow-up recommendations with parents.

» The audiologist is responsible for entering the initial diagnostic and any subsequent audiological evaluation
results into ERAVE within 2 days following the appointment.

* Notify the infant’s Medical Home Provider (MHP) of results.

Normal Hearing

O Provide information to the parents about hearing, speech and language milestones and information

regarding risk indicators for progressive hearing loss. Encourage the parents to schedule the infant
for a follow-up evaluation in the future should concerns arise.

Audiologists’ Guide for Infant Diagnostic Evaluation 1



Normal Hearing (Identified as “At Risk” for Acquired or Late Onset Hearing Loss)

O The JCIH Year 2020 Position Statement: Principles and Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and

Intervention Programs has outlined those conditions that put infants at greater risk for late onset/
progressive or progressive hearing loss. These indicators include:

» Caregiver concern regarding hearing, speech, language or developmental delay.”

* Family history of permanent childhood hearing loss.*

* Neonatal intensive care admission of more than 5 days or any of the following, regardless of
length of stay: ECMO, assisted ventilation,* exposure to ototoxic medications (gentamycin and
tobramycin) or loop diuretics (furosemide/Lasix), and hyperbilirubinemia that requires exchange
transfusion.”

* In utero infections, such as CMV, herpes, rubella, syphilis, and toxoplasmosis.*

* Craniofacial anomalies, including those that involve the pinna, ear canal, ear tags, ear pits and
temporal bone anomalies.

» Physical findings, such as white forelock, that are associated with a syndrome known to include
sensorineural or permanent conductive hearing loss.

* Syndromes associated with hearing loss or progressive or late-onset hearing loss such as
neurofibromatosis,* osteopetrosis, and Usher syndrome; other frequently identified syndromes
include Waardenburg, Alport, Pendred, and Jervell and Lange-Nielson.

* Neurodegenerative disorders, such as Hunter syndrome* or sensory motor neuropathies, such
as Friedreich ataxia and Charcot-Marie-Tooth syndrome.

+ Culture-positive postnatal infections associated with sensorineural hearing loss, including
confirmed bacterial and viral (especially herpes viruses and varicella) meningitis.*

* Head trauma, such as basal skull/temporal bone fracture, * that requires hospitalization.

* Chemotherapy*

*Greater concern for delayed onset hearing loss

O The timing and number of hearing reevaluations for children with risk factors should be customized

and individualized depending on the relative likelihood of a subsequent delayed-onset hearing loss.
According to the JCIH 2020 Position Statement, all infants with a risk factor for hearing loss should
be referred for an audiological assessment at least once by 24 to 30 months of age. Children with risk
indicators that are highly associated with delayed-onset hearing loss, such as having received ECMO
or CMV infection, should have more frequent audiological assessments.

The Arkansas Infant Hearing Program collects risk factor data from the birth facilities in the ERAVE
system. The birth facility has the responsibility of assessing all newborns for risk factors, and for
reporting any recognized risk factors to the IHP through ERAVE. The birth facility should notify the
newborn’s Medical Home Provider (MHP) of any identified risk factors associated with the potential
for late onset/progressive or progressive hearing loss that warrants the need for ongoing audiological
evaluations.

Confirmed Hearing Loss

12

O If a permanent hearing loss is present, the audiologist should make the necessary accommodations

for the infant to be fit with amplification and be seen for follow up care, as needed. This includes a
referral to Early Intervention (El), medical clearance from an ENT, and all results/recommendations
sent to the Medical Home Provider (MHP). The diagnosing audiologist should provide the parent/
responsible party with the information they need to make informed decisions regarding early
intervention options.

If the presence of middle-ear fluid or pathology is noted with a hearing loss, the infant should be
referred to the Medical Home Provider (MHP) for diagnosis, treatment, and potential referral to ENT.
A follow-up appointment should be within 4-6 weeks to determine middle ear status and complete
testing to rule out sensorineural hearing loss within 4-6 weeks. If middle ear fluid persists, every effort
should be made to assess hearing status within the three months time window.

Audiologists’ Guide for Infant Diagnostic Evaluation



Reporting Results to EHDI

Introduction

The Electronic Registration of Arkansas Vital Records (ERAVE) system is provided by the Arkansas
Department of Health. The ERAVE system provides authorized users a secure, online method for submitting
and managing reports of vital events including deaths, infant hearing screenings, births, and fetal deaths. The
Arkansas Infant Hearing Program utilizes ERAVE for reporting infant hearing screening results and tracking
infants with known or suspected hearing loss (follow up). ERAVE allows hospital staff, audiologists, Primary
Care Physicians (PCP), Early Intervention Specialists, and IHP staff to facilitate children with hearing loss are
receiving the timely follow-up and specialized care they need.

Evaluation Status

Completed — Evaluation obtained, results may be abnormal, normal, or unspecified.

Could Not Test — Child present for evaluation, but no information obtained.
Inconclusive — Evaluation attempted, but minimal data obtained preventing the evaluation from being

completed or determining if hearing loss exists.
* Previously Passed — Evaluation not conducted due to child previously passing evaluation.

Type of HL

* Conductive Permanent — Child has a permanent conductive hearing loss preventing sound from reaching

the outer or middle ear; includes atresia, microtia, etc. Definite El referral.

Conductive Undetermined — Child has abnormal evaluation results, but further testing is required to

confirm permanent loss or resolve the issue causing the loss at the time of evaluation. Child will be re-

evaluated and additional information submitted. El referrals will be made on a case-by-case basis if signs

of developmental delay present or if the case is unresolved for a long period of time. Unknown if hearing

loss is permanent or not.

Mixed — Child has a permanent hearing loss including both a conductive and a sensorineural loss.

Definite El referral.

¢ Sensorineural — Child has a permanent hearing loss due to a problem in the inner ear or hearing nerve.

Definite El referral.

Neural — Child has a permanent hearing loss due to damage to the inner ear or Auditory nerve (Auditory

Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder - ANSD). Definite El referral.

* Transient — Child has a fluctuating conductive condition indicating hearing loss of a non-congenital origin.
The hearing loss is lasting only for a short time; non-permanent. El referral is likely not required.

Hearing Loss
* Yes — Evaluation completed. Results are abnormal and hearing loss is likely permanent.
* No - Evaluation completed. Results are normal.

* Undetermined — Evaluation completed, but not complete enough to confirm hearing loss or normal
hearing. Results are inconclusive or hearing loss is likely temporary.

Special Reminders

* Audiologist should include notations in the notes tab if there are details not otherwise addressed by the
standard menu item response (i.e. details about future appointments and related information to guide the
IHP in next steps for every diagnosed child).

» Each diagnosis should identify when non-permanent hearing loss is suspected.
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Communicating Results To Families

Suggestions for Communicating Results to Families

@ DO give a POSITIVE message:
*  “Your baby did not pass the hearing screening.”

*  “Your baby did not pass on (the left/right or either ear), which means more
information is needed about your baby’s hearing”

* “The next step is an outpatient follow-up rescreen for your baby when they
are at least 10 days old”.

DO give the “AR Specific Roadmap” handout to explain processes for
rescreen and audiological diagnostic evaluations.

DO discuss why an outpatient follow-up rescreen is needed. According to your
hospital’'s newborn hearing screening procedures, possibly offer to assist with
getting an appointment with another facility if your hospital does not perform
follow-up rescreens.

DO NOT say:

Your baby failed or referred.

* Alot of babies don’t pass. (minimizes need to attend rescreen)

* Your baby doesn’t need follow-up testing.

* Your baby was fussy. (Then it was an invalid screening)

+ The equipment was not working right. (Then it was an invalid screening)

DO NOT assume:

* |t's just because of fluid or vernix.

* Your baby is deaf or hard of hearing.
* Probably nothing is wrong.

DO NOT perform multiple screens in an attempt to get a pass:
+ Complete two screen attempts, one inpatient and one outpatient rescreen,
then refer for diagnostic testing.

O 6 6 0606
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Has your child
been diagnos

as deaf or har
of hearing?

Organizations who will contact you:

Supply information for parents on hearing screenings

Infant Hearing Program and connect parents to available resources before and
(Arkansas Department of Health) after diagnosis to help you understand the process and
501-280-4740 . - . )

: make informed decisions. This is your first step towards
www.arhealthyhearing.com . . . . ;

getting early intervention services for your child.

Guide By Your Side Connect a parent guide (parent of a deaf or hard of
(Arkansas Chapter of Hands and Voices) hearing child) to other parents of children with hearing
501-492-9162 loss to provide support, share real life experiences and
www.arhandsandvoices.org help them utilize a network of available services.
First Connections Help families with a child with special needs to secure
(Arkansas Department of Human Services) services that will help the child reach their fullest
1-800-643-8258 potential, and to enhance the abilities of the family to
https://dhs.arkansas.gov/dds/firstconnectionsweb assist their child.

ASD Outreach Services
(Arkansas School for the Deaf) Offer outreach services to children who are deaf and

501-324-9522 or 501-246-8452 Video Phone hard of hearing, their families and service providers.
http://www.arschoolforthedeaf.or

Children with Chronic Health Conditions
(Arkansas Department of Human Services)
1-800-482-5850 ext. 22277

Provide targeted case management services
to assist families in accessing all medical,
social, education, and other services
appropriate to the child’s special health care

needs.
1 154 4

INFANT HEARING PROGRAM

https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/about-dhs
ddds/childrens-services-information /title-v-chil-

dren-with-special-health-care-needs-cshcn

For more information, call the Arkansas Department of Health
Infant Hearing Program at 501-280-4740.
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Arkansas Specific Roadmap

Birth

Hh
Before 1 Month

_§

[ |
Before 3 Months

Home or
Hospital Birth
1st Newborn
Hearing Screen

Date:

Outpatient Hearing
Screen (or Rescreen)
Place:

Date:

Time:

|1

||

Screening Results

(missed)

Left Ear Right Ear
| Didnotpass | |
[ ] Pass [ ]

Not screened D

Screening Results
Left Ear Right Ear

| Didnotpass | |
D Pass D
D Not screened D

(missed)

Evaluation by a Pediatric

of age.

Place:

Audiologist with experience
testing children 0-6 months

Date:

|1

Be sure your doctor
gets the results of all
tests!

||
Call or Text: Guide
By Your Side
501-492-9162

||

Children less than
1 month old need a
rescreen. Children
over 1 month old,
need a diagnosis/
evaluation.

|1
Call or Text
Guide By Your Side
501-492-9162

- O

I

Test Results

Left Ear Right Ear
D No Hearing Loss D

| | HearingLoss [ |

|1

If a baby has a HEARING LOSS,

the next steps are:
Expect calls from:

—- Arkansas Department of Health’s

Infant Hearing Program
—-DHS’ First Connections
—= Guide By Your Side

Learn about assistive listening

devices and communication
options.

||
Call or Text
Guide By Your Side
501-492-9162

E

[
Before 6 Months
[

Enroll in early intervention
program with experience
serving children who are
deaf or hard of hearing.

Regular visits to Pediatric
Audiologist

*children who participate

in early intervention prior

to six months can have

age appropriate skills by
preschool.

Evaluations to discuss with your
medical home provider:

Ophthalmologist (Eye
Specialist)

Genetic Specialist

Other Medical Specialists
(heart, development,
kidneys, etc.)
[
Early Head Start
Information
|
Call or Text

Guide By Your Side
501-492-9162

“This project is/was supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services (HHS) under H61MCO00076 Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Grant in the amount of $272,688 This information or content and
conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by

HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.”
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REDUCING LOSS TO FOL

LOW-UP/DOCUMENTATION IN NEWBORN

HEARING SCREENING: GUIDELINES FOR MEDICAL HOME PROVIDERS

(First newborn pediatric patient care visit)

LA Can you
th Its? B
(G:;TESSI:?:)I: test Obtain screening Yes 19 £ Nl
facility not verbal parent/ results by no later R
e than 1 month of age state EHDI
report) program?
Pass Did not pass

Has

rescreen been
conducted? (Note: some hosp-
itals may conduct rescreen
in hospital before

Yes

Refer for outpatient
(re)screening or
No (re)screen in office**

a

(if results not
available by
1 month of age)

discharge)
Outpatient In-office
Assist family in (re)screening  (re)screen [EETIpN(EEEEE TS
arranging (re)screening in office following
appointment Not for AAP guidelines**
NICU babies
Obtain results after
(re)screen has been
completed by
1 month of age
What are
Pass the results? (Get results Did not pass
from test facility not verbal
parent/caregiver
report) ] ] ] ]
Refer to audiologist that has experience with
infants (Note: In some states there may be care
coordination services that can be started through
the early intervention program at this point)
No Hearing
Ensure NBHS Confirm results with state Loss What are Confirm diagnostic audiology visit
results are recorded EHDI program within 48 hours the results from diagnostic is scheduled and completed by
in patient chart of receiving results audiologist? no later than 3 months of age
Hearing
Loss

Review NBHS results

with family and stress

follow-up/monitoring
for risk factors®

Ongoing

surveillance
and

screening

*

Ensure results
are recorded
in patient chart

Confirm results
with state EHDI
program within
48 hours of
receiving results

Refer to Part C
Early Intervention
Program,

ophthalmology,
ENT and offer
genetics referral

Discuss
El and need
for compre-
hensive

plan

JCIH Risk Factors ~ ** AAP Guidelines on Rescreening In-Office

a program to enhance the health & development of infants & children

/ Early Hearing Detection
//-o & Intervention Program

A program of the American Academy of Pediatics in coopeation with the

Funding for the development of these materials was provided through a cooperative agreement (U43MC09134) between
the American Academy of Pediatrics and the US Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services
Administration, Maternal and Child Health Bureau as well as through a cooperative agreement (5U58DD00587) between the
American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities of the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Content is solely the responsibility of the authors and does not necessarily represent
the official views of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau or the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

April 2014

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention and Maternal & Child Health Bureau/HRSA

Audiologists’ Guide for Infant Diagnostic Evaluation

17



Resources for Audiologists

Arkansas Infant Hearing Program - https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/
infant-hearing

ERAVE - https://adherave.arkansas.gov/erave/serviet/search hitlist

American Academy of Pediatrics PEHDIC - https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-
health-initiatives/PEHDIC/Pages/Early-Hearing-Detection-and-Intervention.aspx

EHDI-PALS - http://www.ehdi-pals.org/Default.aspx

NCHAM - http://www.infanthearing.org/index.html

Pediatric Audiology Specialty Certification - http://www.boardofaudiology.org/pediatric-audiology-
specialty-certification/

American Speech-Language Hearing Association — http://www.asha.org/default.htm

JCIH 2019 Position Statement: principals and Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and
Intervention Programs — https://digitalcommons.usu.edu/jehdi/vol4/iss2/1/
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For more information:

Arkansas Department of Health Infant Hearing Program
4815 W. Markham, Slot 20
Little Rock, AR 72205
501-280-4740
ADHEHDI.FB@arkansas.gov
www.arhealthyhearing.com




