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REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION AS A DIABETES SELF-MANAGEMENT
EDUCATOR BY ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING

To be certified by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing (ASBN) as a Diabetes Self-Management Educator, the
applicant must:

1. Hold an active Arkansas license as a registered nurse.
2. a. Hold current certification as a Certified Diabetic Educator (CDE) by the
American Diabetes Association; or
b. Have successfully completed a diabetes educational program, approved by the ASBN,

which complies with the National Standards for Diabetes Self-Management Education
Programs as developed by the American Diabetes Association.

3. Submit completed notarized Initial Certification for Diabetes Self-Management Educator
Application, along with a non-refundable fee of $25.00.
4. a. Submit notarized documentation from the ASBN approved education program

coordinator and preceptor that applicant has successfully completed both didactic and
practicum sessions; or

b. Submit proof of current certification as a CDE by the American Diabetes Association. See
ASBN Rules for information regarding renewal.
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INITIAL CERTIFICATION FOR DIABETES SELF-MANAGEMENT
EDUCATOR APPLICATION

| hereby make application for certification as a diabetes self-management educator. The following evidence is
submitted as proof of my eligibility to become a candidate for certification.

Full Name

FIRST MIDDLE MAIDEN LAST
Address

STREET CITY STATE ZIP
Mailing Address
STREET cITY STATE ZIP

Social Security Number Telephone No.( ) Email
NURSING EDUCATION
School of Nursing City//State
Initial Type of Program BSN Diploma ADN
Highest Nursing Degree Held BSN Masters Doctorate

LICENSURE

DIABETES EDUCATION

RN Licensure — Arkansas License No.:

Completion of ASBN approved course (submit documentation of attendance)

(Check one)
|:| Current certification as CDE (submit proof of certification)
METHOD OF PAYMENT AFFIDAVIT
In-state personal check Money order/cashier’s check | State of County of
Credit card

Complete below if paying by credit card. There is a nominal
processing fee (listed below) assessed with paying your fee by
credit card. The Arkansas State Board of Nursing does not
receive any portion of the processing fee.

Type of card I:I Visa I:I MasterCard I:IDiscover

Cardholder’s Name
Cardholder’s billing address

Credit Card #
Expiration Date

Amount Paid

Signature

Diabetes Self-Management Educator Certification $25.00

*Processing fee — Diabetes Self-Management Educator
Certification - 50.75

, being duly sworn, says he/she is
the person who is referred to in the foregoing application for certification as a
Diabetes Self-Management Educator in the State of Arkansas; that the
statements herein contained are true in every respect; that he/she has
complied with all requirements of the law; and that he/she has read and
understands this affidavit. | understand that if the processing of this
application is not completed, the application becomes null and void one year
from date received. | also understand that falsification of this form is grounds
for discipline against my license.

) APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE
Affix

Notary
Seal here

NOTARY PUBLIC

Sworn to before me this
My Commission Expires

day of , 20






