The Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy has received a number of calls and inquiries regarding the new <u>federal</u> act that has changed the way that all otc products containing ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, and phenylpropanolamine must be handled by retailers in the US. Pharmacies have expressed a great deal of concern and confusion trying to better understand exactly how this will impact pharmacy sales of these products. Below is a summary of changes that a pharmacy should take note of that helps to clarify what changes should be made by interpreting the two laws to incorporate the stricter parts of each to show how they work together in Arkansas. At the bottom of the page there is also a chart that compares what the federal Combat Methamphetamine Act covers and compares it to Arkansas Act 256 of 2005.

## Changes for Arkansas Retailers Mandated by the Combat Methamphetamine Act of 2005

\*All dosage forms of products containing pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, or phenylpropanolamine must be kept behind a counter or in a locked cabinet, solids are pharmacy only sales. (This will move liquids and liquid filled gelcaps behind a counter or into a locked case.)

\*3.6 grams is the maximum amount of pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, or phenylpropanolamine that can be sold per day, no matter what dosage form it is in. (This is a reduction from the previous 9 grams per day limit for Arkansas)

\*Maximum of 3 packages for any combination of dosage forms. (Max of 3g in any single package per Arkansas Law)

\*9 grams per 30 days is the max that can be sold for any dosage form.(5g for ephedrine)

\*No sales under the age of 18 of the solid forms. (Liquids and liquid filled gelcaps can still be sold to customers under the age of 18.)

\*Solids are still schedule V and will continue to be logged under Arkansas law, all other products will require logging starting September 30, 2006.

•Federal - Combat Meth Act	•State - Arkansas Act 256 of 2005	Changes for Arkansas Mandated by the Combat Methamphetamine Act of 2005
•All Product Forms	•All Solid forms	All dosage forms of products containing pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, or phenylpropanolamine must be kept behind a counter or in a locked cabinet, solids are pharmacy only sales. (This will move liquids and liquid filled gelcaps behind a counter or into a locked case)
•Behind Counter or in a locked Cabinet	•Solids in pharmacy only	
		3.6 grams per day is the maximum amount of PSE, EPH, or PPA that can be sold no matter what dosage form it is in. *This is a reduction from the previous 9 grams per day limit for
•3.6 g per day of PSE, EPH, or PPA	<ul> <li>9g per transaction (5g EPH)</li> </ul>	Arkansas.
•No package limits	•Maximum of 3 packages for any combination of dosage forms	Maximum of 3 packages for any combination of dosage forms
Package size limit not defined	•Max of 3g in any single package per Arkansas Law	Max of 3g in any single package per Arkansas Law
•9 g per 30 days	•9g per 30 days	9 grams per 30 days is the max that can be sold for any dosage form (5g EPH)
•No age limit	•No sales under 18 y/o	No sales under the age of 18 of the solid forms. (Liquids and liquid filled gelcaps can still be sold to customers under the age of 18.)
•NOT Schedule V	•Solids are schedule V – Pharmacy only	Solids are still schedule V and require logging, other forms will require logging starting September 30th
•Logging required September 30, 2006	•Logging already in place for solids	Solids will continue to be logged under Arkansas law, all other products will require logging starting September 30, 2006