
The requirements to obtain a license as a Tattoo, Permanent Cosmetic, Body Piercing, 

Branding, or Scarification Artist in Arkansas are: 
 

 Complete a 6-24 month artist in training program with an artist/trainer. The State Board 

of Private Career Education licenses all trainers and schools.  An artist/trainer is an  

artist who is licensed by the Department of Health in a body art field(s), has worked in a 

body art establishment as an artist licensed by the Department for five (5) years, been in 

compliance with the department rules and has completed a blood borne pathogens course 

approved by the Department. 

 
 Each artist in training shall complete at least 375 clock hours in no less than (6) months of 

supervised body art work and the artist/trainer shall maintain a log of the hours worked 

by the student. Log forms required by the Board of Private Career Education are 

provided at the time of the written exam. Additional courses of study require 250 clock 

hours and an additional (6) months. 

 
 Each artist in training must complete an approved blood borne pathogens course before 

applying for the written examination. The blood borne pathogens course shall be a 

minimum of two (2) hours of instruction.  Approved providers include, but are not 

limited to: American Red Cross, National Safety Council, any nationally recognized 

body art organization, i.e., APT, APP, SPC, any institution of higher learning, approved 

on-line training or other individual or group approved by the Department. 

 
 The artist in training shall successfully complete a written and practical exam. A fifty-

dollar ($50.00) fee shall be paid at the time of the written exam. The test is given once 

a month (3
rd. 

Tuesday of each month at 2:00 pm.  No tests are given in December).  The 

artist/trainer must contact this office to make an appointment for your exam and 
submit an application no later than 12pm the day before the test.  You must also 
provide two passport size photos at the time of the written exam. 

 

 
 
NO ARTIST IN TRAINING PROGRAM CAN BE OFFERED UNLESS THE 

BODY ART ESTABLISHMENT AND AN INSTRUCTOR FOR THAT 

ESTABLISHMENT HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE STATE BOARD OF 

PRIVATE CAREER EDUCATION AS A TRAINING FACILITY AND 

INSTRUCTOR.  If you have any questions concerning approved training 

establishments contact the Board of Private Career Education at 501-683-8000. 

 
Artists from other states or countries licensed by a regulatory agency in that state or 

country and who have completed a required artist in training program with similar 

curriculum requirements may qualify for review of credentials under Act 596 and the 

policies of the Arkansas Department of Health Body Art Program. 

 
A packet of information concerning Artist in Training requirements, Qualifications 

Review, or temporary demonstration licenses can be on the website at 

health.arkansas.gov or please contact: 

 

Arkansas Department of Health – Body Art Program 

501-661-2171 
 
 


