
REFRESHER COURSE TEMPORARY PERMIT APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

1.	 The applicant must obtain a temporary permit.

2.	 Complete the Refresher Course Temporary Permit  Application and submit it to the Board office.  	
	 Use blue or black ink or type to complete the application.

3.	 Attach the $30.00 temporary permit fee to the application with a paperclip.  In-state personal 	 	
	 checks are  accepted.  Credit  cards are accepted - see application for details.  Please note that 	 	
	 FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

4.	 Attach a copy of the acceptance letter from the refresher course.

5.	 Complete the Affidavit portion of the application before a Notary Public.

6.	 The temporary permit expires in 180 days or upon completion of the Board approved refresher 		
	 course.  The temporary permit can only be used for activities directly related to the refresher 	 	
	 course or competency-based orientation course.   It may not be used for employment in any 	 	
	 facility.

NOTE:  All continuing education requirements must be met prior to issuance of an active license.  If you 
are reinstating your nursing license from an inactive status after an absence of greater than five years
you must have completed 20 practice-focused continuing education contact hours OR hold certification 
by a national certifying body recognized by the Arkansas State Board of Nursing OR completed an aca-
demic course in nursing or related field AND have completed an ASBN approved refresher course or an 
employer competency orientation program.
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Arkansas State Board of Nursing
University Tower Building
1123 South University Avenue, Suite 800
Little Rock, Arkansas  72204

PHONE 501.686.2700
FAX 501.686.2714

www.arsbn.org



Name & Phone Number of Nearest Relative
ETHNIC INFORMATION (check one):              African American      Asian Indian     Asian Other       Hispanic                          
                                                  Native American          Pacific Islander       White, not of Hispanic origin         Other

Graduate of

Program Completion

Primary State of Residence                                                                  Initial State of Licensure

              

State(s) and License Number(s)

Name license issued under:  (if different from above name, attach official documentation of name change)

Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, pled guilty or nolo contendere to any charge in any state or jurisdiction?  
DWI’s and similar offenses must be reported.  (Traffic violations do not constitute a crime.)   YES        NO  
(If yes, please include a copy of the court docket, plea agreement or conviction papers, and evidence that fines, restitution are paid.) 

Have you ever had any license, certificate, or registration disciplined (revoked, suspended, placed on probation, or reprimanded) or 
voluntarily surrendered in any state or jurisdiction?     		  YES              NO          
(If yes, include copy of Facts and Finding from Board and evidence of reinstatement of license)

Are you currently under investigation in any state or jurisdiction?           YES               NO

Do you currently engage in drug-related behavior, including the use of mood-altering drugs/substances and/or alcohol that would 
affect your functional abilities to perform while working as a nurse?	 YES               NO

In the last two years, have you been the subject of a chemical or alcohol dependency intervention or participated in chemical or 
alcohol dependency treatment/rehabilitation?        			   YES              NO       
(If yes, submit all relevant documents, such as rehab program completion, support group meetings, drug screens, etc.)

NURSING REFRESHER COURSE                                       
TEMPORARY PERMIT APPLICATION

ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF NURSING
UNIVERSITY TOWER BUILDING
1123 SOUTH UNIVERSITY, SUITE 800
LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS  72204
501.686.2700   •     501.686.2714 fax     •     www.arsbn.org 

FALSIFICATION OF THIS FORM IS GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION AGAINST YOUR LICENSE.
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

Type of inactive license(s) you hold:  APRN          RNP          RN           LPN          LPTN                         

Social Security Number				                          Telephone number (            )
                              MONTH                     DAY                        YEAR                                                                                                                      City                                                  State               

Full Name

Address
         
Mailing address                                                                                                                                   E-mail

Date of Birth 						           Place of Birth

                            STREET                                               CITY                                                    STATE                                            ZIP  

                (MISS, MS., MRS., OR MR)          FIRST                              MIDDLE                                   MAIDEN                                   LAST  

                            STREET/P.O.BOX                             CITY                                                    STATE                                            ZIP  

NAME OF NURSING SCHOOL                                                                                CITY                                                                  STATE                                                                       

MONTH                                                                   YEAR                                                              

REFRESHER COURSE

Program Name                                                        Program Telephone No.                                             Enrollment Date

Program Address

Anticipated date of beginning clinical                                                                Anticipated date of completion             
                            STREET                                                                                                CITY                                                                                     STATE                                              

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
AR Cert. No.
Date

01-0021
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AFFIDAVIT

State of

County of

                                                          , being duly sworn, says he/she is the person who is referred to in the foregoing application for a 
Nursing Refresher Course Temporary Permit in the State of Arkansas; that the statements herein contained are true in every respect; 
that he/she has complied with all requirements of the law; and that he/she has read and understands this affidavit.  I understand 
that if the processing of this application is not completed, the application becomes null and void one year from date received. 

Sworn to before me this           day of                         20
						    

Applicant’s Signature

NOTARY PUBLIC

AFFIX  NOTARY 
SEAL HERE

CREDIT CARD INFORMATION
Complete below if paying by credit card.  There is a nominal processing fee 
(listed below) assessed with paying your fees by credit card.  The Arkansas 
State Board of Nursing does not receive any portion of the processing fee.  

Type of card            Visa           MasterCard          Discover 

Cardholder’s Name

Cardholder’s billing address

Credit Card #

Expiration date                  /                                  Amount Paid                  
Signature 
*Processing fee - Temporary Permit - $0.90

mm           yyyy

    City                                                 State                                      Zip         

METHOD OF PAYMENT

	     In-state personal check

	      Money order/cashiers check

	      Credit card  

FEE IS NONREFUNDABLE

Temporary Permit                    $  30.00




