Arkansas Board
of Examiners

Speech-Language
Pathology and Audiclogy

Prospective Graduates, Speech-Language Pathology

Congratulations on your upcoming graduation! You’ve worked hard to get this far, and we want to
make sure that you are aware of all of the requirements associated with state licensure. Please read
this information very carefully and contact the Board office or review information on the website if you
have any questions.

Within the first 30 days of employment, you must apply for a provisional license. The following is
required for application; a completed and signed application, $140.00 non-refundable application fee,
and Clinical fellowship year plan. (See check list attached)

To obtain provisional licensure, you must have passed the Praxis examination 162 or better. Be sure
and take the exam before you get out of school. When you register to take the exam, designate that
an official score report is sent directly to the Board (recipient code #R8773). Photocopies will not be
accepted. You cannot be licensed to practice speech-language pathology or audiology in Arkansas
if you do not pass this examination.

While ASHA will allow you to begin your clinical fellowship year (CFY) prior to the granting of your
Master’s Degree, ABESPA will not. You must have your Master’s Degree in order to apply for
licensure. Per our Rules and Regulations Section 2.7 (B), if you complete all requirements, but the
degree will not be posted prior to your starting date at work, you may submit a letter from the chair of
the department stating that you have completed requirements for graduation and will receive your
degree on “graduation date”. A transcript is still required.

Your CFY supervisor must be licensed by ABESPA.

You are not required to complete a report of continuing professional education (CPE) activities during
the initial licensing year, but you will need to submit a minimum of ten (10) hours for the next licensing
period (7/1 to 6/30). For example, if you are granted a provisional license in July of 2018 (license will
expire 6/30/19), your first CPE report will be submitted with the renewal request for the next licensing
period (7/1/19 to 6/30/20). NOTE: For your license expiring 6/30/19 you must still renew your license
even though you are not required to submit a CPE report. See section 9.4 of the rules.

The licensure board meets every other month usually on the third Friday: January, March, May, July,
September, and November.
e The board will review applications during regular meetings.
e The applicant will be notified in writing if additional information is required for approval.
e |f the application is accepted and approved by the Board, a provisional license will be issued.
e License information will be listed in the annual Licensure Directory.

Upon completion of the clinical fellowship experience, the licensee must submit proof of successful
completion to the Board within 30 days. This proof might consist of a photo copy of the ASHA CF
Report and Rating form or letter from ASHA granting the Certificate in Clinical Competence.
Provisional status is then removed, and full licensure is granted. There is no fee for conversion to a
full license.



A permanent license number is assigned, and a wall certificate and wallet-sized license will be
issued.

Please read the licensure laws and rules and regulations. If you have any questions regarding
licensure, call the Board office.

Application check list for new graduates:

ltems 1-3 must be received in our office within the first 30 days of
practice.

1. Completed and signed application

2. Check or money order for non-refundable $140.00 application
fee

3. Clinical Fellowship Year Plan

4. Official undergraduate and graduate degree transcripts.
Accepted electronically or by mail directly from the University
or sealed in the University’s envelope

5. Copy of the summary of clinical practicum hours

6. Official Praxis score of 162 or better obtained directly from
ETS. Recipient score code for ABESPA is R8773.



