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Arkansas Department of Health 
Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section 

4815 West Markham, Slot #8 
Little Rock, AR  72205 
Phone: (501) 683-1448 

Fax: (501) 682-5640 

Qualifications and Instruction for Licensure set forth in ACA §17-86-101 also 
known as the Arkansas Massage Therapy Act; 

Requirements: 

1. Complete a massage therapy program of at least 500 hours of in-classroom coursework
from a Department approved massage therapy school or State approved education
institution.  Curriculum must meet the state required courses as set forth in Arkansas
Code 17-86-306;

2. Applicant must be 18 years of age or older;
3. Identification - Valid Photo ID – (Driver’s License, State Issued ID Card, Passport, or

US Military ID)
4. Social Security Card – A copy of your social security card;
5. Education- Copy of High School Diploma and/or Transcript, College Diploma and/or

Transcript , or GED;
6. TB Test – A current TB Test (Less than a year old) Must be issued by a Qualified

Medical Doctor (Excluding Chiropractors) on official letterhead, clinic form, or Health
Card;

7. Massage School Diploma – A copy of your massage school diploma;
8. National Test Score - MBLEx or NCBTMB Exam Score Report;
9. Application – (attached  below);
10. Payment – $180.00 (non-refundable);
11. Massage School Transcript – Must be received directly from the massage therapy school

administrator, director, or other school official; ( Note: If the applicant's transcript is not
obtainable from the original school, the applicant shall submit a statement to explain why
it may not be obtained or  other documentation of credentials may be submitted and
accepted for licensure at the discretion of the department);

12. Background Checks – Upon receipt of application the Massage Therapy Section will mail
background information and instructions to applicant. Background application, fingerprint
cards and appropriate fees (MADE PAYABLE TO ARKANSAS STATE POLICE) MUST BE
MAILED DIRECTLY TO THE ADH MASSAGE THERAPY SECTION, 4815 West
Markham, Slot 8, Little Rock, AR 72205. Both Federal and State background check results
must be sent directly to the Section from the issuing agency that performed check.

THE $180 NON-REFUNDABLE FEE IS DUE AT THE TIME YOU SUBMIT 
THE FORM AND THE REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS. THE FEE AND 

APPLICATION EXPIRE ONE (1) YEAR AFTER APPLICATION DATE. 

 APPLICATION PACKET MUST CONTAIN NUMBERS 3-10 BEFORE 
BEING SUBMITTED TO THE SECTION; INCOMPLETE PACKETS WILL 

BE RETURNED TO APPLICANT. 



2  | Revised November 2017 

Required Examinations Information: 

National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) 
 NCBTMB offers two exams for securing your state license in massage;
 The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) and National

Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCETMB) Exams;
 Depending on your area of interest, expertise and the requirements, you may choose to take either the

NCETM (National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage) or the NCETMB (National
Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork);

 Both exams--based on your state requirements--may be used to become a licensed massage therapist.
The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) 

Toll Free (NCBTMB): 1-800-296-0664  
Or send an email to: info@ncbtmb.org 

Website: www.ncbtmb.org 

Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) 
 The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB);
 Applicants must contact the FSMTB directly for MBLEx information or to schedule testing;
 MBLEx Handbook and Application form are available at www.fsmtb.org;

The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) 
Toll Free (MBLEx Specific): 866-962-3926      

Fax: 615-846-0153 
Toll Free (FSMTB): 888-703-7682 

Website: www.fsmtb.org     email:  info@fsmtb.org     MBLEx specific email:  mblex@fsmtb.org 

Arkansas Massage Therapy Law Exam 
 Once all application materials and associated background checks are received, reviewed and approved, the

Massage Section will contact you via e-mail with instruction and link to take the online state law test.

Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section Non-refundable Application Fees 
 Application Fee     $ 75.00
 License Fee           $ 80.00
 Law Exam Fee      $ 25.00

Total Fee   $180.00 

*If a re-take of the Arkansas Law Exam is necessary, an additional fee of $25.00 per each re-take
exam is required prior to re-testing.

 Above fees are payable to ADH – Massage Therapy.

Contact Information 
Arkansas Department of Health – Massage Therapy Section 
  Mailing Address:     Physical Address: 
  4815 West Markham, Slot #8              4815 West Markham 
  Little Rock, AR 72205  
  Phone:  501-683-1448  

       Little Rock, AR 72205 
    website:  www.healthy.arkansas.gov 
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Application for Licensure 
 
All applicants for licensure must complete this form and submit it with the appropriate documentation and $180 NON-
REFUNDABLE application fee.  Failure to complete all parts of the application or omission of required documents will 
delay the review and process of your application.  Payment must be made payable to ADH-Massage Therapy.(Personal 
checks, cashier’s check, and money order are accepted) All applications and fees expire one year from application date.  
 
Personal Information   Please Type or Print Legibly 

Name (First, Middle, Last) 
 

Social Security Number 

Date of Birth Email Address  

Cell Phone Home Phone  Work Phone or Alternate Phone 

Physical Address                                                                                     Suite/Apt 

City                                                        State                               Zip                                          County 

Mailing Address (If different than Physical Address)                            Suite/Apt 

City                                                        State                               Zip                                          County 

Disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under Ark. Code Ann. §17-1-104(a) which states: 
“On and after July 1, 1997, all persons, agencies, boards, commissions, or other licensing entities issuing any occupational, 
professional, or business license pursuant to titles 2-6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, 20, 22, 23, and 27 of the Arkansas Code Annotated 
shall record the name, address, and social security number of each person applying for such a license.” 

 
If you have resided in any State other than Arkansas, please list length of residency and address 

(Attach additional sheets if necessary) 
Previous Address                                                               Suite/Apt         How long at previous address 

City                                                           State                               Zip                                          County 

Previous Address                                                               Suite/Apt         How long at previous address 

City                                                           State                               Zip                                          County 

 
Massage Therapy Training 

School Name Number of In-Classroom Hours Completed 

Address                                                                                  Suite/Apt 

City                                                            State                               Zip                                          County 

Director’s Name Phone Enrollment Date Graduation Date 
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Affidavit of Applicant with Acknowledgment 

(Notarization required) 
 
Applicant 
I declare and affirm that the statements made in this application, and any accompanying 
documents, are true, complete, and correct.  I understand that any false or misleading information 
in, or in connection with, my application may be cause for denial or loss of licensure and may 
result in criminal prosecution. 
 
_____________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 
 
_________________________________________________________ 
Date 
 

Notary 
State of ____________________________________ 
 
County of __________________________________ 

Signed and sworn to before me this ___________ day of ____________________, 20_______ 

By ___________________________________________, who personally appeared before me. 

 

__________________________________________                            (SEAL) 
Notary Public Signature 
 
 
__________________________________________ 
Notary commission expiration date 
 


