
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
COSMETOLOGY SECTION 
4815 West Markham, Slot 8 

Little Rock, AR  72205 – (501) 682-2168 

RECIPROCITY REQUIREMENTS 
For HOURS 

Any person who is transferring hours from another state and does not hold a current license in another state is required to pass 
a written and practical examination to qualify for a license in this State.  

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS: 

1. Complete an Arkansas Reciprocity Application.

2. Proof of Training.  Submit the following requirements:

a) An affidavit certifying that you have completed the minimum number of clock-hours in one of the prescribed courses
of study listed below.  The affidavit must be completed and signed by an Official of the licensing entity that has
jurisdiction over the practice of Cosmetology in said state.  Either the licensing entity seal or notary public seal must
be affixed to said document.

1) 1500 hours for cosmetologist 3) 600 hours for electrologist
2) 600 hours for manicurist 4) 600 hours for aesthetician

b) A breakdown of the curriculum requirements for said course.

c) A diploma issued from the training institute where applicant completed the course of study.

3. A legible copy of applicant’s Social Security Card.

4. High school credit of not less than two years (10th grade) or its equivalent for cosmetologists, aestheticians or manicurists and
four years (12th grade) or its equivalent for electrologist.

5. Photostatic copy of photo ID (must be legible)

6. Reciprocity fee of $150.00

When the Cosmetology Section receives all information listed above and your paperwork has been approved, you will 
need to contact an Arkansas Cosmetology School to schedule your practical examination.  A list of schools can be found 
on our website at www.healthy.arkansas.gov.  The written examination is administered by PSI and you will need to 
schedule with PSI.  You will receive an approval letter before you can schedule any examination.  The $150.00 fee is 
non-refundable and does not include any examination fees.

NO PERSON MAY PRACTICE OR TEACH ANY PHASE OF COSMETOLOGY IN THIS STATE UNTIL 
LICENSED BY THE COSMETOLOGY SECTION. 



ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
COSMETOLOGY SECTION
4815 West Markham, Slot 8 
Little Rock, AR  72205
(501) 682-2168

Instructions:  Please review the reciprocity requirements and process on the back of this form before completing.  When you 
are ready to complete this form, please do so by printing the information in blue or black ink. This form is required if you are 
transferring from another state/country and you want to become licensed in the state of Arkansas.  There is a $150 reciprocity fee 
due at the time you submit this form and the required attachments.  This fee does not cover any examination costs. The fee 
and application expire one (1) year after application date. 
Applicant’s Name

Last Name First Name (no nickname) Middle Name 

Maiden Name (if applicable) Email Address (REQUIRED) 

Address Apt. # City County State Zip Code 

Telephone Number 
(        )  

Gender 
   MALE     FEMALE 

Marital Status 

Social Security Number Date of Birth Place of birth (city/state/country) 

Race (circle one):  
    Black     White    Am. Indian  

 Hispanic    Asian     Alaskan Native   

In what language do you prefer to take the written/state law exam? 

  ENGLISH          SPANISH          VIETNAMESE          KOREAN    

Licensing Information 
What type of license do you 
currently hold?   (circle one) Cosmetology Manicure Aesthetician Instructor Electrology 

Did you take a national written examination?  

YES           NO

Did you take a national practical examination? 

YES           NO
In what state did you take the examination? Please list all the states that you have held a license. 

Training Information 
What cosmetology school did you attend? City/State/County   

Date training began Date training completed Total number hours completed Type of training completed 

What high school did you attend? City/State/County   

Year Completed Grade Completed 

Applicant Signature: By signing this application, I certify that the information provided is correct to the best of my knowledge and 
that I understand that false statements will be sufficient grounds for the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee to take 
disciplinary action. 

Applicant’s Printed Name Applicant’s Signature Date

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
Revised

Date ________                                         Date ________                                 Date _______ 
Written Core Score  _____________       Written Law Score __________       Practical Score ____________ 

License #_______________ 

Receipt # ______________ 
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