

Arkansas State Board of Pharmacy

322 South Main Street, Suite 600 Little Rock, AR 72201 P: 501.682.0190 F: 501.682.0195

asbp@arkansas.gov • www.pharmacyboard.arkansas.gov John Clay Kirtley, Pharm.D., Executive Director



What's the difference between the standard and the expedited application?

The <u>only</u> difference between the two applications is <u>who</u> initiates the background check and <u>how quickly</u> we receive the results.

Background check fees are currently \$36.25 and Technician Licensure fees are currently \$35.

"Standard" application fee is \$71.25 = Licensure fees + background check fees

"Expedited" application fee is \$35 = Licensure fees only

The Expedited application is preferred because it is the fastest way to process an application with the Board. The expedited application still pays the background check fees, but they are paid to the Fingerprint Harvester directly instead of to the Board. The Fingerprint Harvester will initiate the background check and capture and submit your fingerprints immediately from their location. Once this has happened, the applicant can then submit their application to the Board. The Board receives the results of the background check very quickly once they are submitted by the Harvester. If the application is complete when received, and there is nothing on the background check results; in some cases, the license can be issued in as little as a day.

The list of Fingerprint Harvesters is limited and may not be easily accessible depending on where you live in the state. You can find the current list of approved Harvesters on the Arkansas State Police website here: https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/law-enforcement/arkansas-state-police/services-programs/fingerprinting/. Please note that you will also see a link for Live Scan Operators and they cannot be used as they are not able to initiate a background check on your behalf.

With the <u>Standard application</u>, all fees are paid to the Board and the <u>Board initiates the background check</u> and provides the applicant with a form to take to a Harvester or Live Scan Operator giving them permission to submit fingerprints electronically. The applicant will have to wait for the Board to receive the application, process it, and send the applicant a form with a transaction number. The applicant takes a printed copy of the Fingerprint Harvester/Livescan Payment Confirmation Form with the Transaction Control Number to an appropriately trained Fingerprint Harvester or Live Scan Operator to have fingerprints taken electronically. The harvester/operator will use the Transaction Number provided by the Board to ensure that the background check results are returned to the Board.

Both the standard and expedited application require fingerprints to be submitted electronically.

Fingerprint harvesters charge their own separate fee for processing.

If you have any questions about this process, please contact the Board at 501-682-0190 or at asbp@arkansas.gov.