
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy 
PO Box 250254 

Little Rock, AR 72225 
(501) 228-7100 

 
APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR  

LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 

 
EDUCATION 

 
Applicants for licensure as Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist Assistants must have 
graduated from a school of physical therapy approved by a national accrediting body recognized by 
the Board.          

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 
 
1. Application for Licensure as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant in Arkansas 

with all sections completed by applicant, including current photograph embossed with an official 
notary seal or stamp, a non-refundable application fee payable to ARPTB. Personal checks, 
Cashier’s Check or Money Orders are accepted for the application fee.  A charge will be imposed 
for checks returned for insufficient funds. 

 
2. Certificate of completion of jurisprudence exam.  Log on to www.arptb.org to take the exam.  

Download the Practice Act and Rules and Regulations prior to taking the exam.  Both will be 
referenced during the exam.  Passing score is 70%.  You may print a certificate for your records.  
ARPTB will print the certificate for your file. 

 
3. Official transcript with registrar’s seal, including physical therapy degree and date of 

graduation, must be mailed directly to ARPTB from the school before a permanent license is 
issued. ARPTB may also accept an electronic transcript ONLY if it is transmitted directly from the 
school through a Secure Electronic PDF Transcript Delivery Service. If an original transcript is 
provided to a credentialing agency for evaluation of education, a copy of the transcript is acceptable 
only from that agency in lieu of one transmitted from the school.  Transcripts sent by any other 
means are not acceptable.  

 
4. Passing score on a national physical therapy examination approved by the Arkansas State Board 

of Physical Therapy.  Contact the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy Score Transfer 
Service at 703-739-9420 or www.fsbpt.org. 

 
5. Official verification of all current and/or all previously issued licenses to practice physical therapy.  

The candidate is responsible for requesting that each state in which they hold a license or has ever 
held a license send a verification of their license directly to the Arkansas State Board of Physical 
Therapy, unless the state offers a Primary Source Verification on their website.  The Board office 
will verify the license on the state’s website if the state offers a Primary Source Verification. The 

Physical Therapist   $100.00 
Physical Therapist Assistant  $100.00 
Jurisprudence Exam   $  10.00 
(JE is paid at time of exam) 

Background Check                           $  38.25 
(To be included in BGC & FP return packet payable to ASP) 

 



verification must include license number, date issued, current status of license, dates and reasons 
for disciplinary actions if any, and the official seal of the state licensing board. 

 
6. Background Check. ArAC §17-39-303(b) & §17-39-304(b) requires all applicants for Physical 

Therapy and Physical Therapy Assistant to apply to the Identification Bureau of the Arkansas State 
Police for state and national criminal background checks prior to being issued licensure. A valid 
application for licensure must be on file prior to Background checks being processed. No Applicant 
will be issued licensure until the results of the criminal background check are received. Please note 
that it may take 2-6 weeks for the Board to receive the results.  
Once a completed application & application fee have been received, ARPTB will send a BGC & FP 
Packet containing detailed instructions for your Background Check and Fingerprint Card. 

 
7. English Language Proficiency Tests.  If the applicant is non-USA trained, proof of proficiency 

in the English language, both written and spoken, is required. Passing scores are required as 
follows: Reading - 21, Listening - 18, Speaking - 26, Writing - 24, Total - 89.  Exam arrangements 
can be made with: TOEFL/TSE Services, P.O. Box 6151, Princeton, NJ 08541-6151, USA, 
Telephone: (609) 771-7100.  The TOEFL code number for AR is 9862. Enter this code on the 
answer sheet and/or the score report request form.  Scores must be mailed directly to ARPTB 
from Educational Testing Service.  Photocopies of score reports are not acceptable.  

 
8. Educational Evaluation.  Applicants who are not graduates of a CAPTE-accredited program must 

submit an original evaluation done specifically for Arkansas by a Board approved agency.  
 

BOARD APPROVED CREDENTIALING AGENCIES 
 
Foreign Credentialing Commission on PT 

124 West Street S. 3
rd

 Floor 

Alexandria, VA 22314 

Phone: (703) 684-8562 

Fax: (703) 684-8715 

 

International Consultants of Delaware, Inc. 
3600 Market St., Ste. 450 

Philadelphia, PA 19104-2651 

Phone: 215-222-8454 Ext. 603 

Fax: (727) 549-9554 

 

International Educational Research Foundation, Inc. 
P. O. Box 3665 

Culver City, CA 90231 

Phone: (310) 258-9451 

Fax: (310) 342-7086 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT 
Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy 

PO Box 250254, Little Rock, AR 72225 
Phone: 501-228-7100 

Email: arptb@arkansas.gov 

 

Office Use Only 
 

Amount ___________ 
 

Check # __________ 
 

Date: _____________ 
 

 
Type of Licensure: 

 
o 

 
Physical Therapist 

 
o 

 
Physical Therapist Assistant 

 

PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE ANSWERS TO ALL QUESTIONS 
 

 
 
Name: 

                                                                                                                                                   
o Male  
o Female 

 

 (Last) (First) (Middle)  

 
 

 
Mailing Address: 

  

  

 

    

 (City) (State)   (Zip) 
    

(County) 
 

 

Maiden/Former Name:  Mother’s Maiden Name:   
 
Social Security #: 

  
Birth Date: 

  
City & State of Birth: 

  

 
Office Phone #: 

 
(        ) 

 
Home Phone #: 

 
(        ) 

 

 
Cell Phone #: 

 
(        ) 

 
Email: 

 
 

 

 
Preferred Method of 
Correspondence: 

 
 
o Email 

 
 
o Mail 

 
Preferred correspondence is the method the board office will contact you during the application 
process and when you are licensed. When licensure is issued correspondence includes, but is 
not limited to, newsletters and renewal forms. Scores will not be emailed. 

 

 

Ethnic/Race Information:  o American Indian or Alaska Native      o Black or African American      o Hispanic/Latino 
                                             o Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander                                             o White/Caucasian 

 

 
EDUCATION 

 

List all colleges, physical therapy schools and universities attended in descending order beginning with the highest level of education.  
Institution and Locations 

(Include city and state) 

Dates Attended 
(Include month and year) 

Major Degree 

 
 

 
From  

 
To  
 

  
 

 
 

 
From  

 
To  
 

 
 

 

  
From  

 
To  
 

  

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 

 

List all states/countries where you are currently licensed or have ever held licensure, registration or certification to 
practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant. _____________________________________________ 
 

 
 

Verification of licensure must be sent directly from each state agency where licensed.  This includes expired licenses. 

If you do not have a license in another state, you will need to complete the application for licensure by exam. 

 

 
 

How many times have you taken the physical therapist/physical therapist assistant national examination? __________ 
(This includes PES or ASI examinations taken anywhere in the United States, not just Arkansas.) 

 

 
Indicate dates and locations: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

 
Are you a current resident of the United States?   

 
o Yes   o No   

 
If yes, indicate home state. 

 
 

 



Are you an active member of the Military being stationed in Arkansas?          Yes o   No  o 
Are you a former member of the Military?         Yes o   No  o               If yes, what year were you discharged? _________ 
 
Is your spouse an active member of the Military being stationed in Arkansas?  Yes o   No  o 
Is your spouse a former member of the Military?      Yes o   No  o      If yes, what year were they discharged? _________ 
 
Have you ever had a license or certification sanctioned, restricted, revoked or suspended, other disciplinary action taken, 
or any application for licensure or certification refused, revoked or suspended by any professional licensing authority of 
another state, territory or country?           Yes o   No  o 

 

If yes, please explain and attach any pertinent documents including copies of court records and settlement agreements.  
 
Is there any disciplinary action pending against you by any licensing jurisdiction, the USDA, Drug Enforcement Agency, 
or any state or federal drug enforcement authority?                                       Yes o   No  o 
If yes, please explain and attach any pertinent documents including copies of court records and settlement agreements. 

 

 
Have you ever been convicted of a felony  (including a nolo contendere plea or guilty plea) in any state or federal court?                 
Yes o   No  o 
If yes, please explain and attach any pertinent documents including copies of court records and settlement agreements. 

 

 
PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE 

 
Dates Employer/Location Supervisor/Address 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

PHOTOGRAPH 
(Must have been taken within the past twelve months and be affixed to application.) 

 

 
 
 

 
A 2x2 passport type photograph taken within one 
year must be attached and embossed with an official 
notary seal or stamp.  Attach your photo to the 
application form before it is notarized. Part of the 
notary seal or stamp should be on the photo and part 
on the application form. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
NOTARIZED 

This is to certify that the photograph  
is a correct likeness of the applicant. 

 
 
_________________________________________ 

Notary Public 
 
 

My commission expires: _________________ 
 

 

Your notarized signature must accompany this application. 

 
I, ___________________________________________ hereby certify under oath or affirmation that I am the person 
named in the application.  I swear/affirm that the contents of this application are true.  All information contained in this 
application may be verified by the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy.   

 

  
 

 

 Applicant’s Signature 
 

Signed and sworn to before me this   Day of                                          
   (month) (year)   
 
 

 
 

 

 Notary Public  
 



 
FBI Information – Please legibly print each answer 

 
 

 

Name:  ________________________________________________________      Suffix: _____________ 

                     (First)                                 (Middle)                             (Last)  
 

 

Date of Birth: ________________________      Sex: __________________     Race: __________________     

                               (mm/dd/yyyy) 
 

 

Non-US Citizen:       YES       NO                      Social Security Number:  ________ - _______ - __________           

                                      
 

 

The Following Information is required in order to perform a Federal Background Check 
 

 
 

Eye Color: ________________    Hair Color: _______________     Height: ________      Weight: ________ 

 

 

State of Birth:  _____________________ 

 
 
Type of Home Address:  City   Rural    

 
 

Home Address: _________________________________________________Apt. Number: _____________ 

                                

 

City: ______________________________________   State: _______________  Zip Code:  ____________ 

 

      

Employer Name: ________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

Employer Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 

                                     (Street)                                       (City)                                   (State)                 (Zip) 
 

     

Aliases / Former Name(s): ________________________________________________________________ 

 

                                           ________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

Driver’s License State: ____________   Driver’s License Number:  _________________________________ 
 
 
I, __________________________swear/affirm that the contents of this page are true.   
 
 

Applicant’s signature _____________________________ 
 
 
 



 
 
 

NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANT’S PRIVACY RIGHTS 
 
As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a 

noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration or 

naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed below. 

 

• You must be provided written notification¹ that your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal 

history records of the FBI. 

• You must be provided, and acknowledge receipt of, an adequate Privacy Act Statement when you 

submit your fingerprints and associated personal information.  This Privacy Act Statement should 

explain the authority for collecting your information and how your information will be used, retained, 

and shared.² 
• If you have a criminal history record, the officials making a determination of your suitability for the 

employment, license, or other benefit must provide you the opportunity to complete or challenge the 

accuracy of the information in the record. 

• The officials must advise you that the procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or update of your 

criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34. 

• If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount of time to correct or 

complete the record (or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the employment, license, or 

other benefit based on information in the criminal history record.³ 
 

You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the criminal history record check will use it 

only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute, regulation or 

executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy 

Compact Council.
 4 

 

If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record 

for review and possible challenge.  If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the 

record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI.  

Information regarding this process may be obtained at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-

history-synnart-checks. 

 

If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completeness of your FBI criminal history record, you should send 

your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI.  Alternatively, you may 

send your challenge directly to the FBI.  The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agency that 

contributed the questioned information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry.  

Upon receipt of an official communication from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary 

changes/corrections to your record in accordance with the information supplied by that agency.  (See 28 CFR 

16.30 through 16.34.) 

 
______________________________ 
 
¹ Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification. 
² https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act -statement 
³ See 28 CFR 50.12(b) 
4  See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 4031 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. §14616), Article IV9c);       
  28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d) and 906.2(d) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
                Updated 05/10/2017 
              Non-substantive updates incorporated in January 2018 


