## **ERAVE** Waiver Information

In Arkansas, deaths are registered using an electronic registration system named ERAVE (Electronic Registration of Arkansas Vital Events). This electronic registration system has been in use in Arkansas since 2014. Using ERAVE, a death record can be started by a funeral home, a medical certifier, a coroner or a medical examiner. A majority of death records are started by funeral homes. The funeral home is responsible for all personal information and history, disposition information, race, ethnicity, and funeral home information. In ERAVE, this is Tabs 1-7 and the signature when they save the record. After the funeral home has completed their sections in ERAVE, the funeral home assigns the case to the physician certifier and notifies the certifier that a record is available in ERAVE. Act 975 states:

"(c)(1)(A)(i) The medical certification shall be completed, signed, and returned to the funeral director within two (2) three (3) business days after receipt of the death certificate by the physician in charge of the patient's care for the illness or condition that resulted in death, except when inquiry is required by § 12-12-315, § 12-12-318, or § 14-15-301 et seq."

The "3 business days" deadline applies only to those cases where the funeral home starts a case in ERAVE, assigns the case to the physician certifier and notifies the certifier that a record is available in ERAVE. The physician then has three (3) business days to "return" the certified case via ERAVE to the funeral director. The "three business day timeline clock" begins when the physician is assigned a case in ERAVE by the funeral home.

The physician/certifier is responsible for completing the cause(s) of death, Interval onset to death of each cause, significant other conditions, whether an autopsy was performed and if results were available, manner of death, tobacco use, whether pregnant if female, and specific injury information if applicable. They must sign, date, and provide their address and license number on the certificate. In ERAVE, this is Tabs 8-11 and the certifying signature when they save the record. If the cause of death needs to be determined by someone other than the certifier, the word "pending" can be entered in the cause of death field and additional information can be added later when it becomes available. This will allow the registration process to proceed.

Once the physician completes and certifies their section of the death certificate, he/she has completed their responsibility. The funeral home has the responsibility to complete their portion of the record and submit it to the state for registration.



## **ERAVE** Waiver Information

Some funeral homes are still submitting paper copies of death registrations to the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) Vital Records. If a physician receives a paper copy of a death record from a funeral to complete, the certifier should start the record in ERAVE, complete the physician's portion of the record and then notify the funeral home that the physician's portion of the record has been completed. The physician should complete this within 3 business days after receiving a paper copy from the funeral home.

In Section 2 of Act 975, Arkansas Code § 20-18-601 is amended to allow a medical certifier to request a waiver from the ADH from the requirement that a medical certification be completed using ERAVE if the certifier meets specific criteria. A copy of that request for waiver form will be available on the ADH website or will be sent to any certifier via email, fax, or USPS upon request.

### **ERAVE** Training

Training for ERAVE is available either onsite or online via Adobe Connect. User's Manuals for Physicians and Physician's Assistants are attached.

#### **ERAVE Training Methods:**

<u>Method 1:</u> Onsite or Online Single Group Training – This consists of training both the Certifying Physicians and ERAVE Physician Assistants together.

Method 2: Onsite or Online Split Group Training.

- First Training Group Session will consist of all Physicians Assistants. If needed, this can be divided into multiple sessions if all assistants cannot meet for a single ERAVE training session.
- Second Training Group Session will consist of All Certifying Physicians. If needed, this can also be divided into multiple sessions if all certifiers cannot meet for a single ERAVE training session.

Method 3: One-on-one training.

<u>Method 4:</u> Certifying Physicians review ERAVE Training Material on their own and contacts the ERAVE Project Team if they have any questions.

To discuss these and other training possibilities or to schedule training dates/times, the certifying physician can contact the ERAVE Project Team at (501) 661-2785 or Anthony Enoch at (501)-682-4278.



# **ERAVE** Waiver Information

ADH strongly recommends that both the ERAVE certifying physicians and their assistants first receive ERAVE training before attempting to file a death certificate electronically. ERAVE training includes teaching physicians to start their cases in ERAVE and complete the certification. Since certifiers know of the death first, they can do this before the funeral home has gotten into ERAVE to work on the case. The "3 business days" requirement does not apply to physicians who start and complete their part of the case before the funeral home.

Again, to discuss training possibilities or to schedule training dates/times, the certifying physician can contact the ERAVE Project Team at (501) 661-2785 or Anthony Enoch at (501)-682-4278.

Additional Contacts: Shirley Louie, State Registrar (501)-661-2833

