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Quick initial answers to a couple of common questions: 

1. Can a pharmacy limit their hours of operation?  

a. Yes, Pharmacies in Arkansas that hold retail permits are allowed to operate at a 

minimum of 40 hours per week without a Board approved waiver. If you are 

currently open more than 40 hours per week and wish to reduce to 40 hours per 

week during this pandemic then that is not a problem. If you have need to reduce 

to less than 40 hours per week then please contact our office. 

2. Can a pharmacy limit service to delivery only or to drive through service only?  

a. Yes, we have had pharmacies ask if they can lock their front doors and serve 

patients via delivery, drive through or curb side pickup. All of these are options 

for pharmacies in Arkansas 

3. Can a pharmacy ask patients to not enter the pharmacy if they are running fever or 

suspect that they have been exposed to illness?  

a. Yes, most facilities normally try and use caution with patients they come into 

contact with but in this environment many want to put up signage asking patients 

to self identify and not enter the pharmacy if they are running fever or feeling ill. 

4. What about refills if we cannot get a response from the prescriber?  

a. Arkansas Statutes cover this very clearly already as shown below: 

 

 

http://pharmacy.publishpath.com/Websites/pharmacy/images/COVID/(DEA-DC-023)(DEA075)Decision_Tree_(Final)_33120_2007.pdf
http://pharmacy.publishpath.com/Websites/pharmacy/images/COVID/(DEA-DC-023)(DEA075)Decision_Tree_(Final)_33120_2007.pdf
http://pharmacy.publishpath.com/Websites/pharmacy/images/COVID/COVID%2019%20Emergency%20Rule%20Suspensions%20Approved%20Current.pdf
http://pharmacy.publishpath.com/Websites/pharmacy/images/home-page/COVID%2019%20Guidance%20for%20Pharmacies%20and%20Pharmacists.pdf
http://pharmacy.publishpath.com/Websites/pharmacy/images/home-page/Arkansas%20State%20Board%20of%20Pharmacy%20Recommendations.pdf
http://pharmacy.publishpath.com/Websites/pharmacy/images/home-page/Arkansas%20State%20Board%20of%20Pharmacy%20Recommendations.pdf
https://www.usp.org/sites/default/files/usp/document/about/public-policy/usp-covid19-handrub.pdf?fbclid=IwAR0rIDw9Zj1icCPugBuDlgZwMyCoDU-R5eRk3SyV-X1G9xFEL1R9_0qbK3I
https://www.usp.org/sites/default/files/usp/document/about/public-policy/usp-covid19-handrub.pdf?fbclid=IwAR0rIDw9Zj1icCPugBuDlgZwMyCoDU-R5eRk3SyV-X1G9xFEL1R9_0qbK3I
https://www.usp.org/sites/default/files/usp/document/about/public-policy/usp-covid19-garb-and-ppe.pdf?fbclid=IwAR24h1wafGIQ6dXJacSFNduaOpao0TU2oZte68Gyp95t90M5mG6e5O4_evw
https://www.usp.org/sites/default/files/usp/document/about/public-policy/usp-covid19-garb-and-ppe.pdf?fbclid=IwAR24h1wafGIQ6dXJacSFNduaOpao0TU2oZte68Gyp95t90M5mG6e5O4_evw
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/hydroxychloroquine_document_(final_on_letterhead).pdf?fbclid=IwAR08XR7qDsJhRXhDyr8_Q8w3pIVFLZ71KsIp_t7gdIR6teHMlD-LD-5m8bk
https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/images/uploads/pdf/hydroxychloroquine_document_(final_on_letterhead).pdf?fbclid=IwAR08XR7qDsJhRXhDyr8_Q8w3pIVFLZ71KsIp_t7gdIR6teHMlD-LD-5m8bk


17-92-102. Exemptions 

(d) In the event a pharmacist receives a request for a prescription refill and the pharmacist is 

unable to obtain refill authorization from the prescriber, the pharmacist may dispense a one-time 

emergency refill of the prescribed medication, provided that: 

(1) The prescription is not for a medicinal drug listed in Schedule II as defined in § 5-64-205; 

(2) The medication is essential to the maintenance of life or to the continuation of therapy; 

(3) In the pharmacist's professional judgment, the interruption of therapy might reasonably 

produce undesirable health consequences or may cause physical or mental discomfort; 

(4) The pharmacist properly records the dispensing; and 

(5) The dispensing pharmacist notifies the prescriber of the emergency dispensing within a 

reasonable time after the one-time emergency refill dispensing. 

5. What about shortages of Personal Protective Equipment for compounding?  

a. The Board of Pharmacy would advise pharmacies to first of all be mindful in your 

use of PPE and take measures to mitigate waste of such equipment. Pharmacies 

can approach this in large part by addressing staging and preparation to use the 

clean room more methodically to avoid excessive waste. As we understand it, 

national entities are in discussions with USP to see about alternative approaches 

that may be taken. See the document link at the top of the page for more detailed 

information. 

6. What about other questions?  

a. Contact the Board of Pharmacy Office with other specific questions. 

 


