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4815 West Markham Street @ Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-3867 & Telephone (501) 661-2171
Governor Asa Hutchinson
Nathaniel Smith, MD, MPH, Dircctor and State Health Officer

PLEASE READ ALL INFORMATION CAREFULLY

Thank you for your interest in becoming a Body Artist in the State of Arkansas. The Arkansas Department of Health is
the regulatory agency for Licensing Body Artists and Body Art Establishments. Body Art fields include Permanent
Cosmetics, Tattooing, Body Piercing, Branding, and Scarification.

The Application Packet contain a list of Arkansas Department of Health approved body art training facilities, a Body
Artist License Application, ADH Body Art Exam a list of accepted Blood Borne Pathogens Courses, a study guide for
the Body Art Exam, Written Test Dates, a copy of the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Permanent Cosmetic and
Tattoo Establishments, and a copy of Act 596 of 2013,

Before being licensed as a Body Artist in Arkansas, the following must be completed in the order listed:

* Contact and be accepted as by an approved Body Art Trainin
THE REQUIREMENTS FOR TRAINING FACILITIES HAVE : .
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH. NO ARTIST IN TRAINING CAN BE CONDUCTED UNLESS THE
BODY ART ESTABLISHMENT HAS BEEN APPROVED BY ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH AS A TRAINING FACILITY.

* Submit completed Body Artist License Application to:

Arkansas Department of Health
Attn: Body Art Program

4815 West Markham Street, Slot 46
Little Rock, AR 72205-3867

*  The applicant shall successfully complete a Body Art written exam based on the Arkansas Department of Health
Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Permanent Cosmetic and Tattoo Establishments and the law, Act 596 of
2013, and Bloodborne Pathogens Training prior to issuance of the Artist-in-Training Certificate.

* Before registering for the Body Art exam, the applicant must complete an approved blood borne
pathogens course. The blood borne pathogens course shall be a minimum of two (2) hours of instruction.
Approved providers include, but are not limited to, the American Red Cross, National Safety Council, any
nationally recognized body art organization, i.e., APT, APP, SPC, any institution of higher learning, approved
on-line training or other individual or group approved by the Department. Bring proof of completion at the time
of the written exam.




* A fifty-dollar ($50.00) fee shall be paid at the time of the written exam. BE SURE TO BRING.
0 s T i The exam is given the 3 Tuesday
of each month, at 2:00 p.m., at the Arkansas Department of Health, 4815 West Markham Street, Little
Rock, AR 72205, Lab Training Room #2508. (No written exam will be given in December). The
Artist/Trainer must contact this office to make an appointment for your exam and provide a completed
body art license application.* You must also provide a color state or federal government issued photo_

ID at the time of the exam

* Upon successfully passing the Body Art exam, complete a 6-24 month Artist In-Training
Program with an Artist/Trainer in an approved Body Art Training Facility. An artist/trainer is an
artist who is licensed by the Department of Health, has been licensed by the Department as a body art
artist for five years in the specified field of body art in which he/she will be training, has worked in a
body art establishment licensed by the Department for at least three years, has been in compliance with
the department rules and has completed a blood borne pathogens course.

* The Artist In-Training shall complete at least 375 clock hours of supervised body art work and
the Artist/Trainer shall maintain a log of the hours worked by the student during the 6-24
months. I.og forms are provided at the time of the written exam.

* An Artist In-Training studying multiple fields of body art requires 250 additional clock hours for
each subsequent field and may be completed in not less than 12 months or more than 24 months.

* At the end of the training period, the Artist/Trainer shall register, with this Department,the
Artist In-Training for the practical exam in their field(s) of study to be performed at the
approved training facility.

* Your Body Art License will be issued upon successfully completing the practical exam and
this Department receives payment of the annual artist fee of $100.00.

Good luck with your choices in this exciting and growing industry. If you would like to review our proposed
revisions to the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Body Art Establishments, please visit our website at
www.healthy.arkansas.gov under Proposed Rules and Regulations.

If you have any questions, please call Shawna Henson (501)661-2606 or Email Shawna.henson@Arkansas.gov

Sincerely,

Avi ronmcntaj I

Jeff Majors, Senior Environmental Health Specialist
Arkansas Department of Health

Environmental Health Protection

Body Art Program
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Body Art Program
4815 W Markham ST, Slot 46
Little Rock, AR 72205

BODY ARTIST LICENSE APPLICATION

(Please Type or Print Clearly)

Applicant Name:
(First) (Middle Initial) (Last)
Mailing Address:
City: State: Zip: County:
Date of Birth: Social Security #: XXX-XX-
Home Phone: Cell Phone:
Email Address:

Veteran Status: Are you or your spouse a veteran? O Yes ONO

TRAINING FACILITY INFORMATION

Body Art Training Facility

Artist Trainer:

Facility Address:

City: State: _ Zip: Phone:

WORK EXPERIENCE: (List any work expertence pertinent to the field)

PLEASE CHECK ALL PROGRAMS YOU WISH TO APPLY FOR:
DTattoo :l Body Piercing | Permanent Cosmetics Branding

Applicant Signature: Date:

License Fees are due at time of testing. Submit application at least 5 business days before test date. If you
have any questions please contact Shawna Henson at (501)661-2606 Body Art Program.

DATE OF TEST:
ADH USE ONLY: Customer No. Point of Sale $50.00

TAF (7/18)



OSHA Bloodborne Pathogens Course Providers*

Abovetraining.com https://abovetraining.com/bloodborne-pathogens

American Red Cross www.redcross.org/take-a-class/classes/bloodborne-pathogens-training-
online/05447631.html

Biologix Solutions https:/blxtraining.com/tattoopiercing-bbp/

Cathy Montie http://cathymontie.com/classes-bbp-usa.php

Emergency University https://www.emergencyuniversity.com/storefrt/p-9-blood-borne-
pathogens.aspx

Hazmat School http://www.hazmatschool.com

Health & Safety Institute https://online.hsi.com/

International CPR Institute https://www.icpri.com/

National Safety Council www.nsc.org/safety-training/first-aid/courses/bloodborne

Pacific Medical Training https://pacificmedicaltraining.com/education-nm-bbp.html

Protrainings www.protrainings.com/en/courses/2-bloodborne-pathogens/topic

Your Training Place www.yourtrainingplace.com/

Proof of current BBP certification is required at the time of written exam and license renewals

If course provider is not listed above, please provide proof of the course certificate meeting the
OSHA standard with your application at time of written test or renewal application.

*Inclusion on this list is not an endorsement of the provider. This list was created to aid in selection of approved
OSHA Bloodborne pathogens courses that meet the requirements of ACT 596 of 2013. Other providers may offer
courses that meet OSHA Bloodborne pathogens courses certification requirements. Different course providers may
charge different prices for the certification.

(Revised 10/18)




Study Guide for Body Art Testing and Artist in Training Application

- d)

1. Which diseases are associated with improper body art procedures?
2. Which of the above diseases causes jaundice-a yellowing of the skin and eye?
3. Client skin rashes and diseases are most often associated with which of the following?
a) Staphylococcus
b) Streptococcus
) Shigella
Salmonella
4. Possession of a body piercing needle, tattoo needle, or body art instrument, or a

combination of these, including without limitation tattoo ink, barrel, drip, and tattoo machine by
a person within this state who is not licensed as an artist by the department is a

5.

6.

Used needles are to be disposed of in a

If using an autoclave or sterilizer, a spore test shall be completed with use of a biological

monitoring system (commercial preparation of spores) to assure all microorganisms have been

destroyed and sterilization achieved every

7.

8.

9.

10.

11.

12.

What causes scabies?

The artist certification will expire on of each year.

Single service means

What training certificate is required every year for renewal?

Circle the items that are required in the workroom.

a) Covered trashcan

b) Paper towels for Artist only handwashing sink
c) Ultrasonic

d) Sharps container

e) Autoclave

f) Individual nail brushes

Circle all that apply. Prior to sterilizing, instruments shall be:
a) Brushed or swabbed to remove foreign material

b) Tubes disassembled

c) Immersed in an enzymatic cleaner



True or False
13. The single service portions of pigments can be reused on other clients.

14. An artist can attempt to remove a tattoo if he/she did the work.

15. A straight razor may be used for shaving a client.

16. Out of state artists certified in their state may transfer their license to
Arkansas without having qualifications reviewed.

17. The Arkansas Health Department currently approves pigments for tattooing.

18. Sanitizing Chemicals must be effective against HIV and Hepatitis B.

19. You must be over 18 to receive body art on your nipples or genitalia.

20. All initial piercing jewelry must be ASTM or ISO certified.

21. If using an autoclave, it can be kept on a counter in the workroom.

22. List the information required to be kept in the bound record book or digital record keeping
system:

22. At what age can minor children receive most body art procedures?

24. Does a parent or guardian have to be present in order for a child under the age of 18 to
receive a body art procedure?

Put the procedure in order according to aseptic technique:

______ Handwash using warm water soap and hand brush. Use paper towel to dry hands. Put on
disposable gloves. Client’s skin washed, shaved, and scrubbed with 70% isopropyl
alcohol.

____ Handwash using warm water soap and hand brush. Use paper towel to dry hands. Put
on disposable gloves. Apply stencil or draw guides on client’s skin.

Handwash and put on gloves. Disinfect Surfaces, work tables and client chairs with EPA
approved surface disinfectant. Prepare work area with individual portions of pigment or layout
sterilized initial jewelry.

Remove Excess Pigment. Wash as necessary. Allow to dry. Apply ointment with sterilegauze.

Provide client with verbal aftercare instructions. Disinfect Surfaces, work tables and client
chairs with EPA approved surface disinfectant.

Perform body art procedure. If interrupted for other duties, i.e., answering the phone,
etc., wash hands and reglove before resuming procedure.



Body Art Program

4815 W Markham ST, Slot 46
Little Rock, AR 72205
(501)661-2606

ES OR BO IVAY TR ING

The artist in training must have a completed application, which has been sent by his/her
artist trainer from a training facility that has been approved by Arkansas Department of
Health. No applications will be accepted after 2 PM the Tuesday before the ¢exam.
date,

All tests will be given at the Department of Health, 4815 West Markham in LittleRock,
Environmental Health section, unless otherwise notified.

(NO EXCEPTIONS - If you arrive after 2:00 p.m. YOU WILL
NOT BE TESTED)

There is a $50.00 testing fee (EXACT CHANGE REQUIRED if paying in cash)
This must be paid to the ADH Licensing Office before taking the written exam.

Proof of completion of a 2 hour Blood Borne Pathogens course must be provided. A list
of online courses is available on the ADH webpage or upon request,

2020

TUESDAY - January 21%
TUESDAY - February 18"
TUESDAY — March 17t
TUESDAY — April 21%
TUESDAY — May 19
TUESDAY — June 16"
TUESDAY — July 21
TUESDAY — August 18"
TUESDAY — September 15%
TUESDAY — October 20"
TUESDAY — November 171



ARKANSAS STATE BOARD OF HEALTH

RULES AND REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO
BODY ART ESTABLISHMENTS

Promulgated Under Authority of 20-27-1501 et seq.

Effective on February 18, 2016

Environmental Health Protection
Arkansas Department of Health
Nathaniel Smith, MD, MPH,
Director and State Health Officer



RULES AND REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO
BODY ART ESTABLISHMENTS
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SECTION 1. AUTHORITY

The following Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Body Art Establishments are duly adopted and
promulgated by the Arkansas Board of Health pursuant to the authority expressly conferred by the
laws of the State of Arkansas including, without limitation, Act 96 of 1913 as amended, the same
being Ark. Code Ann. § 20-7-109.

SECTION 2. PURPOSE

To protect the health of the citizens of Arkansas by establishing criteria for the application of body
art, to require licensing of artists and establishments, and require inspections of such
establishments. -

SECTION 3. DEFINITIONS

For the purposes of these Regulations, the following words and phrases when used herein shall be
construed as follows:

3.1.  APP. The Alliance of Professional Piercers.
3.2.  APT. The Alliance of Professional Tattooists.
3.3.  Artist. Any person, other than a licensed physician, who performs body art on a human.
3.4.  Artist in Training. A person who:
3.4.1. Is in training under the supervision of an artist trainer or a physician; and
3.4.2.  Shall not perform body art independently.
3.5.  Artist Trainer. An artist who:

3.5.1. Has been licensed by the Department of Health as an artist for at least
five (5) years in the specified field of body art in which he or she will offer
training;

3.5.2. Has worked in a body art establishment licensed by the Department for at least
five (5) years and been in compliance with Department rules governing body
artists;

3.5.3. Has completed the course required under § 20-27-1506; and

3.5.4. Is aregistered instructor for the specified field of body art with the State
Board of Private Career Education.

3.6.  Aseptic Technique. The practice which prevents or hinders the transmission of ~ disease-
producing microorganisms from one person or place to another person or place.

3.7. ASTM. The American Society for Testing and Materials.
3.8.  Body Art. Procedures that include:

3.8.1. Body Piercing;

3.8.2. Branding;

3.8.3. Permanent Cosmetics;



3.9.

3.10.
3.11.

3.12.

3.13.

3.14.
3.15.

3.16.

3.17.

3.18.

3:19:

3.8.4. Tattooing; and
3.8.5.  Scarification.

Body Piercing and Body Piercing Procedure. The puncturing of a part of a live human
being to create a hole for ornamentation or decoration or a single-point perforation of a
body part to insert an anchor with a single stud protruding or flush with the skin.

3.9.1. Body piercing or body piercing procedure shall not include piercing an earlobe
with a pre-sterilized disposable, single-use stud or solid needle that is applied
using a mechanical device to force the needle or stud through the earlobe.

BPCE. The Arkansas Board of Private Career Education.

Branding. A permanent mark made on human tissue by burning with a hot iron or other
instrument.

Critical Item. An aspect of operation or condition of a facility or equipment that
constitutes the greatest hazard to health and safety, including imminent health hazards.

Decontamination Area. An area designated for the decontamination and processing of
dirty instruments.

Department. The Arkansas Department of Health or its authorized agent.

Disinfectant. A product that is registered by the Federal Environmental
Protection Agency and/or the Department of Pesticide Regulation, as
indicated on the label, to reduce or eliminate the presence of disease-
causing microorganisms, including human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and
hepatitis B virus (HBV) for use in decontaminating work surfaces.

Enzymatic Cleaner or Enzymatic Detergent. Low-foaming detergents
which add enzymes capable of digesting organic material such as blood and
mucous, and which are labeled as such by the manufacturer.

Establishment. Any place or facility where body art is performed and that has a body
artist licensed in Arkansas on staff.

Germicidal Solution. A substance for use in the destruction of pathogenic microorganisms
as indicated on the label.

Guest Artist. An artist from a state other than Arkansas or a country other than the United
States who:

3.19.1. Holds a license from the body art regulatory board or agency, if in existence, in
that state or country; or

3.19.2. If an artist license is not available in the guest artist’s state or country, can submit
to the Department of evidence of professional experience, employment and
education including:

3.19.2.1. Proof of blood-borne pathogen certification; and

3.19.2.2. Proof of employment in a licensed body art facility for at least two (2)
years.



3.20.

3.21.
3.22.

3.23,

3.24.
3.25.

3.26.

3.27.

3.28.

3.29,
3.30.

Instrument. Equipment used during body art procedures, including without limitation:
3.20.1. Forceps;

3.20.2. Hemostats;

3.20.3. Needles;

3.20.4. Permanent cosmetic needles and tips;

3.20.5. Receiving tubes; and

3.20.6. Tattoo barrels and tubes.

ISO. The International Organization for Standardization.

Operator. Any person who owns, controls, operates, conducts or manages any permanent
cosmetic or tattoo establishment, whether actually performing the work of tattooing or not.

Permanent Cosmetics and Permanent Cosmetic Procedure. The application of
permanent or semi-permanent pigmentation by the penetration of the skin with a needle or
other instrument to:

3.23.1. The face for cosmetic purposes; or
3.23.2. Any part of the body for scar coverage or other corrective purposes.
Procedure(s). The act of applying body art.

Repigmentation. Recoloration of the skin, including through the use of dermabrasion or
chemical peels, sought due to:

3.25.1. Birthmarks, vitiligo, or other skin conditions, which result in the loss of melanin to
the skin;

3.25.2. Scarring caused by surgical procedures, including without limitation face lifts,
mole or wart removal, cauterization, and other similar procedures;

3.25.3. Mastectomy, including recreation of an areola or nipple; or
3.25.4. Blotchy pigmentation.

Scarification. Injury of the skin involving scratching, etching, or cutting of designs to
produce a scar on a human being for ornamentation or decoration.

Scarification Implement. Any instrument which intentionally alters human skin for the
purpose of scarification.

Sharps. Includes, but is not limited to, any contaminated object that can penetrate the skin;
any waste produced in the course of physically altering a human being including tattooing,
ear piercing; or any other process where a foreign object is used to cut or pierce the skin.
All waste generated in this manner meeting the definition of sharps must be handled
accordingly.

Single Service. Atticles intended for one-time, one-person use and then discarded.

Sponsor. An individual or business entity, including an event coordinator or manager,
responsible for the organization of a convention, trade show, or other temporary event that
includes a body art demonstration booth.



3.31.

3.32.

3.33.

3.34.

Subdermal Implanting. The insertion of an object under the skin of a live human being
for ornamentation or decoration.

Tattooing and Tattoo Procedure. Any method of placing designs, letters, scrolls, figures,
symbols or any other marks upon or under the skin by introducing pigments, or by the
production of scars to form indelible marks with the aid of needles or other instruments.

3.32.1. Tattooing and Tattoo Procedure do not include permanent cosmetics.

Tempered Water. Water having a temperature range between 85°F (29°C) and
110°F (43°C).

Vendor. A person who supplies body art materials, including body art instruments, at a
temporary demonstration where body art is performed.

SECTION 4. ARTIST LICENSURE

4.1.

4.2.

4.3.

No person except a duly licensed physician shall engage in the practice of body art or act as
a body artist unless he or she holds a body art license issued by the Department.

These Rules and Regulations are not applicable to any establishment under the control or
direction of a duly licensed physician nor do they apply to licensed medical hospitals and
similarly licensed medical institutions.

The following requirements must be completed before any individual shall receive a body
art license:

4.3.1. Prior to applying for a body art license, the applicant must complete blood-borne
pathogens training which meets the requirements of the Occupational Safety and
Health Administration (OSHA) and is approved by the Department.

4372. Artists in training pursuing licensure for scarification shall also complete basic
first aid and CPR training, which is approved by the Department.

4.3.3. Artists in training pursuing licensure for scarification shall possess a current
license in another field of body art. They shall also submit training and experience
documentation related to scarification for review by the Department to determine
eligibility for licensure.

4.3.4.  An application for a body art license shall be filed with the Department at the time
of the written exam.

4.3.5. The applicant must successfully complete a written examination given by the
Department. This examination shall be based on these Rules and Regulations. It
shall insure the applicant has knowledge of pertinent microbiology and proper
technique, to assure that infection and contagious disease shall not be spread.

4.3.6. The applicant shall meet all the current applicable requirements of the Rules and
Regulations Pertaining to the Control of Communicable Diseases.

43.7. The applicant must complete an approved training program as set forth by the
Board of Private Career Education. Artist in training shall train in a licensed body
art training facility under a currently licensed artist trainer who has been licensed



4.4.

4.5.

4.3.8.

4.3.9.

4.3.10.

and operating in compliance with the Regulations in the State of Arkansas for a
period of not less than five (5) years.

At the end of the required training period, the applicant must successfully
complete a practical exam in the field(s) of study. Practical exams conducted by
the Department will observe a procedure for aseptic technique, sterilization
procedures, recordkeeping and aftercare instruction to the client.

A practical body art training facility shall be licensed by the Department as a body
art establishment and by the BPCE as an approved body art training facility.

The Department shall levy and collect a nonrefundable fee of fifty dollars ($50.00)
from each artist in training who applies to take the written and practical
examinations. This fee is waived for an Artist in the qualification review process.

An artist with an expired Arkansas license, or an artist from another state or a country
outside of the United States, who holds a license from the body art regulatory board or
agency in that state or country, may submit to the Department an application for
qualifications review and a $500.00 nonrefundable application fee, to determine eli gibility
for a body art license issued by this Department.

The Department will review qualifications based on the following criteria:

44.1.
4.4.2.

4.4.3.

4.4.4.

4.4.5.

4.4.6.
4.4.7.

Proof of annual blood-borne pathogen certification.

Proof of licensure as a body art artist by the appropriate regulatory agency within
the last two (2) calendar years.

Copy of the body art laws and/or regulations from the regulatory agency which
licenses the artist.

Documentation from the regulatory agency concerning the establishment where
the artist is currently employed or has most recently been employed, including, but
not limited to:

4.4.4.1. Name of establishment.
4.4.42. Length of time employed.
4.4.4.3. A copy of licensure and inspection reports of establishment.

Documentation that the artist completed, at a minimum, a six (6) month artist in
training program. In lieu of training documentation, the artist may submit a letter
of reference from the regulatory agency, which provides compliance history,
evaluation of knowledge of health and safety standards and any record of training
completed.

Proof of passage of the Department’s body art written exam.

Completion of a practical exam at a currently licensed body art establishment in
Arkansas or other Department approved facility.

Upon receipt and approval of all qualification requirements, the artist shall be invoiced and
submit the annual artist license fee.



4.6.

An artist from another state or a country outside of the United States where artist licensure
is not required by a regulatory body shall complete the artist in training program as
required by Section 4.3 of these Rules and Regulations.

SECTION 5. ARTIST LICENSE FEE AND RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS

5.. Any artist in training who has completed the written exam by the Department and is
currently enrolled in a training facility approved by the BPCE, at the time of the effective
date of this regulation, will be exempt from any additional requirements for the current
course of study. .

5.1.1.  This exemption shall not apply to any course of study begun after the effective
date of this regulation.

52.  Artist's licenses shall expire on December 3lst of each year and are renewable when the
applicant meets all the current applicable requirements of these Rules and Regulations and
Ark. Code Ann. § 20-27-1501 et seq. including, but not limited to:

5.2.1. Submission of a renewal application for a body art license.
5.2.2.  Proof of completion of the annual blood-borne pathogen certification.
523.  For Scarification Artists, proof of current CPR and first aid certification.

5.3.  The Department shall levy and collect an annual fee of one hundred dollars ($100) per artist

for issuance of a license to an artist who performs body art.
53.1. If the annual fee for a licensed artist has not been paid by March 1 of the calendar
year, the artist license shall be suspended for ninety (90) days.
53.2. Before a license may be reissued within ninety (90) days after suspension the artist
shall:
5.3.2.1. Pay a reinstatement fee of one hundred dollars ($100) and all overdue
licensing fees;
5.3.2.2. Complete a written exam with the Department and a practical exam at
the studio in which the artist is licensed, a currently licensed body art
establishment in Arkansas or other Department approved facility; and
5.3.2.3. Meet all current requirements established by the Department for artists.
5.33. If an artist whose license is suspended has not met the requirements under 5.3.2.
within ninety (90) days after the suspension, the artist may apply for qualification
review.

SECTION 6. ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE FEE AND SANITATION CERTIFICATION

6.1. Establishment license’s shall expire on December 3lst of each year and are renewable when
the applicant meets all the current applicable requirements of these Rules and Regulations
and Ark. Code Ann. § 20-27-1501 et seq.

6.2.  The Department shall levy and collect an annual fee of one hundred fifty dollars ($150) per

facility for issuance of a license to an establishment that performs body art.



6.3.

6.4.

6.5.

6.6.

6.2.1.  If the annual fee for a licensed establishment has not been paid by March 1 of the
calendar year, the establishment shall be closed until a new license has been issued
by the Department and the annual fee has been paid.

6.2.2. Any studio or business owner operating without a current license commits a Class
D felony.

No person shall operate a body art establishment unless the establishment has received a
Certificate of Sanitation from the Department. No certificate shall be issued or renewed
unless the establishment has been inspected and found to be in compliance with the
provisions of these Rules and Regulations at the time of the most current inspection.

The certificate shall expire on December 31 of each year. Renewal inspections shall be
conducted by the Department.

No holder of any certificate of sanitation shall allow a body art artist to perform in his/her
establishment unless the artist is the holder of a valid body art license issued under Section

4 of these Rules and Regulations or holds a current guest artist temporary demonstration
license.

It shall be the duty of the operator or owner of the establishment to post the current
certification in a conspicuous place where it may be readily observed by the public.

SECTION 7. GENERAL PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT

7.1.

7.2.

7.3.

7.4.

7.5.

7.6.
7.7.

Each establishment shall have a workroom, which is separate and apart from a waiting
room or area. This room shall not be used as a corridor for access to other rooms, including
the public restroom facilities for clients. Body art procedures shall only be performed in the
workroom.

Floors shall be swept and wet-mopped daily. All surfaces, including, but not limited to
floors, walls, counters, chairs and tables, shall be maintained in good repair and shall be of
such materials to be easily cleanable, non-absorbent and non-porous. Floors, walls, or

ceilings in the workroom shall not be swept or cleaned while body art procedures are being
performed.

The workroom shall be equipped with a light source that provides adequate light for the
procedure area.

Light fixtures, decorative materials and other equipment attached to the walls or ceilings
shall be kept clean.

The workroom shall provide easy access to a sink separate from a restroom that is visible to
the client and that is designated for artist hand washing only. The workroom sink shall be
for the exclusive use of the artists for washing their hands and preparing the customer. It
shall be equipped with hands free or wrist controls and supplied with tempered running
water, liquid soap and single-use paper towels that are dispensed from a wall-mounted
dispenser.

The workroom shall have lined, hands free, covered waste containers.

The workroom shall be equipped with an approved sharps container.



7.8.
7.9.

7.10.

7.11.

7.12.

7.13.

The workroom shall be free of and physically separated from any ultrasonic cleaner.

The workroom shall have adequate cabinets for the storage of instruments, dyes, pigments,
and other materials used in the body art procedures.

The workroom shall have an adequate number of worktables for each working artist. The
surface of all worktables shall be constructed of material that is easily cleanable, smooth,
non-absorbent, corrosive-resistant and easily sanitized.

Adequate disposable surface barriers shall be used to prevent contamination on all work
surfaces and shall be replaced after each procedure.

A body art establishment shall comply with the following:
7.12.1. The establishment shall have adequate lighting and ventilation.

7.12.2. The building and all equipment shall be maintained in good repair at all times. All
parts of the establishment and its premises shall be kept clean, neat and free of
litter and rubbish.

7.12.3. A toilet and lavatory (and service sink if occupancy is greater than 15) shall be
located in the establishment and be accessible to clients. All plumbing shall meet
the requirements of the Arkansas Plumbing Code. The plumbing fixtures and toilet
room shall be maintained in a sanitary manner and in good repair.

7.12.4. Adequate hand washing soap and single service paper towels or mechanical means
" for hand drying shall be provided in the lavatory.

7.12.5. Living or sleeping quarters located on the premises of a body art facility shall be
separated from rooms and areas used for body art facility operations by complete
partitioning and solid, self-closing doors.

7.12.6. The establishment shall have a decontamination area for the processing and
sterilizing of dirty instruments, in which the placement of the sterilizer is at least
thirty-six (36) inches from any sink or processing equipment.

7.12.6.1. Body art establishments which use all prepackaged, pre-sterilized, single
use instruments are not required to provide a decontamination area.

Decontamination areas within a body art facility shall:
7.13.1. Be physically separated from the waiting area, restroom and the workroom;

7.13.2. Be equipped with a sink that has tempered running water, liquid soap, and
single-use paper towels dispensed from a wall-mounted dispenser that is readily
accessible to the practitioner;

7.13.3. Be equipped with a lined, hands free, covered waste container;

7.13.4. Be labeled in a conspicuous manner as Employees Only and set up to avoid
clients or the public from entering;

10



7.14.

7.13.5. Provide physical separation of areas within the room to designate the difference
between dirty and clean instruments.

The establishment shall have a period of twenty-four (24) months from the adoption of
these Rules and Regulations by the Department to comply with all regulations, which
requires construction and/or remodeling of the establishment.

SECTION 8. CRITICAL ITEMS FOR CLOSURE

8.1.

8.2.

8.3.

Any body art establishment which is found to be in violation of any critical item(s) shall be
subject to immediate closure by the Department, pending a hearing before the State Board
of Health in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-211.

The establishment shall remain closed until all issued fines and/or penalties have been paid
and it is found no longer in violation of any critical item(s) upon inspection by the
Department.

Critical items shall include:

8.3.1. Performing a body art procedure on a person who is obviously inebriated or
appears to be incapacitated by the use of alcohol or drugs;

8.3.2. Performing a body art procedure on a person who shows signs of recent
intravenous drug use;

8.3.3.  Performing a body art procedure on an area of a person’s body with sunburn, open
lesions, rashes, or wounds;

8.3.4. Performing a body art procedure with the use of a product or ink that is banned or
restricted by the United States Food and Drug Administration;

8.3.5. Performing a body art procedure in an area that is not physically and permanently
separated from beauty facilities, such as hair and nail services;

8.3.6. Performing a body art procedure on an animal in a facility licensed for the
application of body art on human beings;

8.3.7.  Using a piercing gun to pierce any parts of a person’s body other than an earlobe;
8.3.8.  Performing a piercing with a manually loaded spring-operated piercing device;

8.3.9. Piercing an earlobe with a piercing gun that does not use a pre-sterilized
encapsulated stud and clasp system;

8.3.10. Using jewelry for an initial piercing that is not certified by ASTM International or
the International Organization for Standardization, or both, as an implant-grade
material, except for specified types of glass, gold and niobium as approved by the
Department;

8.3.11. Failure to maintain on file for inspection a Mill Test Certificate confirming
certification by ASTM International or the International Organization for
Standardization, or both, for steel and titanium jewelry for initial piercing;

'83.12. Selling a body piercing needle, tattoo needle, or body art instrument, or a

combination of these, including without limitation tattoo ink, batrel, grip and a

11



8.4.

tattoo machine to a person within this state who is not licensed as an artist by the
Department; and

Any action that constitutes a danger to the public’s health, safety or welfare may result in
emergency suspension of the artist or establishment license, upon factual finding by the
Department in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-211.

SECTION 9. SANITARY FACILITIES

9.1.

9.2.

Water supply. The water supply shall be adequate, of a safe, sanitary quality and meet the
current requirements of the Department's Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Public Water
Systems. '

Sewage. All water carried sewage shall be disposed of by means of:
9.2.1. A public sewerage system; or

9.2.2. An approved onsite wastewater system, which is constructed and operated in
conformance with the standards established by the Arkansas State Board of
Health.

SECTION 10. OPERATION STANDARDS

10.1.

Record Keeping. The operator shall maintain proper records on each client. These records
shall be entered in ink in a bound book kept solely for this purpose. This book shall be
available for examination by the Department upon request. A digital record keeping system
may be used if it provides all required information and has an adequate method of backing
up the data. The records shall be preserved for at least two (2) years from the date of the
last entry. The records shall contain the following information:

10.1..  The date the procedure was performed.

10.1.2. The name, address, and date of birth of the client.

10.1.3. The branch of service, rate, or rank of the client if in the armed services.
10.1.4. The design and location of body art procedure applied.

10.1.5. The name and license number of the artist.

10.1.6. The signature and printed legal name of the client.

10.1.7. A Photocopy of a valid government-issued photo identification for each client.
For minors or incapacitated adults under legal guardianship, a photocopy of a
valid photo identification of legal guardian and proof of guardianship, as required
in Section 10.3.

10.1.8. Each form of body art provided by the establishment shall have its own bound
book, separate from records for all other forms of body art.

10.1.9. In the event of a change of ownership or closing of the establishment, all records
shall be made available to the Department upon request.

10.1.10. Due diligence shall be demonstrated in the effort to keep all records private from
the public and other clients. '

12



10.2. The operator shall maintain on site a record of Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) for all
disinfectants, surface cleaners, skin cleansers, skin preparations, and/or chemicals used
within the establishment for cleaning, disinfecting, or serving clients.

10.3.

10.4.

Documentation and Consent Required for Minors and Incapacitated Adults Under Legal
Guardianship. The consent shall be on forms approved by the Department and shall be
presented to the operator by the parent or legal guardian.

10.3.1.

10.3.2.

10.3.3.

10.3.4.

10.3.5.

An artist shall not perform body art on a person under eighteen (18) years of
age, unless:

10.3.1.1. Given a consent form with the signature and printed legal name of the
parent or legal guardian;

10.3.1.2. The parent or legal guardian is present during the procedure;

10.3.1.3. The person to undergo body art and the parent or legal guardian each
provide a valid government-issued form of photo identification that
includes a name, date of birth, and photo; and

10.3.1.4. The parent or legal guardian presents proof of guardianship that matches
the identification given, including without limitation a birth certificate or
a court or state record for adoption, legal guardianship, emancipation, or
a marriage license.

An artist shall not perform body art on a person under sixteen (16) years of age,
regardless of parental consent, except: :

10.3.2.1. When authorized or prescribed by a physician’s statement exclusively for
repigmentation; or

10.3.2.2. When piercing the eatlobe.

Except when authorized or prescribed by a physician’s statement exclusively for
repigmentation, an artist shall not perform on a person under eighteen (18) years
of age regardless of parental consent:

10.3.3.1. Body art on the nipple or genital;
10.3.3.2. Branding.

Any person who performs body art on a person under eighteen (18) years of age,
except as provided in Sections 10.3.1-10.3.3., shall be guilty of a Class A
misdemeanor.

Any person who falsely claims to be the minor’s parent or legal guardian for the
purpose of obtaining body art for a person under eighteen (18) years of age shall
be guilty of a Class D felony.

Client Information. Before performing a body art procedure, an artist must:

10.4.1.

Have a discussion of the risks involved and possible complications with the client.
The client must be advised that certain procedures should be considered
permanent and can be removed only by a surgical procedure and any effective
removal may leave permanent scarring.
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10.5.

10.6.

10.7.

10.4.2. A written cautionary notice to that effect shall be furnished to and signed by the
client and retained on file at the establishment.

After the procedure is complete, oral and written (printed or photocopied) instructions,
approved by the Department, on the care of the skin where body art was applied in order to
prevent infection, shall be given to each client. A copy of these instructions shall also be
posted in a conspicuous place in the establishment.

Patch Test for Sensitivity. A patch test shall be administered upon request of the client
or prior to any permanent cosmetic procedure.

Suspected Infections to be Reported. All infections suspected from performing a body art
procedure, which become known to the artist/operator, shall be reported to the Department
within one (1) business day and the infected client shall be referred to a physician.

SECTION 11. RESTRICTIONS CONCERNING BODY ART PROCEDURES

Body art procedures shall be prohibited under the following circumstances:

11.1.

11.2.

11.3.

11.4.

11.5.

11.6.

11.7.

11.8.

11.9.

No body art procedure shall be done on the person of anyone having a history of jaundice or
similar disease and each client shall be questioned.

No body art procedure shall be done on the person of any individual who is obviously under
the influence of drugs or intoxicating liquor.

No body art procedure shall be done on a person suffering from any visible rash, skin lesion
or any skin disease or possible communicable disease. The skin surface shall be free from
rash, pimples, infection or recent scar tissue before body art is applied.

No person inflicted with an infectious or communicable disease, which may be transmitted
during the performance of any body art procedure, or afflicted with an infestation of animal
parasites shall be permitted to work or train in a body art establishment. The Department
may require a certificate signed by a duly licensed physician stating the person is free from
communicable diseases before permission to resume operation is granted.

No existing tattoo or permanent cosmetic shall be abraded or treated with chemicals for the
purpose of removing except by a licensed physician. This section does not intend to prohibit
the cover up of existing tattoos with additional body art design pattern or application of
permanent cosmetics.

No smoking in an establishment at any time in accordance with the Arkansas Clean Indoor
Air Act

No pigment disapproved by the Food and Drug Administration shall be used for permanent
cosmetics or tattooing. Ingredients contained in the pigments and Material Safety Data
Sheets must be provided by the manufacturer to the Department upon request.

The use of a straight razor is prohibited. Only single service disposable razors shall be used
for shaving purposes.

No person shall allow or perform the tattooing of animals in an establishment licensed and
used for performing body art procedures on human beings.
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11.10. An artist licensed by the Department shall not perform or attempt to perform the insertion

of a subdermal implant.

11.11. An artist may us only nonprescription strength topical anesthetics, ointments, or other

medications prior to, during, or after any phase of body art procedures.

11.12. An artist shall not use chemical or other means to intensify the results of a scarification

procedure.

SECTION 12. ASEPTIC PROCEDURES

12.1.
12.2.

12.3.

12.4.

12.5.

12.6.

12.7.

12.8.

12.9.

The artist shall wear a clean outer garment.

Before each procedure, the artist shall clean his/her fingernails with his/her individual nail
file and shall thoroughly wash and scrub his/her hands with tempered running water, an
approved soap and his/her individual hand brush. He/she shall not allow his/her hands to
dry without the use of a single service use paper towel or approved mechanical means.

A new pair of medical disposable gloves shall be used by the artist for each client and shall
be disposed of immediately upon removal.

The area of the client's skin to which body art is to be applied shall be prepared by washing
with distilled water and approved germicidal soap. When it is necessary to shave the area,
single service disposable razors shall be used. Following shaving, the skin must be gently
scrubbed with 70% isopropyl alcohol or other approved germicidal solution, using a sterile
gauze pad or paper towel, which shall be used only on one client and then discarded.

Following the cleaning and the shaving of the client's skin, the artist shall again wash and
scrub his/her hands as required in Section 12.2 and put on a new pair of medical disposable
gloves.

During any phase of the procedure, should the artist be interrupted for other duties, i.e.,
answering the phone, etc., the artist shall wash his/her hands as required in Section 12.2.
before resuming the procedure. A new pair of medical disposable gloves shall be used.

When acetate stencils are used for transferring the design to the skin, stencils shall be
thoroughly cleaned and rinsed in an approved germicidal solution according to
manufacturer’s instuctions and then they shall be dried with a sterile gauze pad or air-dried
before each use.

When the design is transferred during hectograph and tracing paper or duplicating carbon
methods, the paper or duplicating master shall not be reused on another client.

In preparing nontoxic dyes or pigments, only nontoxic or sterile material shall be used.
Single service or individual portions of pigments in clean sterilized containers or single
service containers shall be used for each client. Upon completion, the remaining unused
pigments shall be discarded. Any pigment in which the needles were dipped shall not be
reused during new or follow-up procedures. Where pigment mixing is necessary to achieve
the correct color and follow-up touch-ups may be required (permanent cosmetics), the
original container of mixed pigment may be kept.

12.10 Excess pigment shall be removed from the skin with a sterile gauze pad or paper towel,

which shall be used only on one client and then discarded.
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12.11.

12.12.

12.13.

After a completed body art procedure, with the exception of piercings, the area of skin
worked on, shall be cleaned with a piece of single use sterile material saturated with an
approved germicidal solution. It shall be allowed to dry. After drying, ointment may be
applied to body art from a collapsible metal or plastic tube or single use packet or portion
and where feasible the entire area covered with a piece of an approved, nonstick bandage.
The ointment may be spread by the use of sterile gauze, sterile tongue depressors, or gloved
fingers.

The area of permanent cosmetic application shall be washed and where feasible, ointment
or petroleum jelly shall be applied.

All surfaces, work tables and client chairs must be disinfected with EPA approved surface
disinfectant as defined in Section 3 of these Rules and Regulations before each new client is
seated.

SECTION 13. EQUIPMENT

13.1.

13.2.

13.3.
13.4.
13.5

13.6.

A set of individual wrapped sterilized needles shall be used by the artist for each new client.
An adequate number of sterilized needles and tubes or tips per tattoo or permanent cosmetic
artist must be on hand for the entire day or night operation.

All instruments that come in direct contact with a client's skin or are exposed to blood or
bodily fluid shall be sterilized prior to reuse. Body piercing establishments are required to
sterilize initial piercing jewelry.

All needles shall be single use and disposable.
New medical disposable gloves shall be worn during any sterilization procedure.
Approved modes of sterilization include:

13.5.1. Use of a steam, pulse pressure, or vacuum autoclave sterilizer, which is used,
cleaned and maintained according to the manufacturer's directions; or

13.5.2. Single-use prepackaged sterilized instruments obtained from suppliers or
manufacturers.

Sterilization shall be conducted as follows:

13.6.1. Prior to sterilizing, instruments shall be submerged and brushed or swabbed to
remove foreign material and rinsed. Instruments shall then be immersed in
enzymatic cleanser and water using an ultrasonic unit that operates at 40 to 60
kilohertz, followed by a thorough rinsing and drying;

13.6.1.1. Non-disposable tubes for tattooing shall be disassembled prior to
beginning the cleaning process and remain this way throughout the
sterilization process.

13.6.1.2. Enzymatic cleanser used in the ultrasonic unit shall be designed for such
use and used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.

13.6.1.3. The exception to this cleaning process may be the use of an instrument
washer, which is specifically designed to replace the manual cleaning
and ultrasonic processing of contaminated instruments.
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13.6.2. A chemical indicator shall be used to assure sufficient temperature and steam
penetration and proper functioning of equipment each time the sterilizer is run.

13.7. A monthly sterilization cycle shall be completed with use of a biological monitoring system
(commercial preparation of spores) to assure all microorganisms have been destroyed and
sterilization achieved.

13.8. Approved closed cabinets for the storage of instruments, dyes, pigments and other
paraphernalia used in the establishment shall be provided. All needles and instruments shall
be handled in such a manner as to prevent recontamination.

13.9. Packaged, sterilized supplies which have been processed in-house shall be stored and used
for no more than one (1) year from the date of processing. Supplies purchased packaged
and pre-sterilized from manufacturers shall be stored and used until the expiration date
provided by the manufacturer. The integrity of each package shall be inspected prior to use.

13.10. Tattoo and permanent cosmetic machines shall be cleaned and sanitized with an approved
germicidal before each use.

13.11. Body art establishments that utilize all prepackaged sterilized needles and tubes and other
equipment that contacts a client during any body art procedure shall not be required to
provide an autoclave at the establishment.

SECTION 14. STANDARDS FOR SERVING CLIENTS
14.1. Body Piercing Standards
14.1.1. Initial jewelry for body piercing shall meet ASTM or ISO standards.

14.12. The jewelry must be able to withstand the heat and pressure of autoclave
sterilization.

14.1.3. All surfaces and ends must be smooth, free of nicks, scratches, burrs, polishing
compounds and metals must have a consistent mirror finish.

14.1.4. An artist shall maintain on file for inspection a “Mill Test Certificate” confirming
certification by ASTM International or the International Organization for
Standardization, both for steel and titanium jewelry for initial piercing. The
documentation shall accompany each initial piercing jewelry order.

14.1.5. Use of personal client jewelry or any apparatus or device presented by the client to
be worn within an initial piercing is prohibited.

14.1.6. Any jewelry used for the procedure must be properly sterilized prior to use and
handled in a manner to maintain sterility until use.

14.1.7. No product shall be used in or on a fresh body piercing that warns against such
use. Nor shall these products be used against manufacturer warnings in the
aftercare or healing of the piercing.

14.1.8. Any marking instrument shall be single use and disposable.

14.2. Tattoo and Permanent Cosmetic Standards
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14.3.

14.4.

14.2.1. Al inks, dyes and pigments must be produced by a commercial manufacturer and
accepted for use by the Department by providing Material Safety Data Sheets
and/or ingredient information.

14.2.2. Any needle shall be single use only and sterilized prior to use.

14.2.3. All products used for the procedure such as skin cleansers, etc. shall be used in
accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.

14.2.4. Any non-tattooing marking instrument shall be single use only and disposed of
after use.

14.2.5. After the procedure is complete, the tattoo or permanent cosmetic shall be cleaned
and, where feasible, an ointment and a nonstick bandage applied.

14.2.6. All tubes, barrels, tips, or hand tools used for permanent cosmetics shall be single
use and disposable or stainless steel tubes, which may be sterilized onsite in
accordance with these Rules and Regulations.

Branding Standards

14.3.1. Any metal or other instrument used in a branding procedure which comes in direct
contact with the client's skin shall be single use or capable of being properly
sterilized.

14.3.2. All products used for the procedure such as skin cleansers, preps, or ointments
shall be used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.

14.3.3. Any marking instrument or stencil shall be single use only and disposed of after
use.

14.3.4. The artist, the client and any assistants or other individuals in the procedure room
shall wear adequate personal protection equipment throughout the procedure.

14.3.5. The procedure area for branding shall be an enclosed room with adequate
ventilation.

14.3.6. Metal used in strike branding procedures shall be made of non-galvanized steel.

Scarification Standards

14.4.1.

14.4.2.

14.4.3.

14.4.4.

14.4.5.

14.4.6.

Scarification procedures shall be performed in a dedicated enclosed workroom
that is used for no other purpose at that time.

Adequate surface barriers shall be used to prevent contamination on all work
surfaces and shall be replaced after each procedure.

Both oral and written aftercare shall be given to the client prior to beginning any
scarification procedure.

All marking instruments and stencils shall be single use and disposable.

A scarification artist shall wear disposable eye and respiratory protection as well

as an adequate hair restraint at all times while performing the scarification
procedure.

All scarification instruments shall be individually prepackaged and pre-sterilized
by the manufacturer and handled in a manner to avoid compromising sterility.
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14.4.7.

A scarification artist shall wear sterile individually prepackaged gloves during the
scarification procedure. A new pair of sterile gloves shall be worn for each
scarification procedure. If the scarification artists must stop the procedure to
conduct other tasks, the artist must wash his or her hands according to Section
12.2 and put on a new pair of sterile gloves.

14.48. A client's skin must be thoroughly cleaned with soap and water, rinsed and
swabbed with an antiseptic solution prior to a scarification procedure.

14.4.9. If the area in which the procedure is to be performed requires shaving, it shall be
done with a single use, disposable razor.

14.4.10. After the procedure is complete, the area shall be washed and a nonstick bandage
applied.

14.4.11. All scarification implements used to break or cut the skin shall be regarded as
sharps and must be single use and disposed of in compliance with the Rules and
Regulations Pertaining to The Management of Medical Waste from Generators
and Health Care Related Facilities.

14.4.12. Surface barriers used during scarification procedures shall be considered medical
waste and disposed of accordingly after each procedure.

SECTION 15. TEMPORARY OR MOBILE ESTABLISHMENTS

15.1. No person shall be licensed to perform body art in any temporary place of business, such as
carnivals, mass gatherings, or similar public gatherings of a temporary nature without an
approved mobile facility or without meeting the requirements for a temporary
demonstration license.

15.2. Mobile units shall meet all the requirements of these Rules and Regulations with the
following additional requirements:

15.2.1. Liquid waste shall be stored in a permanently installed retention tank that is at
least 15 percent larger capacity than the water tank. Liquid waste shall not be
discharged from the tank when the mobile unit is in motion. All liquid waste shall
be discharged to an approved sanitary sewage disposal system and the Department
shall be provided a letter of approval for all discharges upon request.

15.2.2. A potable water system under pressure shall be provided. Enough potable water
shall be available in the unit for cleaning and for hand washing. A heating facility
capable of producing enough tempered water for these purposes shall be provided
on the unit. The water inlet shall be provided with a transition connection of a size
or type that will prevent its use for other service. The water inlet shall be coated so
that it will not be contaminated by waste discharge, road dust, oil, or grease and it
shall be kept capped unless being filled.

15.3. The Department may impose additional requirements to protect against health hazards

related to a mobile permanent cosmetic or tattoo unit.
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SECTION 16. TEMPORARY DEMONSTRATION LICENSE

16.1.

16.2.

16.3.

16.4

16.5.

16.6.

The Department may issue a temporary demonstration license to an artist, establishment, or
a supplier of materials for body art for:

16.1.1. Educational purposes where body art is performed;
16.1.2. Trade shows where body art is performed;

16.1.3. Demonstrations of body art products or procedures; and
16.1.4. An appearance as a guest artist.

A temporary demonstration license shall be valid for no more than fourteen (14)
consecutive calendar days.

The sponsor of a body art event for educational purposes, trade shows and/or
demonstrations of body art procedures where body art is performed shall obtain all
necessary permits to conduct business in the jurisdiction where the event will be held,
including, but not limited to, valid permits issued by the Department.

The Department shall collect a non-refundable sponsor fee of fifty dollars ($50) per artist
that shall perform body art at the event, not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2000) per
event. In addition to the penalties available pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 20-27-1502, a
sponsor who violates this subdivision shall be subject to closure of the temporary body art
event and a penalty not to exceed three times the cost of the permit.

The Department shall levy and collect a non-refundable fee of fifty dollars (350) from a
guest artist for a temporary demonstration license.

16.5.1. An application for a temporary demonstration license shall be submitted to the
Department not less than forty-five (45) days prior to the event for educational
purposes, trade show, or demonstration of body art products and procedures where
body art is performed.

16.5.2. An application for a temporary demonstration license shall be submitted to the
Department not less than seven (7) days prior to the appearance of a guest artist.

An artist shall provide evidence of completion of a blood borne pathogens training which
meets the requirements of the Occupational Safety and Health Administration with the
application.

16.6.1. A person applying for a temporary demonstration license to appear as a guest artist
shall provide documentation of licensure as an artist in another state or country or
employment history with proof of employment in a body art facility licensed by
the regulatory board or agency in that state or country before the temporary
demonstration license may be granted.

16.6.2. The establishment where the guest artist is appearing shall have a licensed body
artist on its staff.

16.6.3. A guest artist may be issued a temporary demonstration license to appear as a
guest artist in the state of Arkansas no more than one (1) time every three (3)
months.
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SECTION 17. TREATMENT AND DISPOSAL OF INFECTIOUS WASTE

Treatment and disposal of infectious waste including sharps shall conform to Act 96 of 1913 as
amended and Act 41 of 1992 and the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Management of Medical
Waste from Generators and Health Care Related Facilities.

SECTION 18. SUBMISSION OF PLANS

Before any body art establishment is constructed or an existing structure is converted to use as a
body art establishment, plans shall be submitted to the Department for review and approval. The
plans and specifications shall include the workroom layout, plumbing plans, construction materials
and the type and model of proposed equipment. No body art establishment shall be constructed,
remodeled, or converted except in accordance with approved plans.

SECTION 19, INSPECTIONS

The business premises, equipment, procedures, techniques and conditions of body art
establishments shall be subject to at least one (1) inspection by the Department per year.

SECTION 20. ACCESS TO ESTABLISHMENT; CLOSURE FOR VIOLATION;
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF ARTIST OR ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE

20.1. The Department at all reasonable times shall have access to and is hereby empowered to
enter any and all parts of the premises of any body art establishment for the purpose of
making inspections to determine compliance with these regulations. The Department shall
also be permitted access to all required records.

20.2. If it is determined upon inspection that any body art establishment is being maintained
contrary to the provisions of these regulations and such violation poses an imminent threat
to public health, safety or welfare, such establishment shall be closed until provision is
made to comply with the regulations and permission is given by the Department to reopen
or it is determined, in a fair hearing under the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act, that
the facility should be reopened.

20.3. After written notice, the Department may suspend or revoke any artist or establishment
license issued in accordance with .these Rules and Regulations for violation of the
provisions of these Rules and Regulations. The artist or operator may appeal such
suspension or revocation as provided for by the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act,
Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-201 et seq.

SECTION 21. RELATED REGULATIONS

All body art establishments shall comply with all appropriate state laws, rules and regulations,
including but not limited to the following:

21.1. Arkansas Department of Health Rules and Regulations Pertaining to General Sanitation.

21.2. Act 402 of 1977, as amended, and the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Onsite
Wastewater Systems.
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21.3.
21.4.
21.5.

21.6.
21.7.
21.8.

Arkansas Department of Health Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Public Water Systems.
Arkansas Plumbing Code.

The Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Management of Medical Waste from Generators
and Health Care Related Facilities.

The Rules and Regulations Pertaining to the Control of Communicable Diseases.
The Arkansas Gas Codes.
The Arkansas Mechanical Code.

SECTION 22. PENALTY

22.1.

22.2.

22.3.

Every firm, person, or corporation violating any of the provisions of these Rules and
Regulations shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be
punished by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1000) nor more than five
thousand dollars ($5000) or by imprisonment not exceeding one month, or both. Each day
of violation shall constitute a separate offense (Ark. Code Ann. § 20-27-1512.).

Additional civil penalties and fines shall be enforced in accordance with Ark. Code Ann. §
20-58-12, Ark. Code Ann. § 20-7-101 and Ark. Code Ann. § 20-27-1501 et. seq.

Any penalty will be in addition to other remedies available to the Department, including
suspension or revocation of license and civil penalties.

SECTION 23. SEVERABILITY

If any provision of these Rules and Regulations or the application thereof to any person or
circumstances is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of
these Rules and Regulations which can give effect without the invalid provisions or applications,
and to this end, the provisions hereto are declared severable.

SECTION 24. REPEAL

All regulations and parts of regulations in conflict herewith are hereby repealed.

SECTION 25. CERTIFICATION

This will certify that the foregoing Rules and Regulations for Body Art Establishments were
adopted by the Arkansas Board of Health at a regular session of the Board held in Little Rock,
Arkansas on the 28th day of January, 2016.

A

Nathanial Smith, MD, MPH
Director and State Health Officer
Arkansas Department of Health
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Stricken language would be deleted from and underlined language would be added to present law.
Act 596 of the Regular Session

State of Arkansas As Engrossed: S§2/27/13 H3/22/13
89th General Assembly 1
Regular Session, 2013 SENATE BILL 388

By: Senator Irvin

For An Act To Be Entitled
AN ACT TO AMEND VARIOUS PROVISIONS CONCERNING BODY
ARTISTS; TO CLARIFY THE NATURE AND PENALTIES FOR
VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES REGARDING BODY ARTISTS;
AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.

Subtitle
TO AMEND VARIOUS PROVISIONS CONCERNING
BODY ARTISTS AND TO CLARIFY THE NATURE
AND PENALTIES FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND
RULES REGARDING BODY ARTISTS.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:

SECTION 1. Arkansas Code §§ 20-27-1501 through 20-27-1503 are amended
to read as follows:
20-27-1501. Definitions.
As used in this subchapter:
(1) “Artist” means any person other than a licensed physician
who performs body art on a human;
(2) “Artist in training” means a person who:
(A) Is in training under the supervision of an artist
trainer or a physician; and
(B) Shall not independently perform body art;
(3) “Artist trainer” means an artist who:
(A) Is Has been licensed by the Department of Health as an

artist for at least five (5) yvears in the specified field of body art in

which he or she will offer training;
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As Engrossed: S2/27/13 H3/22/13 SB388

(B) Has worked in a body art establishment licensed by the
department for at least three (3) years and been in compliance with
department rules governing body artists;

(C) Has completed the course required under § 20-27-1506;
and

(D) 1Is a registered instructor for the specified field of

body art with the State Board of Private Career Education;
(4) “Body art” means procedures that include:
(A) Tattooing;
(B) Body piercing;
(C) Branding; or
(D) Permanent cosmetics;

(5)(4) *“Body piercing” and “body piercing procedure” means mean

the creation of an opening in the body of a human being for the purpose of

inserting jewelry or other decorationm, the puncturing of a part of the body

of a live human being to create a hole for ornamentation or decoration, or a

single-point perforation of a body part to insert an anchor with a single

stud protruding from or flush with the skin.

(B) “Body piercing” or “body piercing procedure” shall not

include piercing an ear earlobe with a presterilized disposable, single-use

stud or solid needle that is applied using a mechanical device to force the
needle or stud through the ear earlobe;

(6) “Branding” means a permanent mark made on human tissue by
burning with a hot iron or other instrument;

(7) “Critical item” means an aspect of operation or condition of

a facility or equipment that constitutes the greatest hazard to health and

safety, including imminent health hazards;

{1)>(8) “Establishment” means any place or facility:
(A) Where body art is performed; and
(B) That has a body artist licemsed in Arkansas on staff;
48)3(9) “Guest artist” means a—bedy an artist from a state other
than Arkansas or a country other than the United States who:
(A) helds Holds a license from the body art regulatory

board or agency, if in existence, in that state or country; or

(B) If an artist license is not available in the guest

artist’s state or country, can submit to the department of evidence of
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As Engrossed: S2/27/13 H3/22/13 SB388

professional experience, employment, and education including:

(i) Proof of blood-borne pathogen certification; and

(i1) Proof of employment in a licensed body art

facility for at least two (2) vears;

(10) “Instrument” means equipment used during body art,

including without limitation:
(A) Forceps;

(B) Hemostats;
(C) Needles;

(D) Permanent cosmetic needles and tips;

(E) Receiving tubes; and

(F) Tattoo barrels and tubes;

£9)(l1) “Permanent cosmetics” and “permanent cosmetic procedure”
means mean the application of permanent or semipermanent pigmentation by the
penetration of the skin with a needle or instrument to:
(A) The face for cosmetic purposes; or
(B) Any part of the body for scar coverage or other
corrective purposes; and

(12) “Repigmentation” means recoloration of the skin sought due

(A) Dermabrasion, chemical peels, removal or resolution of

birthmarks, vitiligo, or other skin conditions that result in the loss of

melanin to the sking

(B) Scarring caused by surgical procedures, including

without limitation face lifts, mole or wart removal, cauterization, and other

similar procedures;

(C) Mastectomy, including recreation of an areola or

nipple; or
(D) Blotchy pigmentation.

(13) “Sponsor” means an individual or business entity, including

an event coordinator or manager, responsible for the organization of a

convention, trade show, or other temporary event that includes a body art

demonstration boothj and

LAY (14) (A) “Tattooing” and “tattoo procedure” means mean

any method of placing designs, letters, scrolls, figures, symbols, or any

other marks upon or under the skin by introducing pigments or by the

3 02-19-2013 12:54:57 MGF190



W 00 N & Ll B W N -

W W W W W W W N DD DN DN DN DN DN DNDNNMDN = 2 2 2 H H = = = =~
N U DWW NN = O W 00Nl WNR O VWO Ny W N = O

As Engrossed: $2/27/13 H3/22/13 SB388

production of scars to form indelible marks with the aid of needles or other
instruments.

(B) “Tattooing” _and “tattoo procedure” dees do not

include permanent cosmetics.

20-27-1502. Unlawful to perform body art on a person under eighteen
years of age — Documentation and consent.
(a)(l) A person under eighteen (18) years of age shall not undergo
body art unless:
{1)(A) Written consent is given by the person’s parent or
legal guardian; anéd
£23A)(B) The parent or legal guardian is present during

the procedure+;

(C) The person to undergo body art and the parent or legal

guardian each provide a valid government-issued form of identification that

includes a name, date of birth, and photo; and

(D) The parent or legal guardian presents proof of

guardianship that matches the identification given, including without

limitation a birth certificate or a court or state record for adoption, legal

guardianship, emancipation, or a marriage license.

(2) The artist shall retain for at least two (2) years a copy of

a photo identification and a proof of guardianship presented under

subdivision (a)(l) of this section.

(b) A person shall not perform body art on a person under sixteen (16)

yvears of age, regardless of parental consent, except:

(1) When authorized or prescribed by a physician’s statement

exclusively for repigmentation; or

(2) When piercing the earlobe.

(¢) It is unlawful to perform body art on the nipple or genitalia of a

person under eighteen (18) vears of age regardless of parental consent,

except when authorized or prescribed by a physician’s statement exclusively

for repigmentation.

(d) It is unlawful to perform branding on a person under the age of
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As Engrossed: S2/27/13 H3/22/13 SB388

eighteen (18) vears of age regardless of parental consent.

{b)(e) Regardless of age, the person receiving the body art shall
attest to the fact that he or she is not under the influence of drugs or

alcohol.

4e)(f) Printed and verbal instructions on the care of the skin and the

body art shall be given to each person after the procedure, and a copy of the

instructions shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the body art
establishment.

() (1) (A) In addition to the attestations required in
subsections (a) and 4b)(e) of this section, records shall be kept ofthe
names of all persons receiving body art and of the parents or guardians
giving consent under the rules promulgated by the State Board of Health to
implement this subchapter.

(B) TIf the person to undergo body art is under eighteen

(18) yvears of age, the printed legal name and signature of the parent or

legal puardian.
(2) All records shall be retained for at least two (2) vears

from the last date recorded in the bound book.

42>(3) All required signatures shall be in ink, and required
records shall be available at a reasonable time for examination by the
Department of Health and by local health officials.
e (£) (1) Except as provided in subseetien—{a) subsections (a)-(c¢)

of this section, it is unlawful to perform body art onla person under
eighteen (18) years of age, and any person who pleads guilty or nolo
contendere to or is found guilty of a violation of this subdivision
te)rh-(£) (1) is guilty of a Glass € Class A misdemeanor.

(2) Any person who falsely claims to be the minor’s parent or
legal guardian for the purpose of obtaining body art for a person under
eighteen (18) years of age shall be guilty of a Glass—A-misdemeaner Class D
felony.

(3) It is not a defense to a criminal prosecution under

subdivision (f)(1l) of this section that at the time of the offensey the

person who received the body art possessed a letter of consent from the
person’s parent or legal guardian if the letter was forged or if a person

falsely assumed the identity of the minor’s parent or legal guardian.

() (1) It is unlawful to perform body art en—any—persen—under
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As Engrossed: S2/27/13 H3/22/13 SB388

eighteen{(18)—years—ef-age in any unlicensed facility.

(2) A person who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to or is found
guilty of a violation of subdivision 51 (g)(l) of this section is guilty
of a Class D felony.

(3) A fine collected under this section, less court fees, shall

be allocated as follows:

(A) Fifty percent (507%) to the State of Arkansas;

(B) Twenty-five percent (25%) to the city or county that

levied and collected the fine; and

(C) Twenty-five percent (25%) to be deposited into the

State Treasury, credited to the Public Health Fund, and used exclusively for

the Body Art Program of the department.

20-27-1503. Department of Health to license, regulate, and inspect for
health hazards.
(a) (1) Body art establishments which and artists who perform body art
shall be licensed by the Department of Health.
(2) A body art training facility shall be licensed by the

department as an establishment and by the State Board of Private Career

Education as an approved body art training facility.

(3) An artist from a state other than Arkansas or a country

outside of the United States who holds a license from the body art regulatory

board or agency in that state or country may submit an application for

qualifications review by the department to determine eligibility for a body

art license based upon criteria established by the department.

42>(4) The business premises, equipment, procedures, techniques,
and conditions of those businesses shall be subject to periedie at least one
(1) inspection by the department per year.

(b) (1) The department may adopt appropriate rules regarding the
artists, premises, equipment, procedures, techniques, and conditions of
establishments which perform procedures subject to this subchapter to assure
that the premises, equipment, procedures, techniques, and conditions are
aseptic and do not constitute a health hazard.

(2) Any rule affecting body art establishments in effect on
August 13, 2001 2013, shall remain in effect until the State Board of Health

adopts rules pursuant to this subchapter.
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As Engrossed: S2/27/13 H3/22/13 SB388

(¢c) Applicants for a license shall file applications upon forms
prescribed by the department.

(d) A license shall be issued only for the premises and persons in the
application and shall not be transferable.

(e)(1)(A) The department shall levy and collect an annual fee of omne
hundred fifty dollars ($150) per facility for issuance of a license to an
establishment that performs body art.

(B) The department shall levy and collect an annual fee of
one hundred dollars ($100) per artist for issuance of a license to an artist
who performs body art.

(2)(A) The department shall collect a one-time fee of five

hundred dollars ($500) per artist licensed in a state other than Arkansas or

a country other than the United States who applies for qualifications review

by the department.

(B) The fee for written and practical exams under § 20-27-

1508 is not required for an applicant under subdivision (e)(2)(A) of this

section for exams taken to complete requirements established by the

department.
(C) Upon satisfactory completion of the requirements by

the applicant and approval of qualifications established by the department, a

body artist license shall be issued to an applicant under subdivision

(e)(2)(A) of this section.

(D) The department shall collect the annual artist fee of

one hundred dollars ($100) after the issuance of a license under subdivision
(e)(2)(C) of this section.
£2)(3) The annual fee for an artist or for an establishment

shall be based upon the calendar year, January 1 through December 31, with
fees for any given year due by December 31 of the previous year.

43)(4) 1If the annual fee for a licensed establishment has not
been paid by March 1 of the calendar year, the establishment shall be closed
until a new license has been issued by the department and the annual fee has
been paid.

Ay (5) (A) If the annual fee for a licensed artist has not
been paid by March 1 of the calendar year, the artist shall have his or her
license revoked shall be suspended for ninety (90) days.

(B) If an artist has his or her licemnse revoked suspended,
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he or she shall b
trainingunder—a—liecensedartist before a license may be reissued within

ninety (90) days after the suspension:

(i) Pay a reinstatement fee of one hundred dollars

($100) and pay all overdue licensing fees;

(ii) Complete a written exam with the department and

a practical exam in the studio in which the artist is licensed; and

(iii) Meet current requirements established by the

department for artists.

(C) If an artist whose license is suspended has not met

the requirements under subdivision (e)(5)(B) within ninety (90) days after

the suspension, the artist may apply for qualification review.

45)(6) In addition to the penalty provisions found in this
subsection, any studio or business owner operating without a current license
is sub3ee%—%e—%he—peﬂalEies-and—@ines—&é%ewed—b¥—§—39'¥—4g+ commits a Class D

felony.
(f) All fees levied and collected under this subchapter are declared

to be special revenues and shall be deposited into the State Treasury, there
to be credited to the Public Health Fund to be used exclusively for the
Tattoe—and Piereing Body Art Program of the department.

(g) Subject to any rules as may be implemented by the Chief Fiscal
Officer of the State, the disbursing officer for the department may transfer
all unexpended funds relative to the health facility services that pertain to

fees collected under this subchapter, as certified by the Chief Fiscal

Officer of the State, to be carried forward and made available for

expenditures for the same purpose for any following fiscal year.

SECTION 2. Arkansas Code §§ 20-27-1506 through 20-27-1509 are amended
to read as follows:

20-27-1506. Blood-borne pathogens course.

(a)(l) FEach artist, artist trainer and artist in training shall

complete & Occupational Safety and Health Administration blood-borne

pathogens eeurse training approved by the Department of Health on or before
December 1, 2014.

(2) An approved online course may be used to satisfy the

requirement under subdivision (a)(l) of this section.
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{2¥(b) Each artist trainer shall complete the course before training
any artist in training.

{3)¥(c) Each artist in training shall complete the course before
applying for the examination required under § 20-27-1508.

(d) (1) After completion of a first Occupational Safety and Health

Administration blood-borne pathogens training approved by the department, an

artist, an artist trainer, and an artist in training shall renew the training

annually.

(2) A copy of each annual certification under subdivision (d)(1)

of this section shall be submitted to the department with the license

renewal.

20-27-1507. Education of artist in training.
(a) An artist trainer shall be a registered instructor in a school
licensed by the State Board of Private Career Education.

(b) The State Board shall develop standards to determine:

(1) The maximum number of artists In training in a training

facility at one time; and

(?2) The length of the program in hours and across a range of

months.

LB HIA} (c) (1) (A) During the artist training in the fields of tattoo,

body piercing, or permanent cosmetics, each artist in training shall complete

not less than three hundred seventy-five (375) hours of supervised body art
work and classroom instruction in a period not less than six (6) months or

more than twenty-four (24) months in an establishment licensed under § 20-27-
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1503 and § 6-51-601 et seq.
(B) During the artist training in the field of branding,

each artist Iin training shall complete not less than three hundred seventy-

five (375) clock hours of supervised body art work and classroom instruction

in a period not less than six (6) months or more than twenty-four (24) months
in an establishment licensed under § 20-27-1503 and § 6-51-601 et seq.
£B)(C) Additional fields of body art training may be added

by completing not less than two hundred fifty (250) clock hours of technical
and procedural training in each of the other fields of body art in which an
artist in training is to be licensed.

(D) An artist in training studying multiple fields of body

art at the same time shall complete the total clock hours of all fields in

not less than twelve (12) months or more than twenty-four (24) months.

(2)(A) The artist trainer shall maintain a training log of the

clock hours completed by the artist in training on forms approved by the

State Board of Private Career Education.

(B) The training log shall include without limitation a

record of:

(i) Hours of both theory and practical education;

(ii) The procedures observed and completed; and

(1ii) A list of resources used for training.

(C) The artist in training shall keep available for

inspection a bound record book that is separate from the record book of

another artist or artist in training.

{B8¥(D) The completed training log shall be submitted to

the Department of Health at the time of the practical examination under § 20-
27-1508.

(d) An artist trainer may offer training only in the area in which the

artist trainer holds a current license from the department.

(e) The state board shall adopt a minimum curriculum for each area of

body art training that shall be followed by all artist traimers, artists in

training, and body art training facilities.

20-27-1508. Examination — Fee.
(a) (1) (A) Each artist in training seeking licensure as an artist under

the rules of the Department of Health shall take a written examination and—a
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praetiecal-—examination prepared or approved by the department before beginning

training.
(B) Upon completion of the hours required under § 20-27-

1507, a practical examination shall be conducted by the department in each
field of training for which the artist in training is seeking licensure.

(2) Until an artist in training receives a passing grade on beth
the—written—examination—and the practical examination, no artist in training
may:

(A) Be licensed as an artist;
(B) Hold himself or herself out as a licensed artist; or

(C) Independently perform a body art procedure without the

supervision of a body art trainer.

(b) The department shall levy and collect a nonrefundable fee of fifty

dollars ($50.00) from each artist in training who applies to take the written
and practical examinations required under this section for licensure as an
artist.

(c) A fee collected under this section shall be deposited into the

State Treasury, credited to the Public Health Fund, and used exclusively for

the Body Art Program of the department.

20-27-1509. Temporary demonstration license.

(a) The Department of Health may issue a temporary demonstration
license to an artist or establishment or to a supplier of materials for body
art for:

(1) Educational purposes where body art is performed;

(2) Trade shows where body art is performed;

(3) Demonstrations of body art products or procedures; and
(4) An appearance as a guest artist.
(b) A temporary demonstration license shall be valid for no more than

fourteen (1l4) consecutive calendar days.

detlars—{$150)for cach—temporary—demonstration license

(c)(l) The sponsor of a body art event for an educational purpose, a

trade show, a demonstration, or a combination of an educational purpose, a

trade show, a demonstration of body art procedures where body art is

performed shall obtain the necessary permits to conduct business in the
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jurisdiction in which the event will be held, including without limitation a

permit issued by the department.

(2) The department shall collect a nonrefundable sponsor fee of

fifty dollars ($50.00) per artist who performs body art at an event, not to

exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000) per event.

(3) In addition to the penalties under § 20-27-1502, a sponsor

who violates this subsection is subject to closure of the temporary body art

event and a penalty not to exceed three (3) times the cost of the permit.

(d) The department shall levy and collect a nonrefundable fee of fifty

dollars (§50.00) from a guest artist for a temporary demonstration license.

{d)y)(e) (1) An application for a temporary demonstration license
shall be submitted to the department not less than forty-five (45) days prior

to the event er—appearance—as—a—guest—artist for educational purposes, trade

show, or demonstration of body art products and procedures where body art is

performed.

(2) An application for a temporary demonstration license shall

be submitted to the department not less than seven (7) days before the

appearance of a guest artist.

£2)(3) An artist shall provide evidence of completion of a

Occupational Safety and Health Administration blood-borne pathogens eeurse

training with the application.
{erH(f)(1) A person applying for a temporary demonstration license
to appear as a guest artist shall provide documentation of licensure as an

artist in another state or country or employment history in a studio licensed

by the regulatory board or agency in another state or country before the

temporary demonstration license may be granted.

(2) The establishment where the guest artist is appearing shall
have a licensed body artist on its staff.

(3) A guest artist may be issued a temporary demonstration
license to appear as a guest artist no more than one (1) time every six—(6)

three (3) months.

(g) A fee levied and collected under this section is special revenue

and shall be deposited into the State Treasury, to be credited to the Public

Health Fund to be used exclusively for the Body Art Program of the

department.
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SECTION 3. Arkansas Code Title 20, Chapter 27, Subchapter 15, is
amended to add additional sections to read as follows:

20-27-1510. Critical items for closure of a body art establishment.

(a) (1) The Department of Health shall create and publish a list of

critical items for closure of an establishment.

(2) The department shall list the prohibitions under § 20-27-

1511 as critical items for closure.

(b)(l) An establishment that violates a critical item from the list

established under subsection (a) of this section is subject to immediate

closure by the department.

(2) An establishment closed under subdivision (b)(1l) of this

section shall remain closed until:

(A) Tines or penalties, or both, that are assessed under

this subchapter have been paid; and

(B) Upon inspection by the department, the establishment

is no longer in violation of a critical item.

20-27-1511. Prohibitions.
(a) Body art is prohibited:

(1) On a person who is inebriated or appears to be incapacitated

by the use of alcohol or drugs;

(2) On a person who shows signs of recent intravenous drug use;

(3) On an area with sunburn, open lesions, rashes, or wounds;

(4) With the use of a product or ink banned or restricted by the

United States Food and Drug Administrationj;

(5) In a procedure area that is not physically and permanently

separated from beauty facilities, such as hair and nail services; and

(6) On an animal in a facility licensed for the application of

body art on human beings;

(b) A piercing gun shall be used only to pierce an earlobe.

(c) An person shall not:.

(1) Perform a piercing with a manually loaded spring operated

piercing device;

(2) Pierce an earlobe with a piercing gun that does not use a

pre-sterilized encapsulated stud and clasp system; or

(3)(A) A4n artist shall not use jewelry for initial piercing that
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is not certified by ASTM International or the International Organization for

Standardization, or both, as an implant-grade material except for specified

types of glass, gold, and niobium as approved by the rules established by the

Department of Health.

(B) An artist shall maintain on file for inspection a Mill

Test Certificate confirming certification by ASTM International or the

International Organization for Standardization, or both, for steel and

titanium jewelry for initial piercing.

(d)(1l) A person shall not sell a body piercing needle, tattoo needle,

or body art instrument, or a combination of these, including without

limitation tattoo ink, barrel, drip, and tattoo machine to a person within

this state who is not licensed as an artist by the department.

(2)(A) A violation of subdivision (d)(l) of this section is a

Class A misdemeanor.

(B) Each violation of subdivision (d)(l) of this section

is a separate offense.

(e)(l) Possession of a body piercing needle, tattoo needle, or body

art instrument, or a combination of these, including without limitation

tattoo ink, barrel, drip, and tattoo machine by a person within this state

who is not licensed as an artist by the department is prohibited.

(2)(A) A violation of subdivision (e)(l) of this section is a

Class A misdemeanor.

(B) Each violation of subdivision (e)(l) of this section

is a separate offense.

(f£) A fine collected under this section, less court fees, shall be

allocated as follows:

(1) TFifty percent (50%) to the State of Arkansas;

(2) Twenty-five percent (25%) to the city or county that levied

and collected the fine; and

(3) Twenty-five percent (25%) to be deposited into the State

Treasury, credited to the Public Health Fund, and used exclusively for the

Body Art Program of the department.

20-27-1512. Penalties.

(a) An artist who violates this subchapter or rules adopted by the

State Board of Health pertaining to body art commits a misdemeanor punishable
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by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) and not more than
five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each offense.

(b) After notice of a violation has been given, each violation of this

subchapter constitutes a separate offense unless another penalty is

specifically provided in this subchapter.

/s/Irvin

APPROVED: 04/04/2013
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