

Arkansas Department of Health

Social Work Licensing Board 5800 West 10th, Suite 100, Little Rock, AR 72204 * (501) 372-5071 * Fax (501) 372-6301 Mailing Address: P. O. Box 251965, Little Rock, AR 72225 <u>swlb@arkansas.gov</u> * <u>http://www.arkansas.gov/swlb/</u> Governor Sarah Huckabee Sanders Renee Mallory, RN, BSN Secretary of Health Kristen Allen, Director

APPLY FOR LICENSURE ONLINE: www.arkansas.gov/swlb

PURPOSE: The purpose of the Social Work Licensing Law (A.C.A. 17-103-301 et seq.) is to protect the public by setting standards of qualification, training, and experience for those who seek to represent themselves to the public as social workers and by promoting high standards of professional performance.

PROHIBITIONS: Beginning June 17, 1982, no individual shall practice or offer to practice social work unless he/she is duly licensed or is a student under the provisions of A.C.A. 17-103-301 et seq. or otherwise exempt. Beginning June 17, 1982, no individual may engage in private independent practice or social work consultation unless that person is licensed as a Licensed Certified Social Worker.

LEVELS AND QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE:

Licensed Social Worker (LSW) - requires (1) a baccalaureate degree in social work from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited program or a social work degree awarded prior to June 17, 1986, by an accredited institution; and (2) passage of an examination.

Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW) - requires (1) a master's degree in social work from a CSWE accredited program; and (2) passage of an examination.

Licensed Certified Social Worker (LCSW) - requires (1) a master's degree in social work from a CSWE accredited program; (2) Documentation of Supervision which includes two-years of supervision under an LCSW, 4,000 hours in a LMSW clinical position with 100 direct supervision hours; and (3) passage of an examination.

APPLICATION PROCEDURES: You may apply for license online or you may print and mail in the application. For applications mailed in, each item must be completed. Items which do not apply to your situation should be noted "N/A". Attach a check or money order in the amount of \$5.00 made payable to the Arkansas Social Work Licensing Board. Mail the completed application to:

Social Work Licensing Board P.O. Box 251965, Little Rock, AR 72225.

Supervision: An applicant who is applying for LCSW licensure must have completed the LCSW supervision evaluation form verifying two-years (24 full months), 4,000 hours worked in a clinical position while under supervision and have received 100 hours of weekly supervision.

Action on the Application will be taken after receipt of all required information. The applicant will be notified by mail of the action taken by the board. If approved, the applicant will be notified of his/her eligibility to take the examination. If the board determines that the applicant has not met all the requirements and the application is denied, the applicant may request a hearing before the board.

approved application is valid for one year or three attempts to pass the examination, whichever comes first.

PROVISIONAL LICENSE: An applicant who applies for LSW or LMSW licensure will be issued a provisional license when his/her application is approved. A provisional license will be issued one time per person and will expire exactly one-year from the date of issuance. Act 791 prohibits provisional licensing at the LCSW level.

<u>CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK</u>: All applicants for social work licensure must apply for a criminal background check and the results must be received prior to being issued a provisional license, license through endorsement, or approval to take the exam. A current and valid application for licensure must be on file prior to criminal background checks being processed. Instructions will be sent for the background process once your application and fee have been received by the Board. You must use the forms provided by the Board.

EXAMINATION: The social work examination is offered Monday through Saturday. After an application is approved, the applicant will be mailed a letter of eligibility with a link to the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) website for the candidate handbook and instructions for registering for the exam. The handbook contains general information about the examination, the registration process, and an order form for a study guide.

Exam Fee: The current fee for the examination can be found at <u>www.aswb.org</u>.

Exam Results: An applicant will receive an unofficial score report immediately upon completion of the examination. An applicant who fails the examination must wait 90 days before retaking it. ASWB will notify the Board of your official score in 7-14 business days.

ADA: Special accommodations are available for candidates who are disabled. If you need special accommodations, an ADA form must be submitted for approval. You may contact ASWB regarding your request after you have been granted approval to test.

ENDORSEMENT: The Board may approve licensure without examination to an individual who meets all the requirements of the Arkansas Statute and who, at the time of application, is licensed as a social worker by a similar board of another state whose standards are not lower than those required by A.C.A. 17-103-306. Documentation of supervision is required for LCSW licensure. The Board will accept documentation of the hours that met the other state(s) requirement at the time of LCSW licensure if the LCSW has been licensed at the independent level for a minimum of three (3) years.

An applicant, who is applying for licensure through endorsement, should complete page one of the licensure verification form and forward a copy to each state in which he/she holds or has held a social work license, certification, or registration. You must request an examination score transfer from the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB). You may contact ASWB by calling 800-225-6880 or by email at info@aswb.org. All the requested information must be submitted even though an applicant is requesting licensure through endorsement.

APPLY FOR LICENSURE ONLINE: <u>www.arkansas.gov/swlb</u>

Revised 03/2024

Application Checklist

Licensed Social Worker (LSW)

- Application and \$5 fee (\$10.50 if applying online.) Please note "N/A" to items that do not apply to your situation. Money Orders or Checks should be made payable to the Social Work Licensing Board. Your application must be on file before we can begin your background check process.
- Background Check Forms. Once the Board has received your completed application for licensure, we will send you instructions for processing your background check. The board must have the results of the background check before the board will consider approval of your application.
- ____ Official Transcript showing a baccalaureate degree in social work from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited program or a social work degree awarded prior to June 17, 1986, by an accredited institution.

Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW)

- Application and \$5 fee (\$10.50 if applying online.) Please note "N/A" to items that do not apply to your situation. Money Orders or Checks should be made payable to the Social Work Licensing Board. Your application must be on file before we can begin your background check process.
- ____ Background Check Forms. Once the Board has received your completed application for licensure, we will send you instructions for processing your background check. The board must have the results of the background check before the board will consider *approval* of your application.
- ____ Official Transcript showing a master's degree in social work from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited program or a social work degree awarded prior to June 17, 1986, by an accredited institution.

Licensed Certified Social Worker (LCSW)

- Application and \$5 fee (\$10.50 if applying online.) Please note "N/A" to items that do not apply to your situation. Money Orders or Checks should be made payable to the Social Work Licensing Board. Your application must be on file before we can begin your background check process.
- Background Check Forms. Once the Board has received your completed application for licensure, we will send you instructions for processing your background check. The board must have the results of the background check before the board will consider approval of your application.
- Official Transcript showing a master's degree in social work from a Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) accredited program or a social work degree awarded prior to June 17, 1986, by an accredited institution. (Currently licensed Arkansas LMSW's do not need to submit a new transcript).
- _____ Documentation of Supervision under an LCSW which includes two-years of supervision (24 full months), 4,000 hours worked in a LMSW clinical position with 100 direct supervision hours. Can be documented on our Supervision Evaluation Form or another state's form.

Endorsement

- Applicants applying for endorsement (reciprocity) must complete each of the items listed above for the level in which they are making application. Verification of licensure in another state form must be completed by the applicant and mailed to each state, providence or jurisdiction in which they are currently licensed or have previously been licensed. The other state board(s) will complete and mail/ email the form to the Arkansas Board. Please call your board before mailing them the form. They may have a fee.
- Applicant must have taken and passed the Association of Social Work Board (ASWB) examination for the level of licensure for which they are applying. Please request an Official Score Report from ASWB (<u>www.aswb.org</u>) Exceptions will be reviewed on an individual basis if another exam was accepted for licensure.
- Applicants for the independent practice level (LCSW) must submit documentation of the supervision required for their license at the independent level. (Exception may apply to the 4,000 hours and 24 months if licensed independently at least 3 years.)

PLEASE NOTE – <u>ALL</u> APPLICANTS: If you are currently licensed or have ever been licensed, certified or registered as a social worker in any other state, providence or jurisdiction you must complete the Verification of Licensure in Another State form.