Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Continuing Education Procedures

I. Continuing Education Requirements:

CEU = continuing education unit. One unit is defined as 10 contact hours of an accredited course or program. A contact hour is equal to actual time in a seminar or workshop.

According to the Arkansas Physical Therapy Practice Act, physical therapists must complete, in each biennium (two-year period), two (2) CEUs (20 hours) and physical therapist assistants are required to complete, in each biennium, one (1) CEU (10 hours). This must be obtained within the 24-months preceding the odd-numbered year renewal. A passing score on the jurisprudence exam is part of continuing education and is required in the same period as continuing education.

The accumulation period for licensees issued in 2023 and 2024 begins January 1, 2025 for the 2027 renewal.

The limit for online continuing education is 50%. The jurisprudence exam counts as 1 online hour.

II. Jurisprudence Exam:

A passing score on the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy Jurisprudence Exam is required for initial licensure and for license renewal. The exam counts as 1 hour of continuing education. The exam is required for every odd-numbered year renewal as part of continuing education and must be taken between January 1, 2023 and December 31, 2024.

The exam consists of 20 questions from the Practice Act and the Rules and Regulations. The Practice Act and Rules and Regulations are available to be printed from the Board's website and can be referenced during the exam. The passing score is 70%. The score is available at the end of the exam along with a printable certificate. One hour of continuing education credit will be given. Proof of completion and is not required to be submitted by the licensee to the Board.

The jurisprudence exam fee is \$10.00 payable by credit card or e-check at the time the exam is taken. The exam is administered on the ARPTB website at www.arptb.org. To register for the exam, log on to the website, click the "online services" menu button, click "online jurisprudence exam" and enter your license number, date of birth and e-mail address. A user I.D., password and link will be emailed to you.

III. Content of CEU Programs/College Courses for CEUs:

Board Rule requires that CEU approved programs and college courses must be in the area of clinical application, clinical management, behavioral science, science or scientific research.

An article, or research which has been published within the two-year cycle, may be submitted to the Board for consideration of up to one-half of the biennium CEU requirement. This request, along with the publication, must be mailed to the board office. The article or research will be approved by the Board on an individual basis.

One contact hour will be allowed for each 40 hours of verified direct continuous supervision of a PT/PTA student from a CAPTE accredited program or verified mentoring/supervision within an accredited physical therapy residency or fellowship program. The maximum credit for a PT is 5 hours and the maximum credit for a PTA is 2.5 hours in the current two year accumulation period.

IV. Continuing Education Audits

Beginning with the January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2024 accumulation period, licensees will keep a record of their continuing education and submit to the Board if they are selected for an audit. For the renewal due by March 1, 2025, all licensees shall certify by attestation, under oath and under penalty of perjury, that the licensee completed the required continuing education, and that the continuing education obtained meets the acceptable continuing education criteria specified.

After each odd-numbered year renewal, the Board office shall randomly select 10% of licensees for an audit of continuing education requirements. Licensees that are selected for audit will be notified and given twenty (20) days to submit proof of continuing education for the previous biennium. If the licensee has a CE Broker account, the board office will download continuing education from the account if the licensee notifies the board office.

Each licensee is responsible for maintaining proof of continuing education courses for a minimum of four years from the date of completion of the course. Copies of such proof shall be submitted to the Board upon request. Such proof shall include:

- (1) date, place, course title, schedule, presenter(s), etc.,
- (2) number of contact hours for the activity,
- (3) certificate of completion, transcript, or grade report.

V. Failure to Comply

A licensee who fails to comply with continuing education requirements may be subject to disciplinary action.