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0 SMOKING

Arkansas Protection from

Secondhand Smoke for WITH KIDS
Children Act IN THE c AR

Act 811 of 2011




Arkansas was the first state in the nation
to implement a law protecting children
from secondhand smoke in vehicies.




Others soon followed Arkansas' example:

e California ¢ Louisiana ¢ Maine °
Rockland County in New York ¢ Keyport, New Jersey
South Africa ¢ Puerto Rico * Most provinces in Canada




Their laws were similar but often stronger:

e Protection for children
under 12to 18

e Penalties of up to $2,000
per violation




Arkansas' law originally passed in
2006 as Act 13.

Don t Iock your child in a gas. chambé{

Smoking ina car'wi.__th a child under 6 years and 60 p'oﬁu::nds is 5gaih5t the law.




Act 13 of 2006 only protected
children under 6 and weighing
less than 60 pounds.




The law was amended

in 2011 to now include
children under 14.




Violators are fined $25.




First-time offenders can avoid a
fine by proving enroliment in a
program to quit smoking.
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There is no safe level of exposure
to secondhand smoke.




Cigarette smoke contains more than
7,000 chemicals and compounds.

Hundreds are toxic.
At least 69 cause cancer.




Children exposed to secondhand
smoke are at increased risk for:

*Sudden Infant Death Syndrome
e Lower respiratory infections

e Other respiratory symptoms

* Middle ear disease

* More severe asthma

*Slowed lung growth




Children are especially vulnerable to
health effects of secondhand smoke
because of developlng resplratory,




IN ARKANSAS
470 PEOPLE

DIE EACH YEAR
=SECONDHAND
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Almost 60 percent of U.S.
children (ages 3-11) are exposed
to secondhand smoke.
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Secondhand smoke in cars can
exceed that in homes and bars by

10-100 times.




Smoke can stay trapped in cars,
even with open windows.
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In a car, one burning cigaretie can
equal hazard levels in the vincinity of

forest fires.
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Arkansas students who rode in a car
with someone smoking one or more
cigarettes in the past seven days:

* Middle school - 55.8% (in 2000)
down to 36.6% (in 2010)

* High school - 64.4% (in 2000)
down to 48.2% (in 2010)




e

13% OF ARKANSAS

adults would support a stronger law,
protecting all children under 18 from

secondhand smoke in a car.




What can you do?

*Don't smoke in the car

*Don't let kids ride in smoke-filled cars
* Educate others about the danger

* Educate others about the law

e Call 1-800-QUIT-NOW




For more information, visit

stampoutsmoking.com or healthy.arkansas.gov




smoKke-free Carsy
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NO SMOKING

WITH KIDS
IN THE CAR




Press Conference to Celebrate
Smoke-free Air & Cars

5t anniversary of Acts 8 and 13 of 2006
New: Act 811 of 2011

*\Wednesday, July 27, 2011

*Arkansas State Capital, 2" Floor Rotunda
oLittle Rock at 10 a.m.

* Reception thereafter

*RSVP by 7/20: kdonald@arfreshair.com



Mirlam Karanja
Section Chief, Media

STAMP OUT SMOKING
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
1-800-QUIT-NOW




Outline

eResources Available To Educate
Your Community on Smoke-free
Cars

Media Updates for FY12




Statewide Act 811 Media Campaign

Radio Ads:

» Fayetteville, Fort Smith, Hot Springs,
Joneshoro, Little Rock, Texarkana

38 rural radio stations

Billboards:

El Dorado, Ft. Smith, Little Rock, Pine Bluff,
Jonesboro, Hot Springs and Texarkana

Print Ads:

«State Trooper Magazine, Sherrif’s Association
Magazine, Kid’s Directory, El Latino, Stand




Act 811 Materials

PowerPoint presentation
sFact Cards

«Citation Cards

eSample press release
sLetter to the editor
*Talking points

L_etters of support
Posters — Daycares
*Activity sheets — Daycares
Thumb Drive




Update on 2012 Paid
Media Campaigns

1. Act 811: July to September 2011

2. Tobacco Quitline: September to November 2011

3. Youth Prevention: October to December 2011




Update on 2012 Grassroots
Campaigns

. Banners in Schools: July 2011

. Essay Contest: September 2011

. Prevention Campaign: September 2011

. Coloring Contest: January 2012

. Drama Contest: January 2012




Update on 2012
Grassroots Campaigns

. Press Release Placements
. Monthly E-newsletters
. Quarterly E-newsletters

. Annual Progress Report




/ Update on Social Media
Campaigns

1. Redesign: www.stampoutsmoking.com

2. Facebook.com/stampoutsmoking

3. Tweets: ADH Twitter




Sharing of Media
Materials

. All print materials available online

. Logo additions onto print materials

. Sharing of press releases, editorials, letter to the
editors




Launching New Media
Materials

Smokeless Tobacco
PowerPoint Presentation
eTalking Points
sFact Cards

Pregnancy materials
PowerPoint Presentation
*Talking Points

eFact Cards

*Brochure




August 24, 2011
Media Training Workshop

' MAKING AN

IMPACT

. oA
oy A

: ! - 2011 TPCP MEDIA TRAINING WORKSHOP

L

SAVE THE DATE
WED. AUGUST 24

9a.m. to 33[][' m. From press releases to paid advertising, this workshop

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS - will equip advocates and tobacco control partners with

CROWNE PLAZA HOTEL, : the skills needed to maximize media exposure.
JACKSON ROOM

AND IN TURN, MAKE AN EVEN BIGGER IMPACT IN

THE COMMUNITIES THEY SERVE.

ATTENDEES WILL NEED TO REGISTER BY JULY 14 ON SURVEY MONKEY

Tohacco Prevention & Cessation Frogram




Tobacco Control Data

http://Iwww.healthy.arkansas.gov/programsServices/tobaccoprevent/Pages/

default.aspx

v’ Arkansas Tobacco Quitline
v'"Media Resources
v'Data and Reports
v'"News and Events

v'Trainings
v GEMS




Connect with Us

4 Visit Us

WwWW.Stampoutsmoking.com

www.healthyarkansas.gov

www.utube.com/stampoutsmoking
Like Us

swww.facebook.com/stampoutsmoking
Read:

*Subscribe to the quarterly e-newsletter
Tweet Us

*ADHIPO
Contact Us:

Miriam.Karanja@arkansas.gov - 501-661-2362
eJanice.Davis@arkansas.gov - 501-661-2953
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/' Media Breakout Session

STAMP OUT SMOKING
ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
1-800-QUIT-NOW

ention & Cessation Frogra




