
Arkansas’ Milestones in Tobacco  
Prevention and Cessation

Prevention Milestones
TPCP continues to encourage non-tobacco users not to start. 
To prevent the initiation of tobacco use, Arkansas passed Act 180 – The Tobacco Excise Tax. Act 180 
was passed during the 2009 legislative session. This act increased the tax on cigarettes by 56 cents 
per pack. In addition, taxes on other forms of tobacco were increased, thus encouraging Arkansans 
not to pick up this costly and deadly habit. Community partnerships, school programs and events 
continue to help to deliver the tobacco-free message across Arkansas. Youth smoking has decreased 
from 35.8 percent in 2000 to 20.4 percent in 2007. This is approximately 21,500 fewer high school 
students who smoke. The percentage of Arkansas youth attempting to purchase tobacco decreased 
from 21.9 percent in 2001 to 4.8 percent in 2008. While national statistics remain stagnant, Arkansas 
continues to show a decline in youth smoking. The number of youth smokers in Arkansas has 
decreased from 34.7 percent to 20.4 percent.

Cessation Milestones
Arkansas has decreased the number of smokers and tobacco users in 
our state. Since TPCP’s inception in 2002, the percentage of adult smokers in Arkansas dropped 
from 25.1 percent to 20.7 percent, a decrease of more than 92,000. In 2008, a new vendor started 
providing tobacco cessation services to Arkansans. In the first eight months of operation, more than 
21,000 Arkansans who use tobacco called the Arkansas Tobacco Quitline for help stopping their 
tobacco use. 

Policy and Secondhand Smoke Milestones
Arkansas has decreased the number of Arkansans exposed to 
secondhand smoke by passing and enforcing various laws. Act 8 – The 
Clean Indoor Air Act, passed in 2006. Act 8 prohibits smoking in most public places and work places, 
including bars and restaurants. Act 13, also passed in 2006, protects children less than 6 years of 
age or 60 pounds from secondhand smoke while riding in a car. Act 734, Arkansas Clean Air on 
Campus Act, passed during the 2009 legislative session. Act 734 calls for all state-funded campuses 
to become smoke-free by August 1, 2010. Act 697, better known as the “RIP (Reduced Ignition 
Propensity) Cigarettes Act,” requires all cigarettes sold in Arkansas after January 1, 2010 to be made 
of paper that inhibits persistent burning, therefore decreasing a risk of causing a fire.

Disparate Populations Milestones
Arkansas continues to target disparate populations, including 
those with low levels of education and income, ages 18 – 24, ethnic 
minority and those who can’t speak English. Smoking among pregnant women 
has decreased from 18.2 percent in 2000 to 15.7 percent  in 2007. Since 2002, TPCP has partnered 
with the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff to ensure 15 percent of the TPCP funds are used in the 
prevention and cessation of tobacco use among minorities in Arkansas. 


