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FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
 

Change in Arkansas Law Protects More 
Kids from Secondhand Smoke 

 
CITY, Ark. (Month Day, Year) – Effective July 27, an amended Arkansas law will 
protect 78 percent of Arkansas children from secondhand smoke in vehicles – a 
significant increase from the law's previous 34 percent protected.  Act 811 of 2011 
makes it a primary offense to smoke in a vehicle with children under 14, and 
violators can be pulled over and ticketed. 
 
The Arkansas Protection from Secondhand Smoke for Children Act of 2006, also 
known as Act 13, previously protected children under 6 and weighing less than 
60 pounds.  During the 88th General Assembly, Sen. Percy Malone (D-
Arkadelphia) filed a bill to increase the age of protection, and after passing the 
Arkansas Senate and House of Representatives, Governor Mike Beebe signed the 
bill into law on March 30. 
 
"The concentration of secondhand smoke in vehicles can exceed that in homes 
and bars by 10 to 100 times due to their confined space," said [Name, title].  
"Children's developing respiratory, immune and nervous systems are especially 
vulnerable to the dangerous health effects of secondhand smoke, and we are 
thrilled this law will protect more of them." 
 
Children exposed to secondhand smoke are at an increased risk for Sudden 
Infant Death Syndrome, lower respiratory infections, middle ear disease, more 
severe asthma and slowed lung growth.  Cigarette smoke contains hundreds of 
toxic chemicals – at least 69 of which cause cancer, and each year, 470 Arkansans 
die from secondhand smoke. 
 
Even with open windows, smoke can stay trapped in a car, exposing children to 
high levels of particulate pollution.  In a short time, pollution levels from a single 
burning cigarette can build to a hazard level equivalent to the vicinity of an 
outdoor forest fire.  According to the 2008 Adult Tobacco Survey, 73 percent of 
Arkansas adults would support a stronger law that protects all children under 18 
from exposure to secondhand smoke in vehicles. 



 
For more information, call the Arkansas Tobacco Prevention and Cessation 
Program at (501) 661-2953, or to quit smoking call the Arkansas Tobacco Quitline 
at 1-800-QUIT-NOW. 
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