
Stay Safe on Personal Watercrafts
Jet skis and other personal watercrafts (PWC) are a fun way to explore 
Arkansas’ lakes and rivers, as long as safety measures are taken. Keep in 
mind the following tips when riding on PWCs, and remember to always 
follow Arkansas law. 

PWCs Do Not Operate Like Cars or Boats
• Most PWC models do not have brakes. You can only stop by slowing 

down and coasting. 
• You cannot steer when coasting, including turning to miss hitting 

objects or people. 

Have a Safe Ride
• You should be at least 16 years old to drive a PWC.
• Everyone on a PWC should wear a U.S. Coast Guard approved personal 

� otation device. 
• Don’t use alcohol or dugs before or while driving or riding a PWC. 
• Follow speed limits. 
• Don’t operate PWCs at night. 
• Avoid wake jumping. 
• PWCs should not be driven where people are swimming. 
• Have someone at least 12 years of age keep an eye on anyone you’re 

towing behind the PWC.
• Consider wearing safety gear such as helmets, wet suits, gloves, 

footwear, and eye wear (recommended by the Personal Watercraft 
Industry Association). 

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT SAFETY

Arkansas PWC Law
People born in 1986 or later must 
take a training course on boat safety 
before they drive a PWC.  Visit the 
Arkansas Game and Fish Commission 
at www.agfc.com/education/Pages/
EducationBoating.aspx for safety 
course information.

Children ages 12-15 may drive a PWC 
if someone 18 or older is also on the 
craft and is in a position to take control 
of it. 

Children under 12 may drive a PWC, 
but only if someone 21 or older is also 
on the craft and is in a position to take 
control of it. 

Law enforcement can ask for a drug 
test if they believe that the driver of a 
PWC is under the in� uence of drugs 
and/or alcohol. 

For a full explanation of the law, visit 
the Arkansas Game and Fish 
Commission at www.boat-ed.com/
ar/handbook/pdf_index.htm/.

(501) 364-3400 or (866) 611-3445 • www.archildrens.org/injury_prevention

Sources: American Academy of Pediatrics, Arkansas Game and Fish Commission



Manténgase a salvo en 
embarcaciones acuáticas
Motos acuáticas y otras embarcaciones acuáticas personales (PWC 
en inglés) son divertidos para explorar los lagos y los ríos, siempre y cuando 
se observen las medidas de seguridad. Recuerde siempre observar las leyes 
de Arkansas.

Los PWCs no funcionan ni como coches ni botes
• La mayoría de los modelos de PWC no tienen frenos. Usted solamente 

puede detener el vehículo decelerando y deslizando. 

• Usted no puede dirigir mientras está deteniéndose, incluyendo virar 
para evitar chocar contra objetos o personas. 

Tenga un viaje seguro
• Usted debería tener, por lo menos, 16 años de edad para manejar 

un PWC.

• Todas las personas en un PWC deben ponerse un dispositivo de 
� otación personal.

• No consuma ni alcohol ni drogas.

• Observe los límites de velocidad.

• No maneje un PWC por la noche.

• Evite saltar las olas.

• Los PWC no deben ser manejados donde personas estén nadando. 

• Tenga a una persona de por lo menos doce (12) años de edad vigilando 
a alguien detrás del PWC. 

• Es importante llevar, trajes de mar, guantes, calzado y lentes 
recomendados por la Asociación de la Industria de Embarcaciones 
Personales.

SEGURIDAD PERSONAL EN EMBARCACIONES ACUATICAS

La ley de Arkansas
sobre los PWC
Personas nacidas en 1986 o más 
tarde, tienen que tomar un curso de 
adiestramiento en la seguridad de 
embarcaciones antes de manejar 
un PWC. Visite la página de la 
Comisión de Caza y Pesca de Arkansas 
en: www.agfc.com/education/
Pages/EducationBoating.aspx para 
información. 

Niños entre doce (12) y quince (15) 
años de edad pueden manejar un PWC 
si hay alguien de 18 años de edad o 
mayor en la embarcación.

Niños menores de doce (12) años de 
edad pueden manejar un PWC, pero 
si hay alguien de 21 años de edad o 
mayor en la embarcación.

Los elementos de seguridad pueden 
pedir una prueba de drogas.

Para una explicación completa de la 
ley, visite la Comisión de Caza y Pesca 
del estado de Arkansas en:
www.boat-ed.com/ar/handbook/
pdf_index.htm/.
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