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Summeris a season full of beautiful weather, vacations, sports, and other 

enjoyable outdoor activities. Unfortunately, summer also means an increase in injuries. 

There are many ways to prevent the injuries that are most common during the summer 

months, as you and your family enjoy the warm weather. This brochure includes some 

helpful tips and facts to help you have a safe and injury-free summer.
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4     Preventing Summer Injuries 

•	 Act 181 of 2009: “Paul’s Law” is named after 
an Arkansan who was killed in a car crash 
involving a texting driver

	 All drivers are prohibited from text 		
	 messaging 
•	 Act 197 of 2009: Fewer Distractions Mean 		

Safer Driving Act
	 Drivers under 18 may not use cell phones, 	
	 regardless of whether a hands-free 		
	 accessory is employed
	 Drivers who are at least 18 years old 		
	 but under 21 years old must use hands-
	 free attachments while talking on cell 		
	 phones
•	 For more information on the proper use of car 

seats, please contact the Injury Prevention 
Center at Arkansas Children’s Hospital at 
1-866-611-3445 or visit the website at:

      www.archildrens.org/injury_prevention

Vehicles
Mo

tor
Risks
•	 Failure to wear seat belts
•	 Lack of or misuse of child seats/restraints
•	 Driving under the influence of alcohol
•	 Distractions caused by hand held devices 

while driving
•	 Inexperienced drivers
•	 Driving while drowsy

Prevention 
•	 Always use seat belts 
•	 Always use age appropriate car seats and 

child restraints 
•	 Never drive under the influence of alcohol
•	 Never use devices that cause distractions 

(cell phones or other electronics)
•	 Comply with the Graduated Driver License 

law for teens by enforcing driving curfews 
and limiting number of teens in the vehicle

•	 Never drive while drowsy

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 Act 308 of 2009: Primary Seat Belt Law
	 Permits an officer to issue a citation 
	 as a primary stop if the driver or front 	
	 seat passenger is not buckled up 
•	 Act 1776 of 2003: Child Passenger 

Protection Law
	 A child who is less than 6 years old or 	
	 weighs less than 60 pounds shall be 	
	 restrained in a child passenger safety 	
	 seat properly secured to the vehicle

In 2005 the use of seat belts across the United States 
prevented 15,700 fatalities, 350,000 severe injuries, and $67 billion 
in costs related to injuries and deaths sustained from motor vehicle 
crashes.

-National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

In 2007 there were 66,393 
motor vehicle crashes in Arkansas. 
That’s more than 7 crashes per hour.   

-Arkansas State Police

The motor 
vehicle death 
rate by miles 

driven in 
Arkansas is 
42% higher 

than the 
national 
average. 

-National Safety 
Council
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Potential Lives Saved...
297 

every year if the 
Arkansas traffic 

related death rate 
was the same as the 

national rate. 

Health Impact

In 2008, 11,773 
people were killed 
in alcohol-impaired 

driving crashes. That is  
32% of all traffic-related 

deaths in the United States.
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Other Interesting Facts 
•	     In Arkansas, there were 2,450 

hospitalizations due to motor 
vehicle crashes in 2008

•	 In 2008, regular seatbelt 
usage among Arkansans 

was 70% compared to 
83% for the United

States 

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: AR Center for Health Improvement
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drivers
tee

n
Risks
•	 Failure to wear seat belts
•	 Inexperience 
•	 Distraction from passengers and electronic 

devices
•	 Unsupervised night time driving

Prevention 
•	 Always use seat belts
•	 Follow principles of the Graduated Driver 

License, including restricting the numbers 
of passengers, night time driving, and cell 
phone use

•	 Sign a parent-teen driving contract
•	 Practice driving with a licensed adult in a 

variety of conditions (rain, night, snow, and 
icy roads)

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 Act 394 of 2009: Graduated Driver 

License 
	 Drivers with a Hardship or Intermediate 	
	 License are not allowed to drive
  	 between 11pm-4am, unless
	 accompanied by a licensed driver 	
	 at least 21 years old or if driving 		
	 is related to school, work, church 	
	 activities, or in case of an emergency
	 Drivers with a Hardship, Learner’s, or 	
	 Intermediate License are not to use a 	
	 cell phone at any time while driving, 	
	 unless in case of an emergency 
	 Drivers with a Hardship or Intermediate 	
	 License can have only one passenger 	
	 in the car who is under the age of 21, 	
	 unless the passengers are siblings 	
	 or unless there is an adult in the front 	
	 passenger seat who is a licensed 	
	 driver at least 21 years old

	 Hardship license drivers have restrictions 	
	 on unsupervised driving based on their 		
	 hardship qualifications 
•	 Graduated Driver License Steps:
	 Step 1- Learner’s License: Must be at least 	
	 14 years old. Must be accompanied by a 		
	 licensed driver at least 21 years old  
	 Step 2- Intermediate License: Must be 		
	 at least 16 years old. Must already have a 	
	 Learner’s License or have successfully 		
	 completed vision and knowledge 
	 tests. If driver is 16 years old when 		
	 applying for first licensure, licensed adult
	 supervision is required for the first 6 	 	
	 months
	 Step 3- Unrestricted License: Must be
	 at least 18 years old. Must already
 	 have an intermediate license or
 	 successfully completed vision and 		
	 knowledge tests

For more information go to: http://www.nhtsa.gov/
Driving+Safety/Driver+Education/Teen+Drivers/
Teen+Drivers+-+Driver+Education

The first 
1,000-1,500 

miles of 
driving for 

teens are the 
most critical 
because the 
crash risk is 

higher. 
-National Safety 

Council

The 
Arkansas Graduated 
Driver License Law is 

projected to decrease the teen 
driver fatality rate for ages 
16-17 by 20% and save 7 million 

dollars each year!
-arkansas Department of health 
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Potential Lives Saved...
19 

every year if the 
Arkansas teen traffic 

related death rate 
was the same as the 

national rate. 

Health Impact
Crash rates 

increase 4 times 
when 3 or more 

occupants travel with 
16-17 year old drivers 

when compared to 
driving alone.

Other Interesting Facts 
•	 In Arkansas, there were over 
500 hospitalizations of drivers 

aged 15-24 due to motor 
vehicle crashes in 2008

•	 Deaths among teenage 
drivers involved in 

crashes were higher 
between 9pm-11pm

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: Journal of Safety Research

Source: Journal of Safety Research
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Motorcycles

Risks
•	 Not wearing a Federal Motor Vehicle 

Safety Standard (FMVSS) certified helmet 
•	 Driving under the influence of alcohol
•	 Low visibility to vehicle drivers
•	 Reckless driving

Prevention 
•	 Always wear a FMVSS certified helmet 
•	 Always wear proper footwear and abrasive 

resistant clothing 
•	 Complete safety training course 
•	 Never drive under the influence of alcohol
•	 Never drive while drowsy
•	 Always drive a motorcycle with daytime 

running lights or headlights on

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 Act 453 of 1997: Motorcycle Helmet Law 
	 All passengers and operators of 		
	 motorcycles and motor-driven cycles
 	 used upon the public streets and 	
	 highways of this state shall be 		
	 equipped with the following equipment 	
	 under standards set forth by the Office
	 of Motor Vehicle of the State of 		
	 Arkansas: 
	 Protective headgear unless the person 	
	 is twenty-one (21) years of age or 	
	 older
	 Protective glasses, goggles, or 		
	 transparent face shields

Per vehicle 
mile traveled, 
motorcyclists 
are about 35 
times more 

likely than 
passenger car 
occupants to 
die in a traffic 

crash.
-National Highway 

Traffic Safety 
Administration

The first full 
year after repealing 

the Arkansas universal 
use helmet law, 

motorcycle fatalities 
increased by 21%.

-National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration

For more information go to: 
http://www.nhtsa.gov/DOT/NHTSA/Traffic%20Injury%20Control/Articles/Associated%20Files/807709.pdf
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Potential Lives Saved...
30 

every year if the 
Arkansas motorcycle 
traffic related death 

rate was the same as 
the national rate. 

Health Impact

Motorcycle death 
rates for males in 

Arkansas are 4 times 
higher than females.

     Other Interesting Facts 
•	 In Arkansas, hospitalization rates 

from motorcycle crashes have 
more than doubled from 2003-2008

•	 Death rates from motorcycle 
crashes in Arkansas have 
doubled from 2001-2006

•	 Nationally, 41% of motorcycle 
operators who died in a single 

vehicle crash in 2006 had 
blood alcohol content 
levels of 0.08 g/dl or 

higher

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: CDC Wonder

0
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all-terrain vehiclesATV
Risks
•	 Use of an ATV by drivers under the age of 

16 years old
•	 No Department of Transportation approved 

helmet or use of other protective gear while 
riding 

•	 Driving under the influence of alcohol
•	 No hands-on training on the safe use of the 

ATV
•	 More than one rider on a single user ATV
•	 Riding on any paved surfaces such as city 

streets, county roads, and highways
•	 Riding after dark
•	 Three wheeled ATVs

Prevention 
•	 Complete an accredited training courses for 

all operators (classroom and field training) 
•	 Always use a helmet while operating an ATV
•	 Never allow children under the age of 16 

years old to operate an ATV
•	 Always use other protective equipment such 

as goggles, gloves, long sleeved shirt and 
pants, and ankle high boots

•	 Never carry passengers unless the ATV is 
specifically designed for a passenger

•	 Always ride on off-road (unpaved) surfaces
•	 Ride during adequate daylight, potential 

hazards may not be easily detected using 
the ATV headlights

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 State Laws
	 All 3- and 4-wheeled ATVs are required 	
	 to be registered, and the owner shall 	
	 receive one numbered decal to be 	
	 placed on the ATV

	 A person under 12 may not operate an 		
	 ATV unless supervised by a person 18  	   	
             years or older, or on a parent’s land, or with 	
	 the permission of the land owner
	 ATVs may not be used on public streets
 	 or highways, except to cross these roads 	
	 or for farming or hunting to get from one
 	 field to another. An ATV may be used on 		
	 public streets outside city limits to get from 	
	 one trail to another or to private property
•	 For an ATV Safety Rider course please contact 

the ATV Safety Institute at 800-887-2887 or 
a local 4H/Cooperative Extension Agency or 
log-on to: 

      www.uaex.edu

Children under 
the age of 16 
accounted for 
28% of ATV-

related injuries 
in 2008.

-ATVSafety.gov

The ATV is 
designed to use 
the operator’s 
weight as a 

counter balance 
while turning and 

going 
up/down a hill. 

-ATVsafety.org
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Potential Lives Saved...
11 

every year if the 
Arkansas ATV traffic 

related death rate 
was the same as the 

national rate. 

Health Impact
In Arkansas, 

there was a 25% 
increase of ATV crash 
death rates on public 

roadways in traffic from 
2003 through 2006. 

     Other Interesting Facts 
•	 Nationally, there was a 4% increase 

in ATV crash death rates on public 
roadways in traffic from 

2003 through 2006
•	 In 2008, less than 2% of all ATV 

crash victims in Arkansas 
reported helmet use

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: CDC Wonder
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Risks
•	 Minors left unsupervised near water
      (lakes, rivers, or swimming pools) 
•	 Failure to wear life jackets  
•	 Unfenced pools 
•	 Swimming in hazardous water conditions
•	 No CPR training

Prevention 
•	 Install 4-sided fences around swimming 

pools with self locking gates
•	 Always wear life jackets when boating
•	 Always supervise children in/around any 

body of water
•	 Designate a “water watcher”, who is a 

person who agrees to watch the water 
where children are playing at all times 
without being distracted

•	 Learn how to swim

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 The Arkansas Department of Health is 

responsible for the safety regulations of 
public swimming pools, spas, wading 
pools, and waterslides. The guidelines for 
unauthorized entry into the pool area are as 
follows: 

	 The barrier shall not be less than
	 four feet in height. The barrier shall
	 not have spaces greater than four 	
	 inches horizontally. There shall not
	 be more than four inches of space 	
	 between the bottom of the barrier and 	
	 the ground’s surface or the pool deck 
	 The barrier may be any fence, wall, or 	
	 structure which prevents entry except  	
	 through self-closing, self-latching, and 	
	 lockable gates or doors 
•	 For more information regarding swimming pool ordinances please go to: 
       http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/aboutADH/RulesRegs/SwimmingPools.pdf
	

Drowning is 
the second 
leading cause 

of death in 
children aged 

1-4 years old in 
Arkansas.

 -Centers for 
Disease Control 
and Prevention

in 2005, there 

were 3,582 fatal 
unintentional 

drownings in the 

United States. 

that’s about 10 

people a day!
-Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention

swimming
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Potential Lives Saved...
14 

every year if the 
Arkansas drowning 
related death rate 

was the same as the 
national rate. 

Health Impact

Of near drowning 
patients seen in the 

emergency room, 2% will 
have a good outcome, 80% 

may have brain damage, and 
18% will die. 

     Other Interesting Facts 
•	 In Arkansas, children between the 
ages of 1-4 had the highest rate of 
hospitalizations due to drowning 

among all age groups
•	 Infants are most likely to drown in 
the bathtub, toddlers in the home 
swimming pool, and teenage boys 

are most likely to drown in 
lakes and rivers

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: CDC Wonder

Source: CDC Wonder
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Risks
•	 Failure to wear a life jacket 
•	 Improper use or reckless driving of the 

personal watercraft 
•	 Use of alcohol 
•	 Untrained operator is unaware that 

steering is lost when power is not 
maintained

Prevention 
•	 Always wear a US Coast Guard approved 

life jacket
•	 All operators should attend a safety 

training course
•	 Inspect watercraft annually to ensure that it 

is safe and operational
•	 Do not allow children under 16 years old to 

operate a personal watercraft
•	 Never drive watercraft where people are 

swimming

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 Act 693 of 2009: Rachel’s Law is named after 

a central Arkansas teen who died from injuries 
sustained from a personal watercraft crash 

	 Raised the minimum age for operating 		
	 a motorized watercraft from 14 to 
	 16 years old
	 People born in 1986 or later must 		
	 complete a training course on boat
	 safety before they operate a motor 		
	 boat or a personal watercraft
	 Anyone aboard a personal watercraft 		
	 must wear an approved life jacket
•	 For more information about boating safety 

courses please contact Arkansas Game and 
Fish Commission: 1-800-364-4263 or visit their 
website at:  http://www.agfc.com/education/
Pages/EducationBoating.aspx

In the United 
States, 11 

children under 
age 13 lost 
their lives 

while boating 
in 2008.

 
-US Coast Guard 
Boating Accident 

Report

Among  
boating-related 
deaths, 90% 

occurred 
on boats 
where the 

operator had 
not received 

boating safety 
instruction.

-US Coast Guard 
Boating Accident 

Report

watercraft
per

son
al

Health Impact

Source: US Coast Guard-All US
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bicycles

Risks
•	 Failure to wear a helmet
•	 Low visibility to vehicle drivers
•	 Lack of supervision of minors 
•	 More than one person on a single 

passenger bicycle
•	 Not wearing the proper footwear while riding
•	 Performing stunts/jumps

Prevention 
•	 Always use a helmet 
•	 Use hand signals 
•	 Always follow traffic signals 

Bicycle 
helmets can 
reduce head 
injury by as 
much as 85%.
-Centers for 
Disease Control and 
Prevention

93% of 
Arkansas 
high school 
students who 
rode a bicycle 
reported 
never or rarely 
wearing a 
helmet.
-Youth Risk Behavior 
Survey (YRBS)

•	 Always wear bright clothes during the day 
to increase visibility

•	 Always wear reflective clothing at night 
•	 Never build/use jumping ramps
•	 Attach head/tail lights on bicycle 
•	 Attach reflectors on bicycle
•	 Never allow children to ride their bicycle 

at night

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 Use a bicycle helmet that meets the 

standards set by the Consumer Product 
Safety Commission at all times while 
riding

For more information go to:  
http://www.nhtsa.gov/Bicycles

Source: Arkansas Department of Health

Health Impact
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Risks
•	 Permanent blindness, scarring, burns, or 

death due to mishandling of fireworks
•	 Hand and finger injury due to firecrackers
•	 Severe burns due to firecrackers or 

sparklers
•	 House fires ignited by fireworks

Prevention 
•	 Take kids to watch a professional fireworks 

display
•	 Tell children to stay away from fireworks 

and sparklers

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 Federal Law regarding illegal fireworks sale 

and distribution
	 Under the Federal Hazardous 		
	 Substances Act, the U.S. Consumer
 	 Product Safety Commission prohibits 	
	 the sale of the most dangerous types 	
	 of fireworks and the components 	
	 intended to make them. The banned 	
	 fireworks include various large aerial 	
	 devices, M-80s, quarter-sticks, 
	 half-sticks, and other large firecrackers. 	
	 Any firecracker with more than 50 	
	 milligrams of explosive powder and
	 any aerial firework with more than 	

	 130 milligrams of flash powder is 	 	
	 banned under federal law, as are
	 mail order kits and components 			 
	 designed to build these fireworks
For more information go to:  http://www.cdc.gov/
ncipc/factsheets/fworks.htm

In July, 
children 

sustain about 
45% of 

injuries related 
to fireworks.

-Centers for 
Disease Control 
and Prevention

Health Impact

Sparklers burn at more 
than 1,000°F!

-Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

FIREWORKS

Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

-
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Risks
•	 Increase risk of mild brain injury 

(concussion) in high impact sports
•	 Injuries to joints/limbs are increased due to 

overexertion and contact sports 
•	 Over exposure to sun/heat increase risk of 

heat stress and heat stroke
•	 Failure to properly hydrate can cause 

exhaustion and increase risk of              
dehydration

Prevention 
•	 Prevention training for coaches in traumatic 

brain injury, dehydration, and concussion 
management

•	 Always supervise minors in organized 
sports

•	 Always use athletic safety equipment during 
play and ensure it is the right size 

For every 20 
minutes of 
play, kids over 
90 lbs should 
drink 8 oz of 
water.
-Children’s 
Healthcare of Atlanta

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 In the event a player is suspected to have 

a mild traumatic brain injury (concussion): 
	 Remove athlete from play 
	 Ensure athlete is evaluated by an 	
	 appropriate health care professional 
	 Inform athlete’s parents or guardians 	
	 about the known or possible              	
	 concussion and give them the fact 	
	 sheet on concussions 
	 Allow athlete to return to play only 	
	 with permission from an appropriate 	
	 health care professional 
•	 For more information on 

concussions please visit:                                          
http://www.cdc.gov/concussion/sports/

individual & team
sports

Health Impact

Source: National Safety Council
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Risks
•	 Falls
•	 Failure to wear safety equipment 
•	 Faulty equipment 
•	 Snake bites, insect bites and stings
•	 Loss of navigation and/or direction

Prevention 
•	 Always perform safety checks of equipment 

before each use
•	 Complete a safety course on proper 

climbing techniques
•	 Always use appropriate fall protection on 

heights above 15 feet 
•	 If a snake is seen while hiking, back away 

from it slowly and do not touch it
•	 Always apply insect repellent containing 

DEET and check often for ticks
•	 Always travel with a supply kit that 

contains: first aid kit, compass/GPS, map, 
flashlight, blanket, batteries, food, clothes, 
water, and medications

Regulations/Guidelines 
•	 For additional information on popular rock 

climbing sites in Arkansas and safety tips 
please visit: 

	 http://www.arkansas.com/outdoors/
	 Rock-Climbing/
	 http://arkansasclimbers.ning.com/
	 http://www.ouachitarocks.com/		
	 Destinations/destinations.html

People who fell from a height 
over 20 feet were 10 times 

more likely to be hospitalized 
than people who fell from 

20 feet or lower.
-Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Health Impact

and climbing
hik

ing

In the last 5 
years, there 

were 989 
hospitalizations 
from venomous 
spider bites in 

Arkansas.
 

-Arkansas Department
of Health

Source: Arkansas Dept. of Health
*Includes poisonous plants and non-specified venomous animals
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