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Influenza Vaccine Update: 
 
As more H1N1 influenza vaccine continues to arrive in Arkansas, it is now time for vaccine to 
be offered to anyone that would like to have it.  Please offer it to any and everyone that walks 
through your office door.  Should you have too much vaccine, please contact your local health 
unit and work out an arrangement for the vaccine to be returned to them.   
 
Reporting: It is important for you to continue entering your tallies into the database. You will 
need to continue to enter all H1N1 vaccine doses administered, even as we open up vaccine 
administration to the general public. Those of you providing pediatric doses do not have to enter 
the H1N1 vaccine administration into INC. 
 
This “H1N1 influenza season” appears to be waning.  However, let me warn you that usually 
with a pandemic, you have a “second wave” of influenza and those that did not get sick the first 
time may get sick the second time around.  Now is a great time to get everyone vaccinated.  Your 
guess is as good as mine as to whether we will see H1N1 again in January or our usual seasonal 
flu. 
 
The Arkansas Department of Health will be having our second set of mass clinics to offer both 
seasonal and H1N1 vaccine to anyone that wants it starting next week.  It will be a great 
opportunity of making sure your patients <10 years of age get their second H1N1 vaccine and 
those < 9 years of age get their second seasonal influenza vaccine.  To find out the date and time 
of the mass clinic in your county go to:  
http://www.healthyarkansas.com/pdf/Mass%20Flu%20sites%2009.pdf
 
Hospitals: Please think about a way to immunize your new moms and dads with the H1N1 
vaccine since they are in the high risk group and we want to protect our newborns- 6 month age 
groups. 
 
 
New Rabies Law for State 
 
The updated Rabies Control Act has new rules passed by the State Board of Health that allow for 
a longer interval between rabies vaccinations for dogs and cats.  The new rules will become 
effective January 1, 2010. 
 

http://www.healthyarkansas.com/pdf/Mass%20Flu%20sites%2009.pdf
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The updated Rabies Control Act was passed by the Arkansas State Legislature in 2009 (Act 
159). Under the new rules, all dogs and cats four months of age or older will be required to have 
a rabies vaccination given by a licensed veterinarian. Currently no age limit is specified for 
initial vaccinations. Regardless of the age of the animal at initial vaccination, a booster 
vaccination should be administered one year later (as recommended by every licensed vaccine 
currently available).  Following the booster, dogs and cats should be placed on a vaccination 
schedule according to the labeled duration of the vaccine used. Both one- and three-year duration 
vaccines are available.  There is also a four-year vaccine for cats.  
 
If a veterinarian administers a one-year licensed rabies vaccine, the pet will need to be 
revaccinated one year later.  If a three-year vaccine is chosen, the pet will be required to be 
revaccinated three years later.  Pet owners should discuss the options of a one-year or three-year 
vaccine with their veterinarian, with the decision made in the best interest of the pet. 
  
Rabies primarily exists in wildlife.  In Arkansas, the host animals are skunks and bats, but any 
mammal can become infected if bitten by a rabid skunk or bat.  According to Dr. Susan 
Weinstein, State Public Health Veterinarian, the biggest issue for our state is that many pet 
owners do not get their dogs or cats vaccinated at all. Rural dogs and cats, especially those that 
live outdoors, are most commonly exposed to rabid animals in the wild.  These same outdoor 
dogs and cats are also the least likely to be vaccinated.  All dogs and cats should be taken to a 
licensed veterinarian to be vaccinated for rabies. Due to the routine physical contact between 
people and domestic pets, it is especially important to get these pets vaccinated in order to 
reduce rabies exposure to humans.  
For additional information on updates to the new Act 159, go to the Department of Health 
website at www.healthyarkansas.com. To review changes in rabies vaccination requirements in 
the Rules Pertaining to Rabies Control, go to 
http://www.healthyarkansas.com/rules_regs/rabies_2009_draft.pdf
 
ALERT: H1N1 Phishing Scam Email 
Providers: Please be aware of the following and inform your patients that this is not 
sponsored by the CDC or Arkansas Department of Health. 
CDC has received reports of fraudulent emails (phishing) referencing a CDC sponsored State 
Vaccination Program. 

The messages request that users must create a personal H1N1 (swine flu) Vaccination Profile on 
the cdc.gov website. The message then states that anyone that has reached the age of 18 has to 
have his/her personal Vaccination Profile on the cdc.gov site.  

CDC has NOT implemented a state vaccination program requiring registration on www.cdc.gov. 
Users that click on the e-mail are at risk of having malicious code installed on their system. CDC 
reminds users to take the following steps to reduce the risk of being a victim of a phishing attack: 
•Do not follow unsolicited links and do not open or respond to unsolicited email messages. 
•Use caution when visiting un-trusted websites. 
•Use caution when entering personal information online. 
  

http://www.healthyarkansas.com/
http://www.healthyarkansas.com/rules_regs/rabies_2009_draft.pdf
http://www.cdc.gov/
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Please note that the CDC Office of General Council (OGC) has requested the following be 
posted to the 'CDC Hoaxes and Rumors' website located at:  
http://www.cdc.gov/hoaxes_rumors.html. 
  
The Arkansas Dept of Health will be upgrading the software used for the Health Alert Network 
(HAN).  Use of this new system will begin on October 1, 2009.  To ensure you continue to 
receive Dr. Snow’s weekly letter and other important health information you must logon to 
https://health.arkansas.gov/codespearreg, click on “new user information” and fill in the blanks.  
You are required to have an email address.  This email address becomes your logon ID.  Please 
click on the web address and sign up.  We will not be sending faxes after October 1. 
 
If you have any questions please feel free to contact Dr. Sandy Snow at 501-661-2169 or fax to 
501-661-2300 or e-mail to Sandra.snow@arkansas.gov 
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