
APPENDIX C 

RADIATION SAFETY TRAINING PROGRAM 

 

I. Introduction 

Handling and use of portable nuclear gauges is restricted to trained personnel.  A portable 
gauge operator will be an Authorized User--an individual that has completed an approved 
formal radiation safety class and is specifically listed on a Radioactive Material License. 

There are three training components associated with portable gauges.  Authorized User 
Training will be provided to workers who will be independently using the gauges.  Hazardous 
Materials (Hazmat) Employee Training will be provided to any worker associated with the 
packaging and transportation of gauges.  Ancillary Personnel Radiation Awareness Training 
will be provided to all personnel who may handle or work near the gauges (for example, 
vicinity of gauge permanent storage area) during their work.    The training will be conducted 
at the frequency specified in the following table: 

Training Requirement     Frequency of Training 

Authorized User (Operator) Training     Initial; Annual Refresher 

Hazardous Materials (Hazmat) Training       Initial; Refresher every 3 years 

Ancillary Personnel Radiation Awareness Training   Initial; Annual Refresher  

II. Authorized User Training 

A. Portable gauges will be used by individuals that have completed at least 8 hours of 
formal radiation safety training.  Authorized Users will complete a training course 
approved by the Arkansas Department of Health.  Any third party course offered by a 
gauge manufacturer or independent consultant may be used, provided the Department 
approves the training. 

 If in-house radiation safety training is provided, it will be conducted in accordance 
with a training program that has been approved by the Department and incorporated 
into the company’s radiation protection program. 

B. Operating and Emergency (O&E) procedures are a required training topic.  Unless 
training in our company’s O&E procedures is addressed during third party training 
and documentation is provided by the trainer demonstrating its inclusion in the 
course, in-house training in O&E procedures will be provided.  O&E procedures 
training will be conducted by the RSO or another experienced gauge operator, and 
separate documentation of O&E procedures training will be provided for each worker. 

 

 

C. Prior to handling, transporting or operating portable nuclear gauges, all Authorized 
Users will receive the general radiation safety training as required by Paragraph RH-



 

2803, “Instructions to Workers”, of the Rules and Regulations for Control of Sources 
of Ionizing Radiation.  The following instructions will be provided: 

♦ Information on the storage, security, transfer, or use of portable gauges at 
permanent facilities and temporary job sites 

♦ The health effects associated with exposure to radiation or radioactive material 

♦ Precautions and procedures used to minimize exposures 

♦ Applicable provisions of Arkansas’ radiation control regulations and the 
company’s Radioactive Materials License 

♦ Workers’ responsibility to report any unsafe conditions in the workplace 

♦ Appropriate responses to warnings made in the event of incidents having the 
potential to involve radiation exposure 

♦ Reporting requirements for occupational radiation exposures described in 
Paragraph RH-2804, “Notifications and Reports to Individuals”. 

This portion of the training will typically last 2 - 4 hours.  The duration may vary 
based on attendees’ comprehension of the topics covered.  A question and answer 
session will be held at the end of the training period, and attendees will be encouraged 
to request clarification as necessary during the presentation. 

D. Documentation of portable gauge radiation safety training for each Authorized User 
will be maintained on file for inspection purposes. 

III. Hazmat Employee/Driver Training 

A. Radioactive material contained in portable gauges is classified as hazardous material 
by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT).  In accordance with DOT 
regulations (49 CFR Part 172, Subpart H) workers must complete hazmat training 
prior to performing work that directly affects hazardous material transportation safety.  
(Exception: New driver employees can transport for 90 days without the training, 
provided a hazmat-trained employee directly supervises them.)  Refresher training 
must be provided at least once every 3 years. 

B. Hazmat training will include the following: general awareness/familiarization, 
function specific, and safety training.  It will be provided either in-house or by 
qualified third party trainers.  Completion of the Authorized User training can 
satisfy the hazmat training requirement; however, additional documentation is 
required (see below). 

C. Documentation of hazmat training will be maintained for the duration of each 
worker’s employment, plus 90 days, and will include the following information: 

• The employee’s name and date of most recent training completed; 
• Description, copy or location of training materials used; 
• Name and address of the person providing the training; and  
• Certification that the employee has been trained and tested as required. 



 

D. Driver training meeting the requirements of 49 CFR 177.816 must be provided to all 
personnel driving vehicles containing portable gauges, and may be provided 
concurrently with hazmat employee training.   

 

IV.      Ancillary Personnel Radiation Awareness Training 

A.   Ancillary personnel (office personnel, janitorial personnel, non-radiation workers, 
etc.) who may work in the general vicinity of the gauges (for example, the gauge 
permanent and temporary storage areas) will receive hazard awareness training to 
insure that these individuals understand the possible hazards, safety precautions, and 
emergency procedures related to the use and storage of radioactive material.  This 
training is required by the U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration. 

B.   The training will be conducted by the RSO for ancillary personnel at the time of 
employment.  Refresher training for all ancillary personnel will be conducted at least 
annually thereafter. 

C.   The training will last about one hour and personnel will be encouraged to ask 
questions or request additional discussion of any topic covered in the training. 

D.   Documentation of radiation awareness training for ancillary personnel will be 
maintained on file for inspection purposes. 
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