Hope to find you doing well and adjusting to the transition to the Arkansas Department of Health. The Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section is working to modify and enhance processes pertaining to Massage Therapy, with a focus on simplified yet effective and efficient processes for the licensure and regulation of the profession of massage therapy.
Massage Therapy Examination Application and Licensure Process: (Beginning February 2017)
1. Section receives all required documents and fees prior to state law examination(incomplete packets will be returned to applicant along with notification of missing documents):
- Completed Application
- $180.00 Cashier’s Check or Money Order
- Valid Photo ID: Driver’s License, State-issued ID Card, Passport, or US Military ID
- Copy of Social Security Card
- Copy of High School Diploma and/or Transcript, College Diploma and/or Transcript, or GED
- Current TB Test – (Less than a year old) Must be issued by a qualified medical doctor (excluding Chiropractors) on Official Letterhead, Clinic Form, or Health Card
- Massage School Diploma
- Massage School Transcript
- MBLEx or NCBTMB exam Score Report
- Criminal Background Checks
- Verification of Licensure (Out of state applicants)
2. Once all correct and complete documents and fees are received, the applicant will receive an e-mail containing a link and access to the online version of the state law examination.
3. Results will be sent via email to the applicant.
4. If a passing score is not achieved, a Re-Examination Form and payment of $25.00 mailed to the Section will be required before gaining access to online examination for re-testing.
Thank you all for your patience, cooperation and understanding during the transition to the Arkansas Department of Health as the licensing and regulatory agency for Massage Therapy. Please share this information with graduating students or anyone you feel would benefit. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact the Section.