
        
 
 

 
This Candidate Information Bulletin (“CIB”) is intended for your use in preparing for and understanding the processes and procedures 
for applying for licensure and scheduling to exam. The Arkansas Department of Health Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section 
(the “Section”) is responsible for licensing and regulating the profession of cosmetology and massage therapy in the State of Arkansas.   
 
 
How to Apply for Licensure and Examination with the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section: A candidate must legibly 
and accurately submit a completed Application for Licensure form, all required documents and the application and examination fee to 
the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section. NO PARTIAL APPLICATIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED (incomplete application, 
discrepancies, missing documentation, including signatures will result in your documentation being returned to you by mail. All 
information on file with the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section must reflect the eligibility requirements and met by the 
deadline date in order to be scheduled for the next examination date.) 
 
Eligibility Requirements: A candidate who wishes to obtain a Massage Therapy license must pass both the MBLEx or NCBTMB 
and the Arkansas Massage Therapy Law examinations.   
 

• Must be at least 18 years of age;  
• High School Graduate or GED recipient;  
• Medically tested and determined free of infectious tuberculosis (TB);  
• All applicants must submit to a criminal background check with the results sent directly to the Arkansas Department of       

Health Massage Therapy Section from the issuing agency. 
• Complete a massage therapy program of at least 500 hours of in-classroom coursework from a Department-accepted     

massage therapy school or State-approved education institution. 500 hours must meet the state required courses  as set 
forth in Arkansas Code 17-86-306;  

• Applicants who graduated from an accredited school of massage therapy outside of Arkansas must see “Out-of-State                                   
Applicants” for additional information;  

• Pass the MBLEx or NCBTMB and the Arkansas Massage Therapy Law examinations.  
 
Out-of state Applicants – If you hold a current license in a different state, you are required to submit a Criminal Background Check 
from state or states in which you were a resident in or Federal Background Check to include the taking of fingerprints (results must be 
sent to the Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section from the issuing agency);  
 

• Transcripts must provide detailed course descriptions for consideration of transfer of credits;  
• Details of transcripts must be provided by school administrator, director, or other school official;  
• Have the Out of State License Verification form completed by each State Board where you hold or have ever held a 

massage  therapy license;  
• Provide original application  including all supporting documentation;  
• State Law Course Requirements (Checklist)  
• 175 hours of anatomy, physiology, pathology, and contraindications to massage therapy;  
• 225 hours of technique;  
• 25 hours of hydrotherapy, electrotherapy, and heliotherapy;  
• 25 hours of hygiene and infection control;  
• 25 hours of massage therapy law, business management, and professional ethics; and  
• 25 hours of related subjects as approved by the board.  

 
Note: Any questions regarding your eligibility status should be directed to the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section 
(see contact information listed above). If approved, you will receive information from the Cosmetology and Massage 
Therapy Section regarding the examination. 
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Required Documentation for Exam and licensure (Checklist)  
• Completed Application;  
• $180.00  

A. Fees are as follows: 
  Application:        $75.00  
  License Fee:        $80.00 
  Law Exam Fee:  $25.00 
  Total:      $180.00  

•  Copy of  Valid Photo ID: Driver’s License, State-issued ID Card, Passport, or US Military ID;  
• Copy of Social Security Card;  
• Copy of High School Diploma and/or Transcript, College Diploma and/or Transcript, or GED;  
• TB Test – Must be issued by a qualified medical doctor (excluding Chiropractors) on official letterhead, clinic form, or health 

card;  
• Massage School Diploma;  
• Massage School Transcript;  
• MBLEx or NCBTMB exam Score Report; and  
• Criminal Background Check results sent directly to the Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section from the   

issuing agency. 
  
 

 
How to obtain Criminal Background History: 
Apply to the Identification Bureau of the Department of Arkansas State Police for a state and federal criminal 
background check to be conducted by the Identification Bureau and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
 
Arkansas State Police Headquarters: Background Checks  
Arkansas State Police Headquarters  
1 State Police Plaza Drive  
Little Rock, AR 72209  
Website: http://www.asp.state.ar.us/  
501-618-8500 
 
 
 
Special Accommodations: If you need special accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you must make the 
request at the time you submit your Application for the licensure. 
 
 
STATE LAW EXAMINATION:  
The Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section will issue an Admission Notice for the Massage Therapy State Law Examination, 
(via email if applicable; otherwise this Notice will be sent by the United States Postal Service to the address provided on the 
application) for the examination approximately 7-10 days prior to the exam date. If you do not received an admission notice within 
two weeks of application submission, please call the Cosmetology and Massage therapy Section for further instructions. Any 
questions regarding scheduling the exam should be directed to the Cosmetology and massage therapy Section.  

 
Fees: 
Licensure Fee - Fees for examination and licensure shall be paid directly to the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section. Check, 
money order, cashier check and cash are acceptable forms of payment. Credit Cards NOT accepted at this time.  
 
    
 
State Law Examination Admission Requirements: 
You must present your Admission Notice, provided by the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section, along with one form of 
U.S. government issued identification with a photograph and your signature (i.e. driver’s license, resident card, or passport) at the 
examination site(see below) in order to be admitted to the examination room.  The identification must be current, clearly recognizable 
or you may not be admitted to exam. It is your responsibility to be at the examination on time. Candidates will not be permitted into 
the examination room after your scheduled exam time. It is strongly suggested that you visit the site before the day of the examination 
so you are familiar with the route and the travel time. Candidates are not permitted to bring anyone into the examination room. 
Candidates are not permitted to talk to one another once inside the examination room. 
 
 



Exam location for the State Law examination: 
4815 West Markham 
Little Rock, AR 72205 
 
 
 
General Policies and Procedures for Examination: 
 
Security Policies: Suspected security breaches during the examinations, such as an act of impersonation, creating a disturbance, 
giving or receiving unauthorized information or aiding other candidates, attempting to remove exam information by any means, 
possessing prohibited materials or sharing supplies may be sufficient cause for dismissal you from the examination site or to invalidate 
or cancel your scores. Suspected breaches may be identified by observation or suspicion by the staff, or may be evidenced by 
subsequent statistical analysis of examination materials. The Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section reserves the right to 
investigate each incident of misconduct. The Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section will make all final decisions on examination 
score invalidations or cancellations. No visitors, guests or children are allowed in the exam room. 
 
Environmental Distractions: Although every attempt is made to provide a quiet and comfortable exam environment, noise and room 
temperature may be an unforeseen and unavoidable distraction. It is suggested that you wear the type of clothing that would allow you 
to adapt to a cooler or warmer climate at the exam site.  
 
Emergency Policy: In the event of inclement weather or similar emergency, a scheduled examination may be canceled or delayed. 
However, this decision is made only in rare instances and at the discretion of the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section. If the 
office is open for examination, and you choose not to appear for your scheduled examination, your fee will be forfeited. You will have 
to reschedule your appointment and resubmit the appropriate application and fee to the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section. If 
you have reason to question whether or not the office will be closed due to an emergency, please call the Cosmetology and Massage 
Therapy Section to make inquiries regarding the examination. 
 
Refunds and Rescheduling Policies: You may reschedule for the state law examination without losing your fee if you contact 
The Cosmetology and Massage Therapy within three working days prior to your scheduled examination date. If you reschedule after 
the three-day window, you will forfeit your fee. Rescheduling is not permitted for the examination. Unless you are hospitalized or are 
involved in a traffic accident on the way to the examination that prevents you from arriving on time, refunds are not issued nor are 
fees transferable for the examinations. Documentation of the above-noted exceptions is required. 
 
Score Information: The exam will be graded the following work day. No Exams will be graded on the examination day.  
 
Failing Candidates: Failing candidates will receive a score report, as well as information on how to re-examine. If you fail the 
examination, you will file a re-examination form and the required fee, ($25.00) to the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section to 
take the examination again.  
 
Confidentiality: Exams results are confidential and are not provided over the telephone.  Do NOT call the Cosmetology and Massage 
Therapy Section’s office for exam results.   
 
Passing Candidates: When you have passed both the examinations, the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section will 
automatically send you your license. Please be sure to notify the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section of any mailing address 
changes. Please allow the Cosmetology and Massage Therapy Section two weeks to process and mail your license.  
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