
Arkansas Department of Health 
Massage Therapy Section 
4815 West Markham, Slot #8 
Little Rock, AR  72205 
Phone: (501) 683-1448 
Fax: (501) 682-5640 
 

Instructions for Application for Licensure 
 
Qualifications for Licensure 

• Meet qualifications as set forth in ACA §17-86-101 also known as the Arkansas Massage 
Therapy Act; 

• Must be at least 18 years of age; 
• High School Graduate or GED recipient; 
• Medically tested and determined free of infectious tuberculosis (TB); 
• All applicants must submit to a criminal background check with the results sent directly to the 

Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section from the issuing agency – Applicants 
with a history of arrests, sanctions, and/or criminal record must see “Criminal History” section for 
additional information. 

• Complete a massage therapy program of at least 500 hours of in-classroom coursework from a 
Department-accepted massage therapy school or State-approved education institution.  500 hours 
must meet the state required courses as set forth in Arkansas Code 17-86-306; 

• Applicants who graduated from an accredited school of massage therapy outside of Arkansas 
must see “Out-of-State Applicants” for additional information; 

• Pass the MBLEx or NCBTMB and the Arkansas Massage Therapy Law examinations. 
 
Out-of-state Applicants 

• Provide Criminal Background Check from state or states previously resided in or Federal 
Background Check to include the taking of fingerprints (results must be sent to the Arkansas 
Department of Health Massage Therapy Section from the issuing agency); 

• Transcripts must provide detailed course descriptions for consideration of transfer of credits; 
• Details of transcripts must be provided by school administrator, director, or other school official; 
• Have the Out of State License Verification form completed by each State Board where you hold 

or have ever held a massage therapy license; 
• Provide original application plus seven copies of your application including all supporting 

documentation; 
• State Law Course Requirements (Checklist) 

• 175 hours of anatomy, physiology, pathology, and contraindications to massage 
therapy; 

• 225 hours of technique; 
• 25 hours of hydrotherapy, electrotherapy, and heliotherapy; 
• 25 hours of hygiene and infection control; 
• 25 hours of massage therapy law, business management, and professional ethics; and 
• 25 hours of related subjects as approved by the board. 
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Required Documentation (Checklist) 
• Completed Application; 
• $180.00  
• Valid Photo ID:  Driver’s License, State-issued ID Card, Passport, or US Military ID; 
• Copy of Social Security Card; 
• Copy of High School Diploma and/or Transcript, College Diploma and/or Transcript, or GED; 
• TB Test – Must be issued by a qualified medical doctor (excluding Chiropractors) on Official 

Letterhead, Clinic Form, or Health Card; 
• Massage School Diploma; 
• Massage School Transcript; 
• MBLEx or NCBTMB exam Score Report; and 
• Criminal Background Check. 

 
Arkansas State Police Headquarters: Background Checks 

Arkansas State Police Headquarters 
1 State Police Plaza Drive 

Little Rock, AR 72209 
Website: http://www.asp.state.ar.us/ 

501-618-8500 
 
Required Examinations Information: 
 
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) 

• NCBTMB offers two exams for securing your state license in massage;  
• The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) and National 

Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCETMB) Exams; 
• Depending on your area of interest, expertise and the requirements, you may choose to take either 

the NCETM (National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage) or the NCETMB 
(National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork); 

• Both exams--based on your state requirements--may be used to become a licensed massage 
therapist.  

The National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCBTMB) 
Toll Free (NCBTMB): 1-800-296-0664  
Or send an email to: info@ncbtmb.org 

Website: www.ncbtmb.org 
 

Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx) 
• The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB); 
• Applicants must contact the FSMTB directly for MBLEx information or to schedule testing; 
• MBLEx Handbook and Application form are available at www.fsmtb.org; 

The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) 
Toll Free (MBLEx Specific): 866-962-3926      

Fax: 615-846-0153 
Toll Free (FSMTB): 888-703-7682 

Website: www.fsmtb.org     email:  info@fsmtb.org     MBLEx specific email:  mblex@fsmtb.org 
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Arkansas Massage Therapy Law Exam 
• Please contact our office at 501-683-1448 to schedule an appointment for your law exam; 

Arkansas Department of Health 
Massage Therapy Section 

                                                       4815 West Markham 
                                                     Little Rock, AR 72205 

 
Arkansas Department of Health Massage Therapy Section Application Fees  

• Application Fee     $ 75.00 
• License Fee           $ 80.00 
• Law Exam Fee      $ 25.00 

       Total Fees      $ 180.00 
 
*If a re-take of the Arkansas Law Exam is necessary, an additional fee of $25.00 per each re-take 
exam is required prior to re-testing. 

 
• Fees are payable to ADH – Massage Therapy.  

 
• Arkansas Law Exams are administered at the Department on the first and third 

Tuesday of each month. For candidate information bulletins, deadline dates and 
examination dates follow the link: healthy.arkansas.gov/exam 

 
Contact Information 

• Arkansas Department of Health – Massage Therapy Section 
•      Mailing Address:       Physical Address: 

     4815 West Markham, Slot #8     4815 West Markham 
     Little Rock, AR 72205      Little Rock, AR 72205 
     Phone:  501-683-1448      website:  www.healthy.arkansas.gov/cos  
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Arkansas Department of Health 
Massage Therapy Section 
4815 West Markham, Slot #8 
Little Rock, AR  72205 
Phone: (501) 683-1448 
Fax: (501) 682-5640 
 

Application for Licensure 
 
All applicants for licensure must complete this form and submit it with the appropriate documentation and $180 
application fee.  Failure to complete all parts of the application or omission of required documents will delay the review 
and process of your application.  Payment must be made payable to ADH-Massage Therapy. 
 
Personal Information   Please Type or Print Legibly 
Name (First, Middle, Last) 
 

Social Security Number 

Date of Birth Email Address Driver’s License Number & State 

Home Phone Work Phone or Alternate Phone How long at current address 

Physical Address                                                                                     Suite/Apt 

City                                                        State                               Zip                                          County 

Mailing Address (If different than Physical Address)                            Suite/Apt 

City                                                        State                               Zip                                          County 

Disclosure of a social security number by an applicant is mandatory under Ark. Code Ann. §17-
1-104(a) which states: “On and after July 1, 1997, all persons, agencies, boards, commissions, or 
other licensing entities issuing any occupational, professional, or business license pursuant to titles 
2-6, 8, 9, 14, 15, 17, 20, 22, 23, and 27 of the Arkansas Code Annotated shall record the name, 
address, and social security number of each person applying for such a license.” 

 
If you have resided in any State other than Arkansas, please list length of residency and address 

(Attach additional sheets if necessary) 
Previous Address                                                               Suite/Apt         How long at previous address 

City                                                           State                               Zip                                          County 

Previous Address                                                               Suite/Apt         How long at previous address 

City                                                           State                               Zip                                          County 

 
Massage Therapy Training 
School Name Number of In-Classroom Hours Completed 

Address                                                                                  Suite/Apt 

City                                                            State                               Zip                                          County 

Director’s Name Phone Enrollment Date Graduation Date 
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Personal Background - Please Check 
 

• Are you a US Citizen?  If no, list citizenship   _________________________               �   Yes    � No 
• Are you a permanent Arkansas resident?  If no, list city & state 

______________________________________________________________               �   Yes    � No 
• Have you ever been licensed or registered to practice massage therapy in another                

state?  If yes, list dates and locations  ________________________________               �  Yes    �  No 
              ______________________________________________________________ 

• Have you ever worked as a massage therapist without holding a license? If yes, 
list where and briefly explain circumstances  ___________________________             �  Yes    �  No 
_______________________________________________________________ 
 

 
Personal Background/Criminal History – Please Check (attach additional sheets if necessary) 

 
• Have you ever been refused a license of certification to practice massage, or any other    � Yes    � No 

license or certification, or the renewal thereof, in any state or jurisdiction?  
 

• Have you ever been suspended or expelled from Massage Therapy School?                      � Yes    � No 
 

• Have you ever had a license or certification of registration to practice massage therapy 
or any other licensed profession revoked, denied, restricted, suspended or otherwise        �  Yes   � No 
acted against (including probation, fine, reprimand or surrender license) in a disciplinary 
proceeding in any state, federal, or foreign authority; or have you ever surrendered such 
credential to avoid or in connection with such action by such authority? 
 

• Have you ever been convicted of or found guilty of or entered a plea or nolo contendere  � Yes   � No 
to any offense that would constitute a felony or constitute the offense of prostitution,  
either in this state or the United States? 
 

If you answered yes to any of the above questions you must attach complete details as to jurisdiction 
(state & county), offense, disposition, license numbers, dates, and relevant circumstances. 

 
Educational Background (attach additional sheets if necessary) 
School Name Start Date End Date 

Address                                                                            Suite/Apt Total Credits GPA 

City                                                                 State                                    Zip                                               County 

Program Name & Brief Description Diploma, Certificate, Degree Awarded 

School Name Start Date End Date 

Address                                                                           Suite/Apt Total Credits GPA 

City                                                                 State                                    Zip                                               County 

Program Name & Brief Description Diploma, Certificate, Degree Awarded 
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Employment (attach additional sheets if necessary) 
Business Name                                                                                                      Start Date                           End Date 
 
 
Supervisor/Employer’s Name                                                                               Phone 
 
 
Address                                                                    Suite/Apt                              Position/Job Title 
 
 
City                                                                    State                                    Zip                              County 
 
 
Duties/Job Description     

Business Name                                                                                                      Start Date                           End Date 
 
 
Supervisor/Employer’s Name                                                                               Phone 
 
 
Address                                                                    Suite/Apt                              Position/Job Title 
 
 
City                                                                    State                                    Zip                              County 
 
 
Duties/Job Description     
 
 
Business Name                                                                                                      Start Date                           End Date 
 
 
Supervisor/Employer’s Name                                                                               Phone 
 
 
Address                                                                    Suite/Apt                              Position/Job Title 
 
 
City                                                                    State                                    Zip                              County 
 
 
Duties/Job Description     
 
 
Business Name                                                                                                      Start Date                           End Date 
 
 
Supervisor/Employer’s Name                                                                               Phone 
 
 
Address                                                                    Suite/Apt                              Position/Job Title 
 
 
City                                                                    State                                    Zip                              County 
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Duties/Job Description     
 
 
Business Name                                                                                                      Start Date                           End Date 
 
 
Supervisor/Employer’s Name                                                                               Phone 
 
 
Address                                                                    Suite/Apt                              Position/Job Title 
 
 
City                                                                    State                                    Zip                              County 
 
 
Duties/Job Description     
 
 
 
Personal References (Do not list relatives) 
Name Occupation/Job Title Years Known 

 
 

Address                                                                                      Suite/Apt Home Phone 
 
 

City                                                                               State                   Zip Work Phone 
 
 

Name Occupation/Job Title Years Known 
 
 

Address                                                                                      Suite/Apt Home Phone 
 
 

City                                                                               State                   Zip Work Phone 
 
 

Name Occupation/Job Title Years Known 
 
 

Address                                                                                      Suite/Apt Home Phone 
 
 

City                                                                               State                   Zip Work Phone 
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Affidavit of Applicant with Acknowledgment 
(Notarization required) 

 
Applicant 
I declare and affirm that the statements made in this application, and any accompanying 
documents, are true, complete, and correct.  I understand that any false or misleading information 
in, or in connection with, my application may be cause for denial or loss of licensure and may 
result in criminal prosecution. 
 
_____________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 
 
_________________________________________________________ 
Date 
 

Notary 
State of ____________________________________ 
 
County of __________________________________ 

Signed and sworn to before me this ___________ day of ____________________, 20_______ 

By ___________________________________________, who personally appeared before me. 

 

__________________________________________                            (SEAL) 
Notary Public Signature 
 
 
__________________________________________ 
Notary commission expiration date 
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	 The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage (NCETM) and National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCETMB) Exams;

