Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act (CLIA) Program 

< Back to Overview

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I contact CLIA?
How long does it take to get my new certificate.
I did not receive a new certificate and mine has expired.  What happened?
Does a Technical Consultant register with the State Agency?
Where do we mail our check?
Can I get another copy of my certificate?
Can you send me something with my number on it until my certificate arrives?
I paid my bill 3 months ago and I still don't have my certificate.
Do I still receive and pay a CMS bill if I am accredited?
Where can I get a fee list?
How do I terminate my certificate?
Who can bill for the lab tests?
I didn't receive my bill.  Do you have the correct address?
I want to change Lab Directors.  What do I do?
Change of Ownership

 

How do I contact CLIA?

Payments are mailed to: CLIA Laboratory Program, PO box 530882, Atlanta, GA 30353-0882

Arkansas Department of Health mailing address:
Health Facilities Services
Department of Health
5800 W 10th St, Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72204-1704
Phone:  501-661-2201
Fax:  501-280-4930
E-mail: Randal.Pruett@arkansas.gov

How long does it take to get my new certificate.

Typically one month

I did not receive a new certificate and mine has expired.  What happened?

You will receive a bill from CMS in Georgia about 6 months prior to your certificate expiration.  If you do not pay that bill, you will receive a 2nd bill.  If you do not pay that bill, you will receive a 3rd and final bill.  Your certificate is cancelled if you do not pay the bill.

Does a Technical Consultant register with the State Agency?

There is not a Registry for Technical Consultants nor a limit on the number of labs a Consultant can work for.

Where do we mail our check?

A provider has 6 months to pay. They should mail to CLIA Laboratory Program, PO box 530882, Atlanta, GA 30353-0882

Can I get another copy of my certificate?

CMS will issue another copy. BUT, you are allowed only ONE copy for the lifetime of the certificate.

Can you send me something with my number on it until my certificate arrives?

We will let you know what the number is.  We do not have a copy of the certificate.

I paid my bill 3 months ago and I still don't have my certificate.

You will receive your certificate just prior to expiration regardless of when you paid your bill.  The first bill is issued 6 months in advance. 

Do I still receive and pay a CMS bill if I am accredited?

Yes, accreditation does not cancel your financial obligation to CMS.

Where can I get a fee list?

We can send you a fee list.

How do I terminate my certificate?

As soon as you have a date for termination send a written notification to: CLIA, Health Facilities Services, Department of Health, 5800 W 10th St, Suite 400, Little Rock, AR 72204-1704 or Fax 501-280-4930 or e-mail Randal.pruett@arkansas.gov.  We will enter your notification into the system, notify CMS Regional Office and you will receive the applicable refund from CMS.

Who can bill for the lab tests?

For Medicare payment, the lab which performs the test bills for the test.

I didn't receive my bill.  Do you have the correct address?

The bill is always addressed to the Laboratory Director and sent to the physical address, unless you provided a separate mailing address on the application.

I want to change Lab Directors.  What do I do?

Send us the request in writing and provide the credentials for the new Lab Director.  A person may not be the Lab Director for more than 5 labs.

Change of Ownership

Send CMS Form 116, copy of the CLIA certificate and legal documents to Department of Health.