Body Art –Tattoo, Permanent Cosmetics, Body Piercing and Branding 

Tattoo equipmentConsultation with tattoo, permanent cosmetic, body piercing and branding artists regarding new establishments, artist in training program and testing of artists in training; conducts inspects of body art and permanent cosmetic establishments for compliance with regulations; responds to public inquiries or complaints concerning body art and application of permanent cosmetics; reviews products related to the industry; works with the State Board of Private Career Education on development of requirements for training of artists; reviews plans of new or renovation of existing establishments; works with industry on development of legislation and revision of regulations pertaining to body art and permanent cosmetics to reflect compliance with National Environmental Health Association, Center for Disease Control and FDA requirements as well as industry organization recommendations such as the Alliance for Professional Tattooist and the Association of Professional Piercers.

Body art exams for artists in training are administered at the Arkansas Department of Health Central Office, 4815 West Markham Street, Little Rock AR. The exams are given the third Monday of the month, unless Monday is a state holiday and the exams are given the 3rd Tuesday. No exams are given in December. An appointment for the exam is required and must be scheduled by the artist trainer. Exams must be scheduled by 12:00 p.m. on the Friday before the exam.

Body Art Laws and Regulation Information - Downloads

Body Art Rules and Regulations Version Final Signed
Current Body Art Establishments
Medical Waste Transports

Information on Becoming an Arkansas Body Art Artist - Downloads

Body Art Artist Training Letter
Specific Requirement for Tattoo and Body Art Licensure
Current Body Art Training Schools
Body Art License Application  
Qualifications Review-Out of State Artists
Blood Borne Pathogen Courses Online
Application for Qualifications Review for Out of State Body Art Artists
Qualifications Review-Reinstatement Procedures
Application for Qualifications Review for Arkansas Artists

Renewal Information - Downloads

Body Art Fee Schedule

Temporary, Guest or Convention Information – Downloads

Convention - $50.00 Application Fee – Temporary Demonstration License Application 2015
Guest Artist $50.00 Application Fee – Temporary Demonstration License Application 2015


**Please provide contact information in your email response to our Office.
Environmental Health4815 W. Markham Street, Slot 46
Little Rock, AR 72205