Q: Are body art artists and shops licensed in Arkansas?
Answer: Tattoo, permanent cosmetic, and body piercing artists are required to be certified in Arkansas. Certification requirements include a minimum of six-month artist in training program with an artist who has been certified in Arkansas for a minimum of three years. The training facility must be approved by the Board of Private Career Education. An application for apprenticeship must be completed as well as a written exam which is based on the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Permanent Cosmetic and Tattoo Establishments. A practical exam is conducted near the end of the training period. Written and practical exam fee is $50.00 to be paid at the time of the written exam. A complete packet of information pertaining to license requirements is available upon request.
Q: What are the requirements in Arkansas to obtain an artist license for tattooing, body piercing or permanent cosmetics?
Q: What type of sterilization equipment is required for tattoo establishments?
Answer: An approved steam pressure type autoclave and approved autoclave packaging is required.
Q: Are mobile tattoo units approved in Arkansas?
Answer: Mobile tattoo units must meet all the requirements of the Rules and Regulations and provide adequate facilities for storage of liquid waste and a potable water system under pressure. All liquid waste must be discharged into an approve sanitary sewage disposal system.
Q: Is there an annual license fee for body art artists or shops?
Answer: Act 266 of 2003 required a $150 annual shop fee which expires December 31st of each year. This also is required for body piercing shops. It also requires a $100.00 annual artist license fee. Both fees are due by March 1st. If the artist license is not paid by March 1st his/her license is revoked and they must be retested and complete a new artist in training program. Failure to pay shop license by March 1st results in shop closure.
Q: Is body piercing regulated in Arkansas?
Answer: Act 414 of 2001 also addresses body piercing as a form of body art. The Arkansas Department of Health is currently revising the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Permanent Cosmetic Establishments to address specific requirements for body piercing establishments and artists. New Establishments must submit plans and meet current construction and sanitation requirements before opening.
Rules and Regulations