
The requirements to obtain a license as a Tattoo Artist, Permanent Cosmetic Artist, Body Piercer or 

Brander in Arkansas are as follows: 

 

 Complete a 6-24 month artist in training program with an artist/trainer. An artist/trainer is an 

artist who is licensed by the Department of Health in a body art field(s), has worked in a body art 

establishment as an artist  licensed by the Department for five (5) years,  been in compliance with 

the department rules and has completed a blood borne pathogens course approved by the 

Department.  

 

  Each artist in training shall complete at least 375 clock hours of supervised body art work and the 

artist/trainer shall maintain a log of the hours worked by the student.  Log forms required by the 

Board of Private Career Education are provided at the time of the written exam. Additional 

courses of study require 250 clock hours. 

 

 Each artist in training must complete an approved blood borne pathogens course before applying 

for the written examination. The blood borne pathogens course shall be a minimum of two (2) 

hours of instruction.    Approved providers include, but are not limited to: American Red Cross, 

National Safety Council, any nationally recognized body art organization, i.e., APT, APP, SPC, 

any institution of higher learning, approved on-line training or other individual or group approved 

by the Department. 

 

 The artist in training shall successfully complete a written and practical exam. A fifty-dollar 

($50.00) fee shall be paid at the time the application to take the written and practical exam is 

submitted.  The test is given once a month (3
rd

 Monday of each month-except in January and 

February when due to state holidays it is given the 3
rd

 Tuesday.  No tests are given in December) 

The artist/trainer must contact this office to make an appointment for your exam.  You 

must also provide a passport size photo at the time of the written exam.    

 

 Permanent Cosmetic artists in training shall also provide a copy of their high school 

diploma or GED, results of an eye examination for color and normal vision and a health 

evaluation from their physician stating they are free of communicable disease including 

hepatitis, at the time of the written exam. 

 

 

NO ARTIST IN TRAINING PROGRAM CAN BE OFFERED UNLESS THE BODY ART 

ESTABLISHMENT HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF PRIVATE CAREER 

EDUCATION AS A TRAINING FACILITY.    If you have any questions concerning approved 

training establishments contact the Board of Private Career Education at 501-683-8000. 

 

Artists from other states or countries licensed by a regulatory agency in that state or country and 

who have completed a required artist in training program with similar curriculum requirements 

may qualify for review of credentials under Act 596 and the policies of the Arkansas Department of 

Health Body Art Program.   

 

To receive a packet of information concerning Artist in Training requirements or Qualifications 

Review please contact:  

 

BODY ART PROGRAM  

ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

501-661-2171 



 

 


