
 
 
November 1, 2015 
 
Dear Body Art Artist: 
 

 Your Arkansas Body Art artist certification will expire on December 31, 2015.  An Invoice, a 
renewal application form, a list of blood borne pathogen online courses and a return envelope is 
enclosed.  Return the renewal form and blood borne pathogen certificate and pay the $100 
yearly renewal fee no later than December 31, 2015.  After March 1, 2016 you will have to 
re-test to obtain your license and pay an additional $100 penalty fee and we must receive 
the renewal form, blood borne pathogen certificate, and payment.   We MUST have the 
renewal application form back in order to make any changes so that you will receive future 
mailings.  You will not receive an artist certificate until we receive the form.   

 
List of items to be completed and sent to the Arkansas Department of Health by Dec. 31, 2015. 

 Copy of current certification of completion of OSHA bloodborne pathogens training must be 
submitted with your renewal and fees. (see enclosed BBP on line courses list) 

 
 Completed application indicating where you are employed.  Your artist's certificate will be 

sent to the shop.  If you are currently unemployed we still need a current blood borne pathogen 
certificate and the renewal form returned as your file is updated to “unemployed”.  
 

If you are operating an establishment or administering body art after December 31, 2015 without proper 
renewal, your license is expired and you are operating illegally and without a license.  All documents 
(application and blood borne pathogen certificate) and yearly renewal fees are due by December 31, 
2015.   
 
If an employee leaves a shop the artist certificate is to be returned to this office.  The artist must then 
contact this office as to where he/she will be working.  A new certificate stating the name of the shop 
where the certificate is valid will then be forwarded to the shop owner. 

 
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at 501-661-2171. 
 
Sincerely, 

Katie Wirges, R.S 
Katie Wirges, R.S, Environmental Health Specialist 

Rene’ Meints, R.S 
Rene Meints, R.S., Environmental Health Specialist 

Arkansas Department of Health 
 

4815 West Markham Street ● Little Rock, Arkansas 72205-3867 ● Telephone (501) 661-2000 
Governor ASA Hutchinson 

Nathaniel Smith, MD, MPH and State Health Officer 


