
Arkansas Department of Health 

Body Art Program  

QUALIFICATIONS REVIEW FOR  OUT OF STATE ARTISTS 

If the artist has only worked in states where artist licensure is not required 

by a regulatory body, the artist in training program must be completed.  

Contact the Department of Health Body Art Program for further information. 

 A $500.00 non refundable application fee (per Act 596 of 2013) shall be 

submitted with application form. 

 Proof of licensure as an artist by the out of state regulatory agency within 

the last two calendar years.  Copies of the body art laws and regulations of 

the out of state regulatory agency must be submitted with the application. 

 Documentation from the regulatory agency of the state where the artist is 

currently employed or has most recently been employed shall be provided.  

This must include but not limited to information concerning the 

establishment(s) where the artist has been employed, inspection reports 

of establishment(s), length of time employed, and any other 

documentation concerning artist licensure.  The documentation will be 

jointly reviewed by the Board of Private Career Education and the Body Art 

Program Arkansas Department of Health. 

 Documentation of a minimum 6 month artist in training program must be 

submitted with the application or  a letter of reference from the regulatory 

agency where the artist is currently licensed which provides information 

on compliance history, evaluation of knowledge of health and safety 

standards and any record of training completed as required by the agency. 

If your Qualification Review information is approved: 

 Written exam shall be taken during the regular scheduled exams.  A 

passing score is required.  

 Practical exam(s) shall be conducted at a currently licensed body art 

establishment in Arkansas or other testing facility approved by the 

Department.   

 Upon receipt and approval of all qualifications requirements, the artist 

shall be invoiced and submit the $100 annual artist license fee. 


