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PLEASE READ ALL INFORMATION CAREFULLY
Thank you for your interest in becoming a Body Artist in the State of Arkansas.  The Arkansas Department of Health is the regulatory agency for Licensing Body Artists and Body Art Establishments.  Body Art fields include Permanent Cosmetics, Tattooing, Body Piercing, and Branding. 

Study Packet should contain a list of State Board of Private Career Education approved body art training facilities, a Body Artist License Application, ADH Body Art Exam Dates, a copy of Act 596 of 2013 and a copy of the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Permanent Cosmetic and Tattoo Establishments, a study guide for the Body Art Exam, a list of acceptable Body Art Pigments, and a list of Online Blood Borne Pathogens Courses.  
Before being licensed as a Body Artist in Arkansas, the following must be completed in the order listed:
· Contact and be accepted as by an approved Body Art Training Facility
THE REQUIREMENTS FOR TRAINERS AND TRAINING FACILITIES HAVE BEEN REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF PRIVATE CAREER EDUCATION.  NO ARTIST IN TRAINING CAN BE CONDUCTED UNLESS THE BODY ART ESTABLISHMENT HAS BEEN APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF PRIVATE CAREER EDUCATION AS A TRAINING FACILITY.  Please contact, Sara Hill or Brenda Germann (501-683-8000), with questions concerning approved facilities.
· Submit completed Body Artist License Application to:

Arkansas Department of Health


Attention: Body Art Program


4815 West Markham Street, Slot-46


Little Rock, AR 72205-3867

Or Fax:  501-661-2572, Attention: Body Art Program 

Or email: katherine.wirges@arkansas.gov
· The applicant shall successfully complete a Body Art written exam based on the Arkansas Department of Health Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Permanent Cosmetic and Tattoo Establishments prior to beginning training. 
· Before registering for the Body Art exam, the applicant must complete an approved blood borne pathogens course.  The blood borne pathogens course shall be a minimum of two (2) hours of instruction.  Approved providers include, but are not limited to, the American Red Cross, National Safety Council, any nationally recognized body art organization, i.e., APT, APP, SPC, any institution of higher learning, approved on-line training or other individual or group approved by the Department.  Bring proof of completion at the time of the written exam.
· A fifty-dollar ($50.00) fee shall be paid at the time of the written exam.  BE SURE TO BRING EXACT AMOUNT IN CASH, CHECK, OR MONEY ORDER.  The exam is given the 3rd Tuesday of each month, at 2:00 p.m., at the Arkansas Department of Health, 4815 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205, Lab Training Room  #2508.  (No written exam will be given in December).  The Artist/Trainer must contact this office to make an appointment for your exam.  You must also provide a passport size photo at the time of the written exam.   

· Permanent Cosmetic Artist Applicants shall provide a copy of their high school diploma or GED, results of an eye examination for color and normal vision and a health evaluation from their physician stating they are free of communicable disease including hepatitis, at the time of the written exam.
· Upon successfully passing the Body Art exam, complete a 6-24 month Artist In-Training Program with an Artist/Trainer in an approved Body Art Training Facility. An artist/trainer is an artist who is licensed by the Department of Health, has been licensed by the Department as a body art artist for five years in the specified field of body art in which he/she will be training, has worked in a body art establishment licensed by the Department for at least three years, has been in compliance with the department rules and has completed a blood borne pathogens course. 
· The Artist In-Training shall complete at least 375 clock hours of supervised body art work and the Artist/Trainer shall maintain a log of the hours worked by the student during the 6-24 months.  Log forms are provided at the time of the written exam.  
· An Artist In-Training studying multiple fields of body art requires 250 additional clock hours per each field and may be completed in not less than 12 months or more than 24 months.  
· At the end of the training period, the Artist/Trainer shall register, with this Department, the Artist In-Training for the practical exam in their field(s) of study to be performed at the approved training facility.
· Your Body Art License will be issued upon successfully completing the practical exam and this Department receives payment of the annual artist fee of $100.00.  

We wish you good luck with your choices in this exiting and growing industry.  If you would like to review our proposed revisions to the Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Body Art Establishments, please visit our website at www.healthy.arkansas.gov under Proposed Rules and Regulations. 
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call.
Sincerely,

Katie Wirges, R.S., Environmental Health Specialist
René E. Meints, R.S., Senior Environmental Health Protection Program Specialist
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