Drinking Water 

National Secondary Drinking Water Standards

The National Primary Drinking Water Standards are quality standards for public drinking water, promulgated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency under the authority of the Safe Drinking Water Act. There are three types of standards: Primary Standards, which are enforceable health based standards; Secondary Standards, which are non-enforceable aesthetic based standards, and Unregulated Contaminants, which are being studied for possible future regulation.

Secondary Standards

Secondary Contaminants Analysis Method (ADH) Suggested Standard (mg/l)
Aluminum EPA 200.7 0.05-0.2
Chloride EPA 300.0 250

EPA 110.3

15 (CU)
Corrosivity * Non-corrosive
Fluoride EPA 340.2 2.0
Foaming Agents * 0.5
Iron EPA 200.7 0.3
Manganese EPA 200.7 0.05
Odor SMEWW 12ed 3 (TON)
PH EPA 150.1 6.5-8.5
Silver * 0.1
Sulfate EPA 300.0 250
Total Dissolved Solids EPA 160.1 500
Zinc EPA 200.7 5


* = Not routine analytical determination by ADH Lab.

CU = color units

TON = threshold odor number

SMEWW = "Standard Methods For the Examination of Water and Wastewater", APHA-AWWA-WPCF.