Delta States Stroke Network 

The Delta States Stroke Network (DSSN) was founded in 2004, with funding through the Centers for Disease Control (CDC), and was a partnership of five-states working together to increase stroke awareness and enhance the impact of public health in addressing stroke prevention and quality of care. From 2007-2010, the Arkansas Department of Health had the primary role as the coordinating agency to facilitate projects, coordinate interventions, and support the network in achieving its goals.  On June 30, 2010, the funding for the regional state networks was discontinued and the DSSN organizational structure dissolved.  See “Administration and Management” for more information on the organizational structure of the DSSN, including a downloadable copy of the DSSN’s regional strategic plan.

The states represented by the DSSN included Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee.  These five of the eight southeastern states make up the "stroke belt," where the stroke death rate is 1.5 times the national average.   According to 2006 data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, CDC WONDER Online Database, the states of Arkansas, Alabama, Tennessee, Mississippi, and Louisiana rank 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7, respectively, in the stroke death rate in the United States.

Although the DSSN is no longer in existence, the work that was accomplished by the network will continue to guide stroke prevention and treatment initiatives throughout the region.  The reports and tools developed by the DSSN are available on this website.