Marriage and Divorce Records 

Arkansas Vital Records has marriage records dating from January 1917. Marriages occurring before that date are not recorded in this office.

Arkansas Vital Records has divorce records dating from January 1923. Divorces occurring before this date are not recorded in this office.

All Documents are in PDF format unless otherwise noted.

Downloads
Marriage Coupon Application | Word
Divorce Coupon Application | Word

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: What types of marriage and divorce documents are issued?

Answer: Arkansas Vital Records does not have the actual marriage license or divorce decree. If you want a copy of the actual license or decree you must contact the County Clerk or Circuit Clerk office where the marriage or divorce was recorded. Arkansas Vital Records issues a certified copy of the coupon of marriage or divorce in paper form which is accepted by all state and federal government offices.

Q: How much do marriage and divorce records cost?

Answer: The cost of a marriage or divorce coupon is $10.00 for each copy. If no record is found or no copy is made, state law requires that we keep $10.00 for a search fee. You may request a refund of any amount paid over the required $10.00 search fee.

We accept checks or money orders made out to Arkansas Department of Health. Please do not send cash in the mail.

Q: Who may order a marriage or divorce coupon?

Answer: Arkansas Vital Records Statute 20-18-305 does not allow Arkansas Vital Records to release marriage and divorce coupons to the general public. (The County Clerks office where the event was recorded may operate under different rules.) The Vital Records Statute does permit the Division to release to specific persons who are related to the registrant and to their designated representatives, to academic research groups, and to persons who can demonstrate a right to the record.

Q: What information must I provide with the marriage application?

Answer:

  • Government issued photo identification
  • The full name of the groom
  • The full name of the bride, to include her maiden name
  • The marriage date
  • The county in which the license was issued
  • The requester’s relationship to the parties named on the marriage certificate
  • The requester’s reason for requesting the certificate
  • A check or money order payable to Arkansas Department of Health

Q: What information must I provide with the divorce application?

Answer:

  • Government issued photo identification
  • The full name of the husband
  • The full name of the wife, to include her maiden name
  • The date of divorce or dismissal
  • The county in which the divorce was granted or dismissed
  • The requester’s relationship to the parties named on the divorce certificate
  • The requester’s reason for requesting the certificate
  • A check or money order payable to the Arkansas Department of Health