Patient Seeking ID Card
In order to qualify for a registry card to legally purchase medical marijuana, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Be 18 years of age or older or be a minor patient with parental consent.
- Be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition – click here to see a list of qualifying medical conditions.
- Have the official written certification from a physician.
- Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency. (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card).
- State law prohibits members of Arkansas National Guard and United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card.
Steps to Get Started and Items Needed
Step 1 – Physician Written Certification Form
The first step to getting a medical marijuana registry card in Arkansas is to meet with your physician about medical marijuana. Your physician must be licensed to practice in Arkansas and have a current DEA number. If your physician agrees to complete the Physician Certification Form, you will upload it with your patient application or mail it with your application depending on which method you choose. The Physician Written Certification expires 30 days from the date it was signed by the physician. You must upload or mail the form with your application before it expires. If you allow a physician certification form to expire, the certification becomes invalid and you will no longer be able to use it with your registry application.
Click here to download the Physician Written Certification Form
Step 2 – Fill Out the Patient Application
Complete the patient application in its entirety. Name and address must match what is listed on the state ID provided. Click here to apply online.
If you will require a caregiver, ensure that the caregiver completes a caregiver application.
For more information on how to apply online click here.
Step 3 – Pay the Application Fee (nonrefundable)
The fee is $50 and is non-refundable for all who apply. If you apply online, there will be a section for payment options. If you are mailing your application, please include a check or money order for $50, payable to the Arkansas Department of Health.
Note: Cash payments will not be accepted.
Step 4 – Submit Proof of Age and Identity
You must upload a copy of your Arkansas issued driver's license or ID with your application. If you're mailing in your application, send in a photocopy of your Arkansas issued driver's license or state ID with your application.
Step 5 - Submit Physician's Written Certification
You must upload a copy of your Physician's Written Certification form with your application. If you're mailing in your application, send a photocopy of your Physician's Written Certification form with your application.
|Physician Written Certification Form|
|Criminal History Review Application|
Not sure if you qualify for medical marijuana? How long will it take for your application to be processed and/or approved? Be sure to check out these Frequently Asked Questions prepared by the Arkansas Department of Health. You can also go to the State of Arkansas website for more information.
If you are mailing your application, please send to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Medical Marijuana Section
4815 West Markham Slot 50
Little Rock, AR 72205