Healthy Communities

Licensing Information for Radiologic Technology

The Consumer-Patient Radiation Health and Safety Act, Act 1071 of 1999, requires that individuals who use radioactive materials or medical equipment emitting or detecting ionizing radiation on human beings for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes be licensed to do so.

Types of Licenses

Examination

The Radiologic Technology Licensure Program is currently contracting with the ARRT for their Limited Scope Examination for State Purposes. This is not the same examination that Registered Radiologic Technologists take for their national registry. This is the national examination that is the standard for almost every state with a State Licensure Program. The examination is given at all Pearson Professional Centers across the United States. Pearson Professional Centers in Arkansas are located in Little Rock, Fort Smith, and Texarkana.

Reciprocity

The Arkansas State Board of Health may grant a license without examination to an applicant meeting all the requirements for licensure in Arkansas and who, at the time of application, is currently licensed by another state whose standards are not lower than those in Arkansas. The states currently on our reciprocity list are as follows: Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Tennessee, Texas, and West Virginia.

Fees

The license fee is $45.00 for one category. The license fee for more than one category is $65.00. This fee is non-refundable.

The Limited Scope Examination fee is $125.00. The examination fee will be charged each time the examination is taken. This fee is non-refundable.

The late fee will be 50% of the license fee. The late fee will be accrued on the expiration date of the license. This fee is non-refundable.

Resources

Public Health Accrediation Board
Arkansas Department of Health
© 2017 Arkansas Department of Health. All Rights Reserved. | www.healthy.arkansas.gov
4815 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72205-3867 | 1-800-462-0599