Caregiver Seeking ID Card
In order to qualify for a designated caregiver registry card to legally purchase medical marijuana for a qualified patient, you must meet the following qualifications:
- Be 21 years of age or older or be a parent or a minor patient.
- Have not been convicted of an excluded felony offense.
- Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency. (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card).
- State law prohibits members of Arkansas National Guard and United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card.
Note: Parents or legal guardians of a minor with a qualifying condition are not required to complete Criminal History Check. Parent or guardian will still register as a caregiver and pay the registry card application fee.
Steps to Get Started
Step 1 – Complete the Designated Caregiver Application
Complete the designated caregiver application in its entirety. Name and address must match what is listed on the state ID provided. Click here to apply online. If you plan to be a designated caregiver for multiple patients, you must complete an application for each patient. For more information on how to apply online click here.
Step 2 – Physician Certification Form
The patient is required to have a signed Physician Certification form that states he/she has a qualifying condition and is physically disabled or a minor. You will upload a copy of the physician certification on the designated caregiver application site or mail it with your application depending on which method you choose.
Click here to download the Physician Certification form.
Step 3 – Proof of Age and Identity
You must also upload or send in a photocopy of your Arkansas issued driver's license or state ID.
Step 4 – Criminal History Check
Pay a $37 fee.
Call Toll Free 1-833-214-8619 to request a Criminal History Review Application and finger print card.
Note: Parents or legal guardians of a qualified minor are not required to complete Criminal History Check. A Parent or guardian is required to register as a caregiver and pay the registry card application fee.
Step 5 – Pay the Application Fee
The caregiver registry identification card is $50 and is non-refundable for each application submitted. If you apply online, there will be a section for payment options. If you are mailing your application, please include a check for $50, payable to the Arkansas Department of Health. If you plan to be a designated caregiver for multiple patients, you must pay $50 for each application.
|Criminal History Review Application|
Not sure if you qualify to be a designated caregiver? How long will it take for your application to be processed and/or approved? Be sure to check out these Frequently Asked Questions prepared by the Arkansas Department of Health. You can also go to the State of Arkansas website for more information.
If you are mailing your application, please send to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Medical Marijuana Section
4815 West Markham Slot 50
Little Rock, AR 72205