Healthy Communities

Breastfeeding FAQ

Breastfeeding Frequently Asked Questionsimage of woman with baby

 

Q: How do I know if my baby is getting enough milk?

Answer: You will know your breastfed baby is getting enough of your milk when you see 6 or more wet diapers and 2 or more dirty diapers each day for the first 3 days (72 hours) after delivery. You should see your baby return to birth weight by 2 weeks and gain 1-2 pounds a month for the next few months. It is normal for your baby to eat very often in the beginning, and you should be able to hear your baby swallowing breastmilk during the feeding--a good sign that milk is going into the baby.  If you have any concerns about weight gain, consult with your baby’s doctor.

How To Know My Baby Is Getting Enough Milk - English | Spanish

 

Q: How long should I breastfeed my baby?

Answer: Any amount of breastfeeding is great! Ideally, breastfeeding would continue throughout the first year of life. However, the nutritional and psychological benefits continue beyond the first year. It is up to each mother to decide when to wean. And just remember…..all new moms and babies experience days that are easy and days that are not, so feel free to call the Arkansas Breastfeeding Helpline (1-800-445-6175) any time.

 

Q: Why should I breastfeed?

Answer:  Breastfeeding is good for you and your baby!

 

Q: Does breastfeeding hurt?

Answer:  Soreness or pain are not a normal part of breastfeeding. Pain with breastfeeding should be addressed right away.

Sore Nipples During Breastfeeding - English | Spanish

 

Q: If I am returning to work or school, can I still breastfeed?

Answer: Yes, you can! The best preparation is to establish a good milk supply before you have to return to work or school. Breastfeed your baby often, and if possible, wait to add any feedings from a bottle until your baby is 3 or 4 weeks.

Once the bottle is introduced, continue to give your baby one bottle a day. This bottle could be filled with pumped breastmilk or formula, and the amount could be as little as one ounce. Babies love to feed directly from their mother, so you may need someone else other than you to give the bottle. If you feed your baby with a bottle, try holding your baby in a different way than how you hold when breastfeeding.

Talk with your supervisor about your plans to breastfeed and ask about private areas where you can comfortably express milk.

About 2 weeks before you return to work or school, begin practicing like you have already returned. For example, if you plan to pump at work at noon, begin pumping at home at that time. Give your baby the pumped milk by bottle.

Cold Facts on Storing Breastmilk - English | Spanish

You can also find additional information at the following link: https://www.womenshealth.gov/breastfeeding/going-back-to-work/index.html.

Don’t forget to check out Federal and State Laws that support breastfeeding!

Public Health Accrediation Board
Arkansas Department of Health
© 2017 Arkansas Department of Health. All Rights Reserved. | www.healthy.arkansas.gov
4815 W. Markham, Little Rock, AR 72205-3867 | 1-800-462-0599