
RULES AND REGULATIONS 
 

PERTAINING 
 

TO 
 

PLUMBERS LICENSE FEE, EXPIRATION, RENEWAL, 
 

JOURNEYMAN, AND MASTER PLUMBER QUALIFICATIONS 
 
 
 

SECTION I  AUTHORITY 
 
 The following Amendment to the Arkansas State Plumbing Code is duly adopted and 
promulgated by the Arkansas State Board of Health pursuant to the authority expressly conferred by 
the laws of the State of Arkansas in Act 200 of 1951, as amended by Act 372 of 1957, Act 555 of 
1963, Act of 1973, Act 902 of 1975, Act 816 of 1987, Acts 330 & 1293 of 1991 and Act 1217 of 2003. 
 
SECTION II.  PURPOSE 
 
 The Board, by regulation and after public hearing, may set reasonable license or examination 
fee for all licenses called for under Act 200 of 1951 as amended including, but not limited to Master 
Plumber Licenses, Journeyman Plumber License, Apprentice Plumber License registration, 
Restricted Plumber License and Plumber and/or Gas Inspector Certification. 
 
SECTION III.  DEFINITIONS 
 

(a) The State Board means the Arkansas Board of Health. 
 

(b) The Department means the Plumbing and Natural Gas Section of the Arkansas 
Department of Health. 

 
(c) Administrative Authority means the individual official, board, Department or agency 

established and authorized by the state, county, city or other political subdivision to 
administer and enforce the provisions of Act 200 of 1951 as adopted or amended. 

 
(d) Journeyman Plumber means any person other than a Master Plumber, who is engaged 

in the practical installation of plumbing. 
 

(e) Master Plumber means any person skilled in the planning, superintending and the 
practical installation of plumbing and who is familiar with the laws, rules and regulations 
governing the same. 
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(f) Restricted Plumber means a person qualified to install building water or sewer lines or 
other special phases of plumbing providing that such person has demonstrated 
competency for that particular phase of plumbing. 

 
(g) Gas Utility means a firm or corporation engaged in the distribution of natural gas, 

manufactured gas and/or a mixture of natural gas and manufacturing gas, delivered to 
the consumer through a system of distribution piping. 

 
(h) Gas Utility Serviceman means an employee of a gas utility specially trained for gas 

service work with the utility. 
 
SECTION IV.  EXAMINATION FEES 
 

(a) The examination fees for Master, Restricted Supervising Solar Mechanic, Restricted 
Residential Maintenance, Restricted Governmental Maintenance, Restricted 
Supervising Hospital Maintenance, Restricted Water and Sewer Service Line 
Installation and Restricted Supervising Gas Fitter Plumbers shall be one hundred 
twenty-five dollars ($125.00). 

 
(b) The examination fees for Journeyman, Restricted Gas Fitter, Restricted Hospital 

Maintenance, and Restricted Solar Mechanic Plumbers shall be seventy-five dollars 
($75.00). 

 
(c) The fees for additional examination due to failure to appear without proper notification or 

pass any portion of the test shall be fifty dollars ($50.00) 
 

(d) All non-scheduled or oral examination fees shall require an additional fifty dollars 
($50.00) per examination. 

 
(e) All examination fees must accompany the application when submitted. 

 
SECTION V.  LICENSE FEES 
 

(a) The license fee for Master, Restricted Supervising Solar Mechanic, Restricted 
Residential Maintenance, Restricted Water and Sewer Service Line Installation shall be 
two hundred dollars ($200.00) annually. 

 
(b) The license fee for Restricted Supervising Gas Fitter Plumbers shall be two hundred 

dollars ($200.00) annually. 
 

(c) The license fee for Journeyman and Restricted Solar Mechanic Plumbers shall be 
seventy-five dollars ($75.00) annually. 

 
(d) The license fee for Restricted Gas Fitter Plumber shall be seventy-five dollars ($75.00) 

annually. 
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(e) Registration fees for Apprentice, Restricted Gas Fitter Trainee, Restricted Hospital 
Maintenance Trainee, Restricted Solar Mechanic Trainee, and Plumbing or Gas 
Inspector shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) annually. 

 
(f) The license fee for a Restricted Governmental Maintenance Plumbers License and 

Restricted Supervising Hospital Maintenance Plumbers License shall be one hundred 
dollars ($100.00) annually 

 
(g) The license fee for a Restricted Hospital Maintenance Plumbers License shall be thirty-

seven dollars and fifty cents ($37.50) annually. 
 

(h) The license fee for a Gas Utility Serviceman shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and 
the fee for Restricted Gas Utility License shall be two hundred dollars ($200.00) 
annually. 

 
SECTION VI.  TERMS OF EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL 
 

(a) Master, Journeyman and Apprentice Plumbers licenses issued under the provisions of 
these regulations shall expire annually on December 31st.  The license shall be 
renewed by February 1st.  After February 1st a of ($5.00) per month shall be added  

 
(b) All Restricted Plumbers Licenses issued under the provisions of these regulations shall 

expire annually on June 30th.   The license shall be renewed by August 1st. After 
August 1st a penalty of five dollars ($5.00) per month shall be added. 

 
(c) All Plumbing and/or Gas Inspector’s Certificates issued under the provisions of these 

regulations shall expire annually on June 30th.  The license shall be renewed by August 
1st. After August 1st a penalty of five dollars ($5.00) per month shall be added.  

 
(d) In no case shall the Committee of Examiners issue more than one (1) type of license 

per applicant as defined under Act 200 of 1951, as amended. 
 
(e) All licenses shall be renewed annually within thirty days after the expiration date of the 

license. The Department may renew a license after the thirty-day period if there is 
sufficient reason for not renewing in the time specified and after payment of penalties as 
prescribed by regulation. 

 
(f) The Department may set a system of staggered expiration dates for all licenses issued 

by the Department. 
 
(g) The Department may issue permits for less than (1) year. The cost of such permits shall 

be determined based upon the number of months the permit is valid divided by twelve 
(12) months multiplied by the amount of annual fee. 
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SECTION VII. DEFERMENT OF LICENSE 
 

(a) A Master or Journeyman Plumber holding a current license may make application to the 
Department for deferment of such license.  The Department, upon receipt of such 
application, may grant deferment of license.  Deferments shall be made annually at a 
fee of twenty dollars ($20.00) per year. 

 
(b) The Department may grant a deferment without regular or reinstatement fees to 

members of the Armed Services. 
 

(c) The Department may grant a courtesy deferment without regular or reinstatement fees 
to a Master or Journeyman Plumber who becomes a legally appointed or employed 
Plumbing Inspector. 

 
SECTION VIII. REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE 
 

(a) Reinstatement of Expired License. 
 

A Master or Journeyman Plumber whose License has expired for non-payment of 
renewal fees may make an application to the Department for reinstatement of license.  
The application must be supported with an amended experience record covering all 
experience subsequent to the date of the lapse. 
 
Upon receipt of the application and experience record, the Department will determine 
whether to reinstate without examination or whether to require an examination. 
 
If reinstatement is granted, the applicant shall pay the applicable reinstatement fee of 
three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325.00) for Master Plumber License or one hundred 
fifty dollars ($150.00) for Journeyman Plumber License, in addition to any backfees and 
penalties assessed under Section XIII (13) of these Regula tions. 
 
After a license has been delinquent for non-payment of fees for over a period five (5) 
consecutive years, the application for reinstatement must be supported with an 
amended experience record covering all experience subsequent to the date of 
delinquency.  Upon receipt of the application and amended experience record, the 
Committee of Examiners will determine whether to reinstate with or without 
examination. 
 

(b) Reinstatement of Deferred License 
 

A Master or Journeyman Plumber whose license has been deferred under Section VII of 
these Regulations may apply for reinstatement by applications to the Department.  The 
Department may reinstate such license without examination upon payment of the 
current license fee and a reinstatement fee of twenty dollars ($20.00). 
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After a license has been deferred over a period of five consecutive years, the 
application for reinstatement must be supported with an amended experience record 
covering all experience subsequent to the date of deferment.  Upon receipt of the 
application and amended experience record, the Committee of Examiners will 
determine whether to reinstate without examination or whether to require an 
examination. 

 
(c) Reinstatement of Revoked License 

 
A Master or Journeyman Plumber whose license has been revoked may make 
application for a new license one year after the date of revocation on an application 
form furnished by the Department.  Such application shall contain a statement of intent 
to comply with all pertinent laws and regulations. 
 
The Committee of Examiners may issue a new license after the applicant has passed 
the prescribed examination.  Fees for such license shall be the same as for a new 
license. 
 

SECTION IX. TRANSFER OF MASTER PLUMBER LICENSE TO JOURNEYMAN PLUMBER 
LICENSE. 

 
(a) A Master Plumber may transfer a Master Plumber License to that of a Journeyman 

Plumber License by application to the Department and payment of twenty dollars 
($20.00) transfer fee to cover services connected with the transfer of a license. 

 
(b) A Journeyman Plumber who has previously held a Master Plumber License in this state 

may reinstate as a Master without examination provided the applicant pay a twenty 
dollar ($20.00) transfer fee plus the cost of a Master Plumber License. 

 
If more than five (5) years have elapsed since the original transfer from Master to Journeyman 
the application for transfer must be supported with an amended experience record covering all 
experience subsequent to the date of transfer.  Upon receipt of the application and amended 
experience record, the Committee of Examiners shall determine whether to require an 
examination.  If an examination is required the examination fee for a Master Plumber License 
shall be charged. 

 
SECTION X.  RECIPROCAL LICENSING 
 

(a) The State Committee of Plumbing Examiners, as a means of facilitating interstate 
practice, shall make an independent determination on all applications for reciprocal 
registration.  An applicant shall present satisfactory evidence of such qualifications. 

 
(b) Application for reciprocal licensing shall be made on a form provided by the State 

Committee of Plumbing Examiners.  These forms must be completely accomplished, 
notarized and filed with the State Committee of Plumbing Examiners, together with a fee 
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of three hundred twenty-five dollars ($325.00) for a Master, or one hundred fifty dollars 
($150.00) for a Journeyman Plumber Reciprocal License. 

 
SECTION XI.  DELINQUENT LICENSES FEES 
 

(a) In special cases, where back licenses fees have accumulated so as to work an extreme 
hardship on the applicant, the Department may allow the applicant to pay on back 
license fees on an installation plan.  In no case may the current license fee be paid in 
this manner.  The payments of the back fees shall be made at the discretion of the 
Department to fit the individual case.  A license issued under such conditions shall be 
revoked for non-payment of any part of the fees. 

 
SECTION XII. MASTER AND JOURNEY PLUMBER QUALIFICATIONS 
 

(a) An applicant for the Master Plumber examination shall have a minimum of five (5) years 
experience and an applicant for Journeyman Plumber examination shall have a 
minimum of four (4) years experience or its equivalent. 

 
(b) The State Committee of Plumbing Examiners shall approve an applicant for Master or 

Journeyman level examination provided that the applicant is currently licensed as a 
Master or Journeyman Plumber in another state or political subdivision of that state and 
whose plumbing laws and codes are similar to those of the state of Arkansas. 

 
(c) The State Committee of Examiners shall consider an apprentice Plumber for the 

Journeyman Plumber examination provided the Apprentice Plumber has successfully 
completed the training as defined under said plumber apprenticeship regulations. 

 
(d) The State Committee of Plumbing Examiners may consider applicants for Master 

Plumber examination who are professional engineers with special expertise in plumbing 
engineering. 

 
(e) Individuals applying for and obtaining Journeyman Plumber licensing must hold that 

license for one (1) full year before becoming eligible for Master Plumber examination.  
In cases of extreme hardship, the State Committee of Plumbing Examiners may waive 
the one (1) year requirement in whole or in part. 

 
SECTION XIII. CORRECTION OF VIOLATIONS 
 

(a) An applicant applying for any license, or reinstatement of license, under any condition, 
shall submit satisfactory evidence, when required, that said applicant has not violated 
any provisions of Act 200 of 1951 as amended.  Where such violations have existed, 
the Department may require all back license fees and penalties to be paid and all 
violations corrected. 

 
SECTION XIV. INSPECTION FEES 
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(a) The Department shall charge fees for inspections authorized under Act 200 of 1951 as 
amended.  The inspection fees shall be as follows: 

 
(1) Each inspection ………………  $25.00 

 
 

(2)    Each additional inspection caused by the negligence of the supervising license                  
holder…………………………..  $35.00 

 
(b) The Department shall not charge an inspection fee to investigate consumer complaints 

and/or to assist the local Administrative Authority having jurisdiction over an inspection 
unless the Department is acting in place of said Administrative Authority. 

 
SECTION XV. PLUMBING and/or GAS CODE FEES 
 

(a) The Department may prepare and cause to be printed such codes, bulletins, or other 
documents for those engaged in the business and to the public upon request.  The 
Department shall charge a fee for codes and regulations as follows: 

 
(1) Plumbing Code (with binder)…………………$45.00 

 
(2) Gas Code Only (with binder)…………………$30.00  

 
(3) Gas Insert Only (without binder)……………..$25.00 

 
(b) The Department may furnish one copy of Plumbing and Gas Code to each local 

inspection program, gas utility company, or library free of charge.  Any additional codes 
and/or amended versions of existing codes shall require fees as outlined above. 

 
SECTION XVI. REVOCATION OF LICENSE 
 

(a) The Committee of Examiners may on its own motion make investigation and conduct 
hearing and may on its own motion or upon complaint in writing duly signed and verified 
by the complainant, suspend or revoke any Master or Journeyman Plumbers License if 
it has reason to believe that the holder of such license has violated any provisions of 
these regulations, any rule or order prescribed by the Board or has demonstrated 
incompetency to act as a Master or Journeyman Plumber. 

 
(b) The use of a Master or Journeyman Plumber’s License to do plumbing other than 

permitted by the license shall be grounds for automatic suspension and/or revocation of 
such license by the Committee of Examiners providing the licensee is duly notified 
within thirty (30) days of the violation and pending a full hearing under the 
Administrative Procedures Regulation of the Arkansas Department of Health. 

 
SECTION XVII. TEMPORARY PERMITS 
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The Department may issued temporary revocable permits to Master and/or Journeyman 
Plumber applicants provided the Committee of Examiners has approved the eligible of 
the applicant for Master and/or Journeyman Plumber Examination. 

 
SECTION XVIII. HEARINGS 
 

In the case of each final order issued by the Department, any affected party may within 
thirty (30) days of such order submit a written request for hearing to the Director of the 
Department.  NOTICE: All hearing will be scheduled within a reasonable time and 
held after reasonable notice has been provided to all known affected parties. 

 
SECTION XIX. SEVERABILITY 
 

If any provision of these regulations, or the application thereof to any person is held 
invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions or application of these 
Regulations which can give effect without the invalid provisions o f applications, and to 
this end the provision hereto are declared to be severable. 

 
SECTION XX. REPEAL 
 

All regulations and parts of Regulations in conflict herewith are hereby repealed. 


