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RULE NO. 1
COSMETOLOGY SECTION
(1.1) Authority
The following Rules and Regulations for Cosmetology in Arkansas were duly promulgated by the Arkansas State Board
of Health pursuant to the authority expressly conferred by the laws-of-the-State-of- Arkansas-Cosmetology Act in-ARK-
Ark. C-eode Aann. 817-26-101 et seq. and other applicable laws of the state-State of Arkansas.

(1.2) Purpose

These Rules and Regulations are prepared for the purpose of establishing standards to regulate the vocation of
cosmetology and its related occupations,_specifically manicuring, aesthetics, and electrology, to provide for the licensing
of persons to carry on and to teach such vocation, to regulate the conduct and sanitation of eesmetological--cosmetology
establishments,-and schools_of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of cosmetology so as to prevent the spreading of
communicable diseases and, to provide penalties for violation thereof.

(1.3) Investigations, Hearings, or Inspections

(A) The Department of Health shall conduct investigations and inspections as promulgated by the rules. Initial,
routine and complaint inspections are conducted to ensure compliance with the licensing law and rules. Any inspector
shall have the authorlty to enter into and |nspect any eesme&elegmleal— osmetology establlshment at any time during
business hours. #x
Cosmotelogisol- Cosmetology establlshments are muuoelymspected bem;een%-M#w&aAfear at Ieast annually but not
limited to, —to ensure compliance with the licensing law and rules promulgated by the Board unless complaints are
received by the Department. The inspectors examine licenses; inspect buildings and equipment; eheck-aceumulated-hours
and—npumber—of-students—in—cosmetology—sechools: report violations of the law or rules; investigate complaints; rate
nspections;- and perform yearhy-initial inspections of new eosmetelogical--cosmetology establishments.

(B) After final-Departmentaction-is-taken;- the Department has taken final action in the event a licensee should wish
to appeal final Department action to the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee, this appeal must be made in
writing to the Department, and must be made within thirty (30) days of receipt of final Department action.

(1) Hearings conducted by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee may be held bimonthly for review of
cases for which disciplinary action may be required.

(2) Except as provided in subdivision B.2.a. of this rule, a hearing attended by two (2) or more
members of the committee is a meeting.
(a) A final order shall not be imposed by fewer than three (3) members.
(b) A final order imposed by the committee may be appealed to the state Board of Health
within thirty (30) days of its receipt.

(1.4) Location

The office of the Cosmetology Section is located at 4815 West Markham, Little Rock, Arkansas 72205. All matters
related to cosmetology licensing should be directed to the Section of Cosmetology office by calling 501-661-2000--2168
or by emailing the Section at Cosmo@arkansas.gov. Information may also be obtained by accessing the Department’s
Website at www.healthyarkansas.com.




(1.5) Fees

The Department shall collect fees in accordance with the following fee schedule as authorized through A.C.A. 17-26-

209(a):

b. Examination for licensing
1) First-time candidate
i. Practical - $65.00
ii. Written - $60.00
2) Retest candidate
i. Practical - $65.00
ii. Written - $60.00
| 3) Reciprocity candidate that has taken a national-written and practical exam
i. State Law - $60.00
| 4) Reciprocity candidate that has not taken a rational-written and practical exam
i. Practical - $65.00
ii. Written - $60.00
c¢. Renewal of a cosmetology, manicure, aesthetics, electrology or instructor license
d. Reciprocity for a cosmetology, manicure, aesthetics, electrology or instructor license when
the licensee is duly registered in another state
e. New establishment-including-new-and-relocated-
f. Renewal of an establishment
g. Relocation of establishment
g.h. New school_of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology
hi.. Renewal of a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology
+]. Change of name and/or ownership of a school or postsecondary school
k. Name and/or ownership change of an establishment
k-1.Duplicate license
km. Certification of Department records
mn. Reinstatement fee for a practitioner license will apply for licenses not renewed within thirty
(30) days following the birthday of the licensee
n-0.Reinstatement fee for an salen-establishment license will apply for licenses not renewed
by-January-31-of —the foHowingyear-orwithin thirty (30) days following the-birthday-efthe
Jicenseewhicheverrenewal-eyele-is-chosenby-the-owner-the expiration date. -
op. Reinstatement fee for a school license will apply for licenses not renewed by-January-31-of
theie”omnﬂgye%%W|th|n thirty (30) days following the-birthday-of-the-ticensee;

the expiration date.
pg. Lifetime license for a currently licensed practitioner that is 65 years or older and has been

actively engaged in the practice or teaching of cosmetology for thlrty (30) years or more.
bleler Tmetitonome e dihrn-innete eense
will-be-issued-a-certificate-at-no-costto-them:

gr.. Hot check fee

| +—Demonstratorpermitfee——

a. Enrollment into a eosmetology- school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology  $20.00

$50.00 biennially

$150.00 one-time fee
$150.00 one-time fee
$100.00 annually
$150.00 one-time fee
$1500.00

$250.00 annually
$500.00 one-time fee
$75.00 each

$25.00 per license
$50.00 per license

50% of renewal

50% of renewal

50% of renewal

$50.00 for first
license; requests for
subsequent copy
must pay duplicate
license fee of $25
per license

$25 service charge,
plus all applicable
bank fees, for each
returned check

-$50.00 annually



RULE NO. 2
DEFINITIONS
(2.1) Aesthetician
Any person who engages in the practice of beautifying the body by cleaning, waxing, externally manipulating, or
stimulating the body by means of the hands, devices, apparatus, or appliances with or without the use of cosmetic
preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, and creams.

(2.2) Art of Cosmetology
The art of cosmetology includes any and all and any combination of the following practices:
(A) Arranging, dressing, curling, waving, machineless permanent waving, permanent waving,
cleansing, cutting, singeing, bleaching, tinting, coloring, straightening, dyeing, brushing , beautifying, or otherwise
treating by any means the hair of any person or wigs or hairpieces;

(B) Externally manipulating, cleaning, waxing, or stimulating the body by means of the hands, devices, apparatus,
or appliances with or without the use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams;

©

light-waves—commonly-krewn-as—+ays;Beautifying the body by use of cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions,

or creams;

y HSe—0 ptics,—to - 0AS—0 :Temporarily
removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by the use of depilatories or by the use of tweezers, chemicals, or
preparations or by the use of devices or appliances of any kind or description, except by the use of light waves, commonly
known as rays;

B)—

(E) Cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, cleansing, or manicuring the nails of any person; and

(F) Massaging, cleansing, or beautifying the nails of any person.

(2.3) Board
The Arkansas State Board of Health.

(2.4) Client
Any person who receives cosmetelegical--cosmetology services_for compensation in any form from a person who is
engaged in the Art of Cosmetology.

(2.5) Cesmetological— Cosmetology Services
Any work performed_for compensation in any form by any person who is engaged in the Art of Cosmetology.

(2.76) Cosmetic
Any product made for beautifying the eemplexioen- body.



(2.97) Department
The Arkansas Department of Health.

(2.1408) Electrologist

Any person who permanently removes hair from or destroys hair on the human body for beautification by the use of an
electric needle or by the use of any other kinds of devices or appliances designed to permanently remove hair from the
human body.

(2.429) EPA
The United States Environmental Protection Agency.

(2.140) Manager-Operator
A licensed cosmetologist_who is authorized to engage in the practice of cosmetology, independent of personal
supervision in a duly licensed establishment.

(2.151) Manicurist

Any person who engages in the occupation of manicuring the nails of any person by cutting, trimming,

polishing, coloring, tinting, cleansing, filing, buffing, pushing, extending, protecting, wrapping, covering,

building, or beautifying the nails or performing any other similar work upon the nails of any person by

any means, including the softening of the arms, hands, feet, or ankles of any person by use of hands,

mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances, cosmetic or chemical preparations, antiseptics, lotions, or creams or by
massaging, cleansing, manipulating or stimulating the arms, hands, feet, or ankles of any

person.

(2.162) Practitioner
Any person who is licensed by the Department as a Cosmetologist, Electrologist, Manicurist, Instructor, or Aesthetician.

ha A ansas-Boa

(2.13) Postsecondary School of Cosmetology




A school of cosmetology that offers a postsecondary curriculum approved by the Department of Health and whose
enrollment is made up of no more than fifty percent (50%) students with neither a high school diploma or recognized
equivalent of a high school diploma.

(2.174) Salen-orCesmetelogical- Cosmetology Establishment
Any premises, building, or part of a building in which is practiced any branch or any combination of branches of

cosmetology or the occupations of a cosmetologist, except the branch of manicuring as practiced in barbershops -Heensed
by-the Barber-Beard-and nursing facilities as defined under A.C.A.. § 20-10-1401.

(2.185) Salen- Establishment Owner
Any person, firm, or corporation conducting or operating a eosmeteloegical-- cosmetology establishment as defined by
A.C.A. 17-26-102(2)

(2.4916) School of Cosmetology
Any person, firm, corporation, premises, building, or part of a building whereon or wherein is taught any branch or any
combination of the branches of cosmetology for a fee and that is licensed by the Department of Health

(2.2017) School Owner
Any person, firm, or corporation conducting or operating a school of cosmetology or a postsecondary school of

cosmetology.

(2.2218) Section
The Section of Cosmetology within the Arkansas Department of Health.

(2.2219) Student

Any person who is enrolled and engaged in learning or acquiring knowledge of the occupations of a cosmetologist,
manicurist, aesthetician or electrologist, in a licensed school of cosmetology or a postsecondary school of cosmetology
under a licensed instructor.

(2.230) Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee
The Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee is a seven member committee appointed by the State Board of Health
and will, among other duties, hold hearings on cases that may require disciplinary actions.

(2.241) Working area or Clinical area
Any area that is used to render eesmetelegical- cosmetology services to the public.

RULE NO. 3
REQUIREMENTS FOR COSMETOLOGY AND RELATED OCCUPATIONS
(3.1) Establishment
Any person, firm or corporation conducting or operating a cesmetological— cosmetology establishment or-school-of
cosmetology—shall be required to obtain a current establishment license prior to operating said establishment. The
proprietor shall be responsible for compliance with the law and all rules promulgated by the Board.

(3.2)School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology

Any person, firm or corporation conducting or operating a school of cosmetology or a post-secondary school of
cosmetology shall be required to obtain a current establishment license prior to operating said establishment. The
proprietor shall be responsible for compliance with the law and all rules promulgated by the Board.
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(3.23) Practitioner

No person shall practice any phase of cosmetology and its related occupations with the intent of receiving compensation
when the person does not hold a current and valid license issued by the Board , nor can any licensed cosmetologist
practice any phase of cosmetology and its related occupations other than in a licensed eesmetological-_cosmetology
establishment er-wig-salen-except when services rendered involve a special event in which the cosmetology service is to
be performed for an on-site participant of the event.

RULE NO. 4
EXAMINATIONS

(4.1) Eligibility
The Department will admit to examination for a license any person who has acquired training in cosmetology,
manicureing, or aesthetics, electrology—orinstructor-as stipulated in A.C.A.17-26- 304, any person who has acquired
training in Electrology as stipulated in A.C.A.17-26-306, any person who has acquired training in Electrology Instructor
as stipulated in A.C.A 17-26-307.17-26-304,-17-26-306,-17-26-307-and-17-26-410. Any person who owes a financial
obligation to the Department will be deemed ineligible to examine until the debt is paid in full.

(A) If the training was provided in this state, then the school is responsible for submitting a Certificate of Training
form to the Department conflrmmg the completlon of hours. Hours must be certlfled by the school in order to be ellglble
for the exammatlon ;

B} If the Department’s records agree that the person has met all eligibility requirements, and does not owe a
financial obligation to the-Department Section, then the person will be deemed eligible to schedule for examination.

(B)If the training, completed or partial, was obtained in another state, then the applicant must meet eligibility
requirements. The applicant is responsible for arranging to have sent to the Department his/her certification from the
other state or school in which the hours were obtained. If the Department determines eligibility requirements are met, the
applicant will be required to take the Arkansas written and practical exams.

(C)Reciprocity

(A) Upon application to the Department in the form provided for the particular class of license applied

for, accompanied by the required fee, a person licensed as a cosmetologist, electrologist, manicurist,
aesthetician, or instructor under the laws of another state shall be granted a license to practice the occupation
or occupations in the state not of greater scope than the occupation or occupations for which the applicant
was previously licensed in the other state, upon the following conditions:
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(1) That the applicant for license as a cosmetologist, manicurist, or aesthetician is not less than
eighteen (18) years of age, and the applicant for a license as an instructor or electrologist is not less than twenty-one (21)
years of age;
(2) That the applicant holds a current valid license upon application for reciprocity, evidenced by
certified copy of the license and an affidavit from the other state or by such other evidence as the Department may require;
(3) That the applicant has passed an examination comparable to the examination given in this
state; and
(4) That the applicant passes an Arkansas law examination under this chapter.
(B) All foreign documents submitted for the purpose of complying with the requirements for
examination shall be original copies and translated in the English language.
(C) A person who is registered or licensed under the laws of another state is not permitted to practice in this State until said person is
licensed by the Arkansas State Board of Health.

(4.2) General Policies and Procedures

(A) The Bepartment-Section and/or any designated testing provider will establish exam deadline dates, cancellation
policies, interpreter policies, supply requirements and dress codes for examinations. All such information shall be made
readily available to cosmetology schools, students and reciprocity applicants. Updated Candidate Information Bulletins
(CIBs) will be posted on the Department’s website and, if appropriate, on the website of the designated testing provider
responsible for administering practical examinations.

(4.3) Grades

A passing grade of seventy-five (75) is required in the practical part and a grade of seventy (70) is required in the written
part pertaining to the mandated curriculum, as well as the state law exam. In addition, a grade of seventy (70) is required
on the state law exam when taken independently.

RULE NO.5
REQUIREMENTS FOR BOTH-COSMETOLOGICAL-SCHOOLS OF COSMETOLOGY, POSTSECONDARY
SCHOOLS OF COSMETOLOGY, AND ESTABLISHMENTS
(5.1) Health and Safety Rules
(A) Enforcement

(1) An -salen establishment -owner,-ef school owner_or postsecondary school owner and the person in charge of
any such salen-establishment ,er school_of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology, shall be liable for
implementing and maintaining the Health and Safety Rules in the establishment ,er school_of cosmetology or
postsecondary school of cosmetology. This shall be done individually and jointly with all persons employed by or
working in or on the premises of such salen-establishment ,er school_or postsecondary school. All practitioners,_school
postsecondary school and establishment owners, and students—ane—demenstrators shall be held individually liable for
implementation and maintenance of the Health and Safety Rules as applicable.

(2) To assure compliance with the laws and rules governing the operations of schools_of cosmetology
postsecondary school of cosmetology and-salensestablishment,
the Department’s authorized representatives shall have access to the premises of any school_of cosmetology
postsecondary school of cosmetology or-salerestablishment, at any time that the school, postsecondary school, or sater
establishment is open for business or at any time that the instruction or practice of cosmetology is being conducted.

(3) Refusal to permit or interference with, an inspection and/or audit constitutes a cause for
disciplinary action.
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(4) All persons performing acts of cosmetology and its related occupations except students in schools of cosmetology
or postsecondary schools of cosmetology, shall present satisfactory proof of identification upon request by an authorized
representative of the Department.  All persons working in a establishment , school of cosmetology, or postsecondary
school of cosmetology shall present a photographic driver’s license or photographic identification card issued by any
state, federal, or other recognized government entity. Failure to present valid proof of identification shall be grounds for
disciplinary action.

(5) Conducting or operating a school_of cosmetology, a postsecondary school of cosmetology or saten-establishment
without a current, valid license shall be grounds
for disciplinary action.

(6) Allowing a person to engage in or attempt to engage in the occupation of a cosmetologist, manicurist,
electrologist, aesthetician in or about an establishment or allowing a person to engage
in or about a school of cosmetology or a postsecondary school of cosmetology, without a current valid Arkansas license
shall be grounds for disciplinary
action.

(7) Performing acts of cosmetology or attempting to perform acts of cosmetology_for compensation in any form,
without a_current, valid Arkansas license shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(B) Consumer Information.

(1) A copy of the-Health-and-SafetyRules— the most recent inspection sheet- shall be conspicuously—pested-in
i schools-and-establishments-and-in-classrooms-of schools: posted in a conspicuous area.

(2) All establishment and school, postsecondary school licenses, practitioners’ licenses, student permits and
instructor_licenses shall be conspicuously posted in a designated place in reception areas, at the individual work stations,
or in the clinic area.

(3) No license which has expired or become invalid for any reason whatsoever shall be displayed
by any person in connection with the practice of cosmetology or any of its branches. Any expired or
invalid license so displayed shall be surrendered to the Department upon request.

(C) Physical Facilities

(1) Water Supply and Sewage — A safe and adequate supply of continuous hot and cold running
water shall be provided from an approved source. All water-carried sewage shall be disposed of by means of an approved
sewage disposal system constructed and operated in conformance with the standards established for such systems by the
Arkansas Department of Health.

(2) Plumbing — Plumbing shall be installed and maintained to promote the following:
(a) to carry adequate quantities of water to required locations throughout the school or salon;

(b) to prevent contamination of the water supply;

(c) to properly convey sewage and liquid wastes from school or salen—_establishment to the sewerage or
sewage disposal system; and

(d) to not constitute a source of contamination of equipment, implements, supplies, or create an unsanitary
condition or nuisance. All plumbing shall conform to the current State Plumbing Code.

12



(3)Toilet Facilities, Fixtures and Plumbing — Where toilet facilities are made available or otherwise required,
said facilities, fixtures and other plumbing shall be installed in accordance with the Arkansas State Plumbing Code and
meet standards set by the Arkansas Department of Health. No toilet facility shall be used for storage_of implements or
supplies for services performed on the public.

(4) Hand Washing Facilities — Each school_of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, and
each salen-establishment shall provide hand washing facilities installed in accordance with the Arkansas State Plumbing
Code. The facilities shall have a soap dispenser (with soap) and disposable towels or an air dryer for hands. Common
towels are prohibited.

(5) Drinking Water — Each school_of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, and each salen
establishment shall supply drinking water from a supply meeting the requirements set forth by the Arkansas Department
of Health. No school or salen-establishment shall provide any cup, glass, or other receptacle for common use.

(6) Garbage and Refuse — Garbage and refuse shall be kept in durable, easily cleanable, -insect-proef-and-rodent-
proof containers that do not leak and do not absorb liquids. No school_of cosmetology , each postsecondary school of
cosmetology, or salen-establishment shall permit an accumulation of garbage or refuse. Garbage and refuse shall be
disposed of often enough to prevent the development of odor and the attraction of insects and rodents.

(7) Insect and Rodent Control — Each school_of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, and
each salen—establlshment shall be kept in such condltlon as to prevent the harborage or feeding of insects or rodents.

(8) Cleanliness and Repair — Each school_of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, -and each
salen establishment shall keep the floors, mats, walls, woodwork, ceilings, equipment, doors, windows, mirrors, lights and
similar closures, furnishings, attached equipment, decorative materials and fixtures clean and in good repair. Concrete or
pumice blocks used for interior wall construction shall be finished, filled and sealed. All of the above mentioned items
shall be free of leak spots, mildew, peeling paint and shall be easily cleaned.

(9) Floor Construction — Floors and floor coverings of each school and each salen-establishment in the working
area or clinical area shall be constructed of smooth, non-absorbent, durable material such-as-sealed-concrete—terrazze;
ceramic-tHe—durable-grades-of Hneleum-or-plastic-and shall be maintained in good repair. Wern—torn—or-broken-floor
coverings shall-be replaced.

(10) Carpet — Carpet shall not be permitted in the working area or clinical area. Carpet, if used as a floor

covering in other areas of a school or-salen_;establishment, shall be ef-clesely-woven-coenstruction,—properly—instated;
easily-cleanableand-maintained in good repair. Wern-or-tern-carpetshal-be-replaced:

(11) Lighting — Permanently fixed artificial light sources shall be installed to provide sufficient_light on the
working area or clinical area.

(12) Ventilation — Each school_of cosmetology, each postsecondary school of cosmetology, and each salen
establishment shall have sufficient ventilation installed and operated according to State and local requirements to keep
them free of excessive heat, steam, condensation, vapors, ebrexieus-edeors, smoke and_harmful -fumes.

(13) Minimum Equipment — Each school_of cosmetology, postsecondary school of cosmetology and salen
establishment shall have and maintain the following minimum equipment:

{b)(_) a I|qU|d sanitizer receptacle eLsu#ﬁe;enPs&&to hold instruments and supplles containing-a-solution
-with a disinfecting solution




containing bactericidal, capable of destroying bacteria; virucidal, capable of destroying viruses; and fungicidal, capable
of destroying fungi. Disinfectants must be used according to manufacture labels to be safe and effective. The receptacle
must be large enough that the instruments and supplies are completely submerged. The disinfectant solutions shall remain
covered at all times and shall be changed at least once each week or whenever visibly cloudy or dirty;

(b) All clean linens must be kept separate and covered;

(c) asufficient-number-of-closed-receptacles-to-hold-all-seiled-towels; All soiled linens must be in a separate

receptacle from clean ones;

(d) a-sufficient-number-of-airtight-containersfor-sanitized-instruments:-and; All sanitized instruments must be

kept in a separate, enclosed area;
%mwmed‘em}%w j i O

(14) Animals in Schools and-Salens-Establishment— Animals are prohibited from being inside a-cesmetelogy
school_of cosmetology, a postsecondary school of cosmetology, or-salen establishments. Exceptions include:;

(a)exceptfor serviceService animals that are accompanying a client with a disability. -Pets—are-net-aHowed
within-the-premises-of-a-salen-er-scheel. In the event that an authorized Department representative observes an-saten

establishment owner’s or school owner’s, or client’s animal within the premises of the-salerestablishment or school, then
the salen—establishment or school owner shall describe the impairment for which the animal is trained to provide
assistance in order to ensure that the animal is not simply a pet; and

(b)- Fish in a decorative aquarium.

(15) Infectious Disease - No person afflicted with an infectious or communicable disease, which may be
transmitted during the performance of the acts of cosmetology or any of its branches, or afflicted with an infestation of
animal parasites shall be permitted to work or train in a school, postsecondary school or in an-salerestablishment.

No school_of cosmetology, postsecondary school of cosmetology or salen-establishment shall require or permit a student
or a practitioner, to massage any surface of the skin or scalp where such skin is inflamed or where a skin infection or
eruption is present and/or knowingly, to work upon a person suffering from any infectious, communicable disease or on a
client with an infestation of animal parasites which may be transmitted during the performance of the act of cosmetology
or any of its branches.

The term “infectious or communicable disease” shall not include human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or any other
disease that similarly does not pose a significant risk to the health or safety of others during the performance of an act of
cosmetology or any of its branches.

(16) Personal Cleanliness
(a) Person and Wearing Apparel — The person and the uniferm-er-attire worn by an
individual serving a client shall at all times be clean.

(b) Washing Hands — Every person performing cesmetelogical—cosmetology services in a school,
postsecondary school, or-saten _establishment shall thoroughly wash his or her hands with soap and water or any equally

effective cleansing solution before serving each client.

(17) Headrests, Shampoo Bowls,-and Treatment Tables, and Pedicure Spas
(a) Headrests — The headrest of chairs shall be covered with a clean towel or paper sheet for
each client.

(b) Shampoo Bowls — Shampoo trays and bowls must be cleansed with soap and water or
other detergent-aftereach-shampoobefore each service, kept in good repair and in a sanitary condition at all times.
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(c) Treatment Tables — Treatment tables must be sanitized before and-after-each-chient.each service.

(d) Pedicure Spas — Pedicure spas and equipment must be sanitized and disinfected before each service.

(18) Towels
(a) Used Towels to be discarded — After a towel has once been used, it shall be deposited
| in aclosed-receptacle, and shall not again be used until properly laundered and sanitized.

(19) Bottles and Containers — All bottles and containers_containing any chemical or liquids in use in a school,
postsecondary school or saten—establishment shall be distinctly and correctly labeled to disclose their contents.

(20) Neck Strips — A sanitary neck strip or towel shall be used to keep the protective covering
from coming in direct contact with a client’s neck.

(21) Instruments and Supplies
(@) AII used supplles or |nstruments which eeme—m—d%et—eentaet—mth—erelwnt—and cannot be
y shall be disposed of

(22) Bisinfecting-Electrical and-Nen-Eleetrical-Instruments and Equipment-
(a) Before use upon a client, aII electrlcal and—nen—eleetﬁeal—mstruments meladmg—bat—net—hmtted—te—sersset&

shall be sanitize with

and dlsmfected Wlth an dlsmfectmq solutlon contalnmq bactencndal capable of destroying
bacteria; virucidal, capable of destroying viruses; and fungicidal, capable of destroying fungi. Disinfectants must be
used accordlnq to manufacture Iabels to be safe and effectlve EPA—appreved—elﬁmteetant Ihe@lmn#eetant—selaﬂens—sha”

d+smf-eeted dlsmfectable |nstruments (these that have been used on a cllent or smled in any manner) shaII be placed ina

properly labeled receptacle.-and-shat-be-stored-in-a-clean-covered-place:

(b)Electrical equipment shall be functioning in accordance with the manufacturer’s

specifications. Equipment that is not operable or functioning in accordance with the

manufacturer’s specifications shall be repaired or discarded.

(23) Non-Electrical Instruments and Equipment-

(a)Before use upon a client, all non-electrical instruments shall be sanitized and disinfected with a disinfecting
solution containing bactericidal, capable of destroying bacteria; virucidal, capable of destroying viruses; and fungicidal,
capable of destroying fungi. Disinfectants must be used according to manufacture labels to be safe and effective. All
disinfectable instruments that have been used on a client or soiled in any manner shall be placed in a properly labeled

receptacle.
| 15




| (b)Non-Electrical equipment shall be functioning in accordance with the manufacturer’s
specifications. Equipment that is not operable or functioning in accordance with the

manufacturer’s specifications shall be repaired or discarded.

(234) Sterilizing Electrolysis Instruments-All needles and lancets must be single use and disposable.-Bispesable

; non-disposable needles-or lancets-are-used-they must-be properly sterilized
with-an-autoclave—For proper disposal of needles and lancets refer to Ark. Code Ann. 8 20-7-109 and Ark. Code Ann.
88 20-32-101 — 112. Instruments that cannot be sterilized with an autoclave must be sterilized with ana disinfecting
solution containing bactericidal, capable of destroying bacteria; virucidal, capable of destroying viruses; and fungicidal,
capable of destroying fungi. Disinfectants must be used according to manufacture labels to be safe and effective.EPA-
approved-disinfectant: Dry sterilizer or UV lights are not acceptable sterilization techniques.

| (245) Liquids, Creams, Powders and Other Cosmetic Preparations
(a) Storage — All liquids, creams and other cosmetic preparations shall be kept in properly
| labeled clean and elesed- covered containers. Powders may be kept in a clean shaker.

(b) Removal from Container — When only a portion of a cosmetic preparation is to be
used on a client, it shall be removed from the container in such a way as not to contaminate the remaining portion.

(c) Pencil Cosmetics — Pencil cosmetics shall be disinfected and sharpened before each use.

Sharpenersshall-be-properly-disinfected-before-each-use:

RULE NO. 6
COSMETOLOGY ESTABLISHMENT
CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION AND LICENSURE
(6.1) Enforcement
| Any person, firm, or corporation conducting or operating a eesmetological-Cosmetology establishment shall be
responsible for compliance with the licensing code and rules of the Board governing cosmetological establishments.
Failure to comply with the licensing code and rules shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(6.2) Authorization
(A)Application: Any person, firm, or corporation desiring to open a cosmetology establishment shall submit an
application to the Department for approval.

(BA) Any person, firm or corporation who has applied for a license to operate a eesmetological-cosmetology
establishment will receive a letter of autherizing-authorization allowing the owner to operate the establishment, provided
that the owner has certified compliance with the licensing code and the rules of the Board. The letter shall be
| conspicuously posted in the-salen establishment.




(6.3) Changes and Notification Requirements

(A) Name Change — When the name of an established-saler establishment is changed from the name which appears
on the original application, the owner of record shall file an application with the Department for approval and shall
submit the required fee. Failure to comply with this section within thirty (30) days of changing the name of the salon
establishment will be grounds for disciplinary action.

(B) Ownership Change — When the ownership of an established-salon-establishment is changed from the_ownership
that appears on the original application, the owner on file with the Department and the new owner shall complete the
change of ownership form and submit it to the Cosmetology Section within thirty (30) days of said sale or transfer. At
the same time, the new owner, lessee or other legally responsible party shall submit the required fee._The new owner shall
submit a copy of his or her driver’s license, and a copy of the legal change of ownership document. Failure to comply
with this section shall be grounds for disciplinary action.

(C) Relocation — When the location of an-established-salen_establishment is changed, it shall be classified as a new
salen-establishment and said owner shall comply with the licensing code and rules relating to the original issuance of an
Salen- establishment license.

(D) Closure — Within thirty (30) days after a salon-establishment is closed_they shall notify the department in
writing. ,
form-and-shall-return-the salon-license-to-the Department:

(6.4) General Licensure Requirements

(A) Permits/Licensure — Selling products, in an-salen_establishment, that require the seller to hold a special permit
or license by Federal or State authorities shall be classified as another type of business. Other types of businesses shall be
separated from an Salen-_establishment in accordance with the requirements specified below in Subdivision B.

(B) Separation of Saten-Establishment from other businesses
(1) Unsanitary conditions — An-sater_establishment and any other type of business that may create an unsanitary

Further, the owner shall submit a document issued by the Arkansas Department of Health certifying that the ventilation
system(s) of said businesses meets the minimum requirements of the Arkansas Department of Health.

(32) Barber Establishment License — Any salen-t_establishment that permits a licensed barber to practice the
vocation of barbering in the establishment, shall also hold a barber establishment license issued by the Arkansas State
Board of Barber Examiners.




(BC) Requirements for testing laboratory products
(1) When laboratory-prepared products are used in a licensed cesmetological-cosmetology establishment, for field
testing, full disclosure shall be provided to the model or client so the model or client may make an informed decision as to
whether the product should be applied.

(2) The establishment owner or his/her designee will be required to provide the client or model
with a data sheet which states: the name and address of the manufacturer which produces the
product, the name and address of the practitioner applying the product and the date and results of
the test.

(3) The client or model will be required to sign the document which also certifies that the model
or client is aware that the product is being applied for testing purposes. A copy of the document is to
be kept by the establishment owner and a copy must be given to the client or model for the
records.

RULE NO. 7
| COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY AND POSTSECONDARY SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY

REQUIREMENTS

| (7.21) Application for New Private School
(A) Any person, firm or corporation seeking to open a new school of cosmetology shall submit an
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(7.

application to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from the Department. The application shall be
accompanied by the following information:

(1) Completed application provided by the Department and available on the
Department’s website at www.healthyarkansas.com .

(2) Detailed floor plan of the proposed school showing adequate floor space.
(3) One certified financial statement.
(4) List of proposed equipment of the school.

| (5) Persenal-Survey-Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information such
as Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(6) Correspondence from the Planning and Zoning Board certifying that the area which the
proposed school is to be located is properly zoned for this type of business.

(7) A statement certifying that the owner(s) of the proposed school shall provide not less than
fifteen-hundred (1500) hours of continuous training for all cosmetology students enrolled.

(8) The owner shall file a statement designating the name and address of the person who is
authorized to accept service of notice from the Department and to transact all business negotiations on behalf of the
proposed school, including answers to citations and/or hearings, and compliance with rulings issued by the Department
and/or Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee .

(9) Fherequiredregistration-fee._ Samples of all forms to be used in the school such as attendance record, sign-in
sheets, state inspector time sheets, contracts, releases, progress records, progress cards.

(10) da d—sign-in sta
inspector-time-sheets-contracts,releases,progressrecords-progress-cards: The required registration fee.

(B) When the above information is received in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection described in
Rule 7.9.  When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the Department will notify the
applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection described in Rule 7.10, submission of 25
student enrollment forms, required fees and documents, and licensing.

P) Application for New Private Postsecondary School of Cosmetology

(A) Any person, firm or corporation seeking to open a new postsecondary school of cosmetology shall submit an
application to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from the Department. The application shall be
accompanied by the following information:

(1) Completed application provided by the Department and available on the
Department’s website at www.healthyarkansas.com .

(2) Detailed floor plan of the proposed school showing adequate floor space.
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(3) One certified financial statement.

(4) List of proposed equipment of the school.

(5) Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information such as Instructor’s
education, previous work experience, etc.

(6) Correspondence from the Planning and Zoning Board certifying that the area which the
proposed school is to be located is properly zoned for this type of business.

(7) A statement certifying that the owner(s) of the proposed school shall provide not less than
fifteen-hundred (1500) hours of continuous training for all cosmetology students enrolled.

(8) The owner shall file a statement designating the name and address of the person who is
authorized to accept service of notice from the Department and to transact all business negotiations on behalf of the
proposed school, including answers to citations and/or hearings, and compliance with rulings issued by the Department
and/or Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee .

(9) Samples of all forms to be used in the school such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, state
inspector time sheets, contracts, releases, progress records, progress cards.

(10) A statement certifying enrollment is made up of no more than fifty percent (50%) students with neither a high
school diploma or recognized equivalent of a high school diploma.

(11) The required registration fee.

(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection described in
Rule 7.9.  When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the Department will notify the
applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection described in Rule 7.10, submission of 25
student enrollment forms, required fees and documents, and licensing.

(7.3)Changes and Notification Requirements

(A) Name Change- When the name of a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology is changed
from the name that appears on the original application, the owner of record shall notify the Department in writing at least
thirty (30) days prior to the change and shall submit the required fee. Failure to comply with this section will be grounds
for disciplinary action.

(B) Ownership Change- When the ownership of a school of cosmetology or postsecondary school of cosmetology
is changed from the ownership that appears on the original application, the owner of record shall notify the Department in
writing at least thirty (30) days prior to the change. In addition, the new owner must provide the documentation outlined
in Rule 7.12, at least thirty (30) days prior to the purchase. Failure to comply with this section will be grounds for

disciplinary action.

(7.34) Application for a New Cosmetology Program in a Public or State-Operated School
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(A) Any public or state-operated school seeking to offer education in cosmetology or it’s related branches shall
submit notice to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from
the Department, as well as to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education or other
governing body. The notice shall include the following information:
(1) A completed application provided by the Department and available on the
Department’s website at www.healthyarkansas.com .

(2) Documentation that the school’s administration or board has given its approval for the
cosmetology program to be offered at the school, as well as the school’s commitment that there are sufficient financial
resources to support the program.

(3) Name and contact information for the designee at the school who will be responsible to the
Department for ensuring the school complies with applicable statutes and rules.

(4) A statement certifying the school will comply with all laws including applicable rules and
regulations regarding qualified instructors and a school supervisor.

(5) A statement certifying the required number of instructional hours of instruction will be
provided to students for the appropriate program, as outlined in A.C.A. 17-26-304, 17-26-306, 17-26-307 and 17-26-410,

(6) A detailed floor plan reflecting adequate floor space.

(7) A list of equipment to be used for the program.

(8) Personal-Survey-Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information;
such as the Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(9) Sample of all forms to be used in the school, such as attendance record, sign-in sheets,
releases, progress records and progress cards.

ion-The required registration fee.

{10)

(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection described in
Rule 7.9.  When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the Department will notify the
applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection described in Rule 7.10, submission of 25
student enrollment forms, required fees and documents, and licensing.

(7.5) Application for a New Postsecondary Cosmetology Program in a Public or State-Operated School
(A) Any public or state-operated postsecondary school seeking to offer education in cosmetology or it’s related
branches shall submit notice to the Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from
the Department, as well as to the Arkansas Department of Higher Education or other
governing body. The notice shall include the following information:
(1) A completed application provided by the Department and available on the

Department’s website at www.healthyarkansas.com .

(2) Documentation that the postsecondary school’s administration or board has given its approval for the

cosmetology program to be offered at the school, as well as the school’s commitment that there are sufficient financial
resources to support the program.

(3) Name and contact information for the designee at the school who will be responsible to the

Department for ensuring the school complies with applicable statutes and rules.
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(4) A statement certifying the school will comply with all laws including applicable rules and

regulations regarding qualified instructors and a school supervisor.

(5) A statement certifying the required number of instructional hours of instruction will be
provided to students for the appropriate program, as outlined in A.C.A. 17-26-304, 17-26-306, 17-26-307 and 17-26-410,

(6) A detailed floor plan reflecting adequate floor space.

(7) A list of equipment to be used for the program.

(8) Instructor/Supervisor Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information; such as the
Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(9) Sample of all forms to be used in the school, such as attendance record, sign-in sheets,

releases, progress records and progress cards.

(10) A statement certifying enrollment is made up of no more than fifty percent (50%) students with neither a high
school diploma or recognized equivalent of a high school diploma.

(11) The required registration fee.

(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection described in
Rule 7.79. When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the Department will notify the
applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection_described in Rule 7.10, submission of 25
student enrollment forms and required documents, and licensing.

(7.46) Application for a Relocated School or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology
(A) When the location of a school_or postsecondary school licensed to offer a cosmetology or related programs
changes from the location which appears on the original application, the owner of record shall file an application with the
Cosmetology Section office and receive pre-approval from the Section. An application must include the following items
of documentation before any relocation can occur:
(1) A detailed floor plan reflecting adequate floor space.

(2) A list of equipment to be used for the program.

(3)-Personal-SurveyInstructor/Supervisor  Form for Instructors shall be completed listing detailed information;
such as_the Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(4) Sample of all forms to be used in the school, such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, releases,_progress
records and progress cards.

(5) All relocated schools shall meet physical requirements as for new schools.

(6) Required Fee
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(B) When the above information is provided in full, the Department will conduct the initial inspection described in
Rule 7.79.  When the school application and initial inspection meets all requirements, the Department will notify the
applicant to proceed with school preparations pending the final inspection_described in Rule 7.10 and licensing.

(7.57) Building Requirements
—— All cosmetology schools shall be equipped to do and actually perform all services designated
under § 17-26-101 .

_(A) The school shall be of fireproof construction. All schools shall have a front and back entrance. No_partitions
will be permitted except for the specified spaces listed below.

(B) All schools must be separated from any other business with solid walls. Cosmetology
establishments that are located in the same building shall be separated by a solid physical barrier and shall have separate
entrances.

(C) All schools shall have sufficient light fixtures and wiring which shall be approved by a licensed
Electrician or City Inspector. Said Electrician or Inspector shall certify that wiring and fixtures are adequate for the
building size and purpose for which it is to be used.

(D) The school building shall be completely air conditioned and centrally heated.

(E) There shall be sufficient hot water supply and pressure and be approved as sufficient by a licensed plumber.

(SF) The school shall be approved by the Department as to space, light, ventilation, hygienic environment and
equipment.

(HG) Interior floor space shall be not less than twenty-five-hundred (2500) square feet of working-area, execluding
restrooms,-student-lounge-hal-and-statrways-for a maximum of twenty-five (25) students.

(HH) Student practical training area or clinic area shall contain not less than twelve-hundred (1200) square feet, open
space, with no walls to obstruct the view of the Instructor. The clinic square footage requirements is for a maximum
enrollment of twenty-five (25) students. Enrollment capacity in excess of twenty-five (25) students will be established by
the square footage contained in the reception area and excess footage over the required twelve-hundred (1200) square
footage in the clinic. Every fifty (50) square feet of space in the aforementioned area will increase the enrollment capacity
by one._A classroom is required and shall be not less than two-hundred-seventy-five (275) square feet. The classroom
must be equipped with items conducive to promote a teaching and learning environment that accommodates both the
instructor and students. Vending machines shall not be in the classroom.

(3D The clinical area shall contain: dresserettes and chairs, shampoo bowls and chairs, dryers with chairs,
manicuring tables with chairs, and facial chairs. Other equipment not used for the instruction of the practical work will
not be permitted.
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| (EJ) Restrooms are required. Restrooms shall contain a commode and lavatory. Floors must be a washable surface.
Pipes or any other projection that might create an unsanitary condition shall not be exposed.

(MK) A reception area shall be required. The reception area shall contain a desk or counter and chairs for clients.
and-other-reception-furnishings,-such-as-tables-er-planters: This area shall not contain dryers-er-any ether equipment used
by the students in the practical work.

| (NL) A supply room will be required to keep all cleaning equipment, such as mops, brooms, scrub pails, etc.

| (©M) A dispensary room is required to store supplies used by students. All extra supplies, not being used, must be
stored.

| (PN) Storage space shall be provided for students to store individual personal items.

| 1€ Space shal b provided for suerts s lients’ coats.

| (RQ) Office space shall be provided for student and school business records that contain equipment and furniture
necessary to reasonably accommodate an administrative office.

(SP) Canteen-and-Break room or lounge room will be provided as-a—refreshment-canteen-and-lounge—for-students:
Alstudentsshal-eat-in-thisroem. Eating will not be permitted in any-other- the clinical area of the school.

| (7.68) Equipment
(A) All equipment for new, existing and re-located schools shall be in good workable condition. The
equipment shall be appropriately maintained in order to promote the health and safety of school
employees, students and clients.

(B) An adequate supply of furnishings shall be maintained in the classroom to sufficiently accommodate the enrolled
students.

| (C) An adequate supply of working equipment for all cosmetology courses shall be maintained in the_school to
reasonably accommodate the clientele received in the school.

’ (D) Each school shall maintain a time clock to register student hours for reporting to the Department.

| (7.79) Initial Inspection of a New or Re-located School_of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology
After all required documentation and fees have been submitted and approved, the Department will conduct an initial
’ inspection on all new or re-located schools for the purpose of determining_suitability based on submitted documentation

with application:
(A)-Suitability -eOf proposed rooms, including adequacy of floor space; plumbing; ventilation; lighting, etc.

| (B) Suitability-oOf proposed layout.
| (C) Suitability-oOf proposed items of equipment and material.
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(D) Satisfactory evidence of proper provisions for duly licensed instructors.

The findings of the initial inspection and the application with supporting documentation shall be submitted to the
Department—forDepartment for its approval.

(7.10) Final Inspection of New or Re-located School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology

H-the-Department-approves-the-initial-inspeetion—aA final inspection shall be autherized-and-conducted by an inspector-

Fhe-final-inspection-shal-be-condueted in order to determine that all information previously submitted to the Department
on the “Personal-Survey-Instructor/Supervisor Form,” the “Application” and the “Initial Inspection Report,” such as the
floor space, list of equipment on hand, and all other pertinent information, has been strictly adhered to by the owners or
administrators of the proposed school.

No license will be issued to any new school until at least 25 student enrollment forms, supporting documents and
enrollment fees have been submitted and at least 25 student permits have been issued.

(7.11) Routine Inspection of School of Cosmetology or Postsecondary School of Cosmetology
Schools of Cosmetology and Postsecondary Schools of Cosmetology shall be inspected at least twice a year, to ensure
compliance with the licensing law and rules promulgated by the Board unless complaints are received by the Department.

(7.812) Purchase of an Existing School_of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology
(A) Any person, firm or corporation seeking to purchase an existing school of cosmetology or Post-secondary School
of Cosmetology shall submit the following information at least thirty (30) days prior to the purchase:

(1) An application shall be filed to reflect the change of ownership.

(2) The new owner shall file a statement designating the name and address of the person who is authorized to
accept service of notice from the Department and to transact all business negotiations on behalf of the school, including
answers to citations for hearings, and compliance with rulings issued by the Department.

(3) Personal-Surveylnstructor Form fertnstructors-shall be completed listing detailed information; such as the
Instructor’s education, previous work experience, etc.

(4) One certified financial statement.

(5) Copy of the legal change of ownership document.

(6) Copy of the new owner’s government issued photo identification.

(7) Samples of all forms to be used in the school; such as attendance record, sign-in sheets, state inspector time
sheets, contracts, releases, progress records, progress cards.
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(8) Required Fee

(7.913) Registration Requirements
(A) All students of Cosmetology, Manicuring, Electrology, Aesthetics, and Teacher Training shall be registered with
the Department before accredited hours can be obtained. Registration prerequisites are as follows:
(1) Registration form (forms provided by the Department ). The completed registration form must be received by
the Department- before accredited hours can be obtained.
(a) One (1) copy of the student/school contract (if applicable).

(2) A copy of the student’s driver’s license or other form of identification verifying the student’s
age.
(3) Proof of education:
(a) Cosmetology, Aesthetics and Manicuring — completed a minimum of two (2) years of
high school or its equivalent.
(b) Electrology and Instructor — completed four (4) years of high school or its equivalent.

(c) Results from a test that is approved by the U.S. Department of Education to measure a student’s ability to
benefit (an “Ability-To-Benefit (ATB) test”) may be used to determine a student’s equivalency to the above.

(4) Required registration fee.
(B) Failure to comply with the above mentioned prerequisites will affect the matriculation date.

(C) All registration forms must state the student’s full given-legal name. which-is-recorded-on-theirbirth-certificate..
(1) If the student is married include the married name after their maiden name.

(2) If a student is married or divorced during the course of training a copy of the marriage certificate or divorce
decree shall be submitted to the Department- before records will be_changed.

._A student who has completed the registration process and whose information is on file with the
department shall complete a re-enreHment student enrollment form without submitting additional documents other than
the student permit fee and a method of identification containing a photograph of the student.

(E) In the event a student has training from another state, then the student must provide the following to the
Arkansas Department of Health Cosmetology Section and the School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of
Cosmetology in which the student wishes to enroll:

(1) A certified copy of the training hours accumulated and certified with the state; or

(2) If the state does not certify hours, an official transcript from the School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary
School of Cosmetology where the student obtained the hours.
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(1) Hygiene and Sanitation — 80 Hours — Instructions in sanitation, sterilization, hygiene, lighting and ventilation,
etc.. General sanitation duties performed by students shall not exceed more than fifteen (15) minutes per day. Students
are required to maintain their stations as warranted and are responsible for their actions or mishaps.

(2) Related Science — 120 hours — Physiotherapy or cosmetricity (pertaining to electricity used in cosmetology),
Physiology and Histology Anatomy, Neurology, Myology and Osteology, etc.

(3) Hairdressing — 1000 hours — A course in cleaning hair, shampooing, haircutting, clipping, singeing, dying,
tinting, bleaching, scalp massage, brushing and combing, curling, permanent waving, and reconditioning hair, wiggery,
thermal pressing, iron curling, chemical relaxing, etc.

(4) Manicuring — 100 hours — A course in the construction, filing and shaping of the fingernailsnails, loosening
and removing the dead cuticle and the art of hand,-ard-arm, foot and ankles massage, etc.

(5) Aesthetics — 100 hours — A course in the skin, various kinds of facial massage, cosmetics, packsapplication of
treatment products, the art of makeup, eyebrow archingshaping, eyebrow and eyelash dying, hair removal, etc.
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(6) Salesmanship and Shop Management — 50 hours — Instruction in how to keep records,
knowledge of business law, cosmetology law, rules and regulations, booking appointments, retailing, etc.

(7) Professional EthicsShep-Depertment— 50 hours — Courtesy, neatness and professional attitude in meeting the
public, etc.

(B) All schools shall provide a minimum of five (5) hours each week in theoretical instruction of each student
enrolled. This requirement may be modified by pro-rating the hours when necessary depending upon the school schedule
provided the student is receiving quality theoretical instruction to prepare him/her for examination.

(C) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.
(D) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.

(E) To qualify for the cosmetology examination, students must acquire a minimum of one-hundred-eighty (180) hours
in theoretical instruction.

(F) A student for a license as a cosmetologist, after one hundred fifty (150) hours of instruction, may engage, in the
school as a student, in work connected with any branch or any combination of the branches of cosmetology taught in the
school upon a client who is paying for services or materials.

—F)_(G)—All schools_of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of ten (10)
services_on a client or a mannequin per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired tweone-hundred-fifty (1250)
hours of instruction. Students shall be assigned to clients on the basis of respective learning needs.

(7.125) Manicure Curriculum
(A) A total of six-hundred (600) hours in Manicure training shall consist of the following subjects and hours:
(1) Health, Sanitation and Infection Control (75 hours);
(2) Health Related Science (75 hours);
(3) Manicuring and Pedicuring (200 hours);
(4) Advance Nail Technology (200 hours);

(5) Career Development (50 hours).

(B) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of five (5) hours
each week in theoretical instruction of each student enrolled. This requirement may be modified by pro-rating the hours
when necessary depending upon the school schedule provided the student is receiving quality theoretical instruction to
prepare him/her for examination.

(C) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.

(D) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.

(E) A student for a license as a manicurist, after sixty (60) hours of instruction, may engage, in the school as a student,
in work connected with manicuring taught in the school upon a client who is paying for service or materials.

(EF) To qualify for the manicure examination, students must acquire a minimum of 60 hours in theoretical instruction.
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{F(G) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of 10 services
per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired 60 hours. Students shall be assigned to clients on the basis of
respective learning needs.

(7.136) Aesthetic Curriculum
(A) A total of six-hundred (600) hours in the Aesthetician course shall consist of the following subjects and hours:

(1) Chemistry (40 hours);

(2) Physiology (35 hours);

(3) Bacteriology & Sanitation (35 hours);

(4) Introduction of Skin Care (45 hours);

(5) Skin Care (150 hours);

(6) Makeup and Corrective Makeup (50 hours);

(7) Eyebrow and Lashes (40 hours);

(8) Hair Removal (40 hours);

(9) Safety Precautions (20 hours);

(10) Professional & Personality Development (20 hours);
(11) Management (20 hours);

(12) Salesmanship (15 hours);

(13) State Laws and Rules and Regulations (10 hours);
(14) Testing Evaluation (15 hours);

(15) Instructor’s Discretion (65 hours).

(B) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of five (5) hours
each week in theoretical instruction of each student enrolled. This requirement may be modified by pro-rating the hours
when necessary depending upon the school schedule provided the student is receiving quality theoretical instruction to
prepare him/her for examination.

(C) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.

(D) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.

(E) A student for a license as an aesthetician, after sixty (60) hours of instruction, may engage, in the school as a
student, in work connected with aesthetics taught in the school upon a client who paying for service or materials.
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(F) To qualify for the cosmetology examination, students must acquire a minimum of 60 hours of theoretical

instruction.

(G) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of ten (10)
services per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired sixty (60) hours. Students shall be assigned to clients on
the basis of respective learning needs.

(7.147) Electrology
(A) Requirements
Any cosmetology school_of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology in the State of Arkansas qualified and

approved to teach cosmetology by the Department may teach Electrolysis in epilation, provided they:

(1) Show proof of a qualified electrolysis instructor who shall be licensed by the Board.
(2) Meet the minimum requirements in equipment necessary to teach Electrolysis in epilation.

(B) Training Course
A course of three-hundred-fifty (350) hours as a student in conjunction with a regular course in cosmetology and its
related occupations or for licensed beauty operator, or a course of six-hundred (600) hours as a student when not in
conjunction with a regular course in cosmetology and its related occupations or a licensed beauty operator, shall be
required as a prerequisite to qualify for examination in electrology. The training shall include practical training and
technical instruction. The school_of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall establish grades and
hold examinations before issuing diplomas in Electrology Training.

(C) Electrology Curriculum:

Subject Cosmetologist Unlicensed
AR Law pertaining to Electrology 10 hours 20 hours
Sterilization, Sanitation, Bacteriology 25 hours 50 hours
Study of Hair 20 hours 40 hours
Study of Skin 25 hours 50 hours
Disorders of Skin and Hair 20 hours 40 hours
Electricity 25 hours 50 hours
Electrology 150 hours 200 hours
Neurology and Angiology 20 hours 40 hours
Development of Practice 15 hours 30 hours
Instructor’s Discretion 40 hours 80 hours

(D) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of five (5) hours
each week in theoretical instruction of each student enrolled. This requirement may be modified by pro-rating the hours
when necessary depending upon the school schedule provided the student is receiving quality theoretical instruction to
prepare him/her for examination.

(E) The time of the classroom instruction class shall be registered with the Department.

(F) Students shall not be permitted to leave the classroom during theoretical instructions to work on clients.

(G) A student for a license as a electrologist, after sixty (60) hours of instruction, may engage, in the school as a
student, in work connected with electrology taught in the school upon a client who is paying for service or materials.
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(H) To qualify for the cosmetology examination, students must acquire a minimum of sixty (60) hours in theoretical
instruction.

(1) __All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide a minimum of ten (10)
services per week, for each student enrolled who has acquired sixty (60) hours. Students shall be assigned to clients on
the basis of respective learning needs.

(7.18) Facility Use for Non-Accredited Courses

Schools of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of cosmetology will be permitted to utilize the school facilities for
non-accredited courses, after reqular school hours, provided said school owner disseminates literature that the said
course(s) is not approved by the Department . All literature (i.e., forms of media advertisements, pamphlets, etc.), must
have prior approval by the Department before communication.

| (7..4519) Discretionary Off-Campus Student Hours
Students may receive credit towards their chosen course of study through discretionary off-campus hours. These hours
may be obtained by attending educational events relevant to the student’s course of study. Credit can only be given for
’ actual time in attendance. Credit shall not be granted for travel time. Students must at all times be accompanied by a bena
fidelicensed instructor and the instructor/student ratio must at all times meet the standards outlined below in section
Instructors who accompany students during these activities must keep written record of students’ attendance through a
sign-in/sign-out sheet.

Schools_of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of cosmetology shall maintain a record of all off-campus events that
students participate in for review upon request by a representative by the Department.— The record shall include the
following information for each event:

(A) Name and location of the educational event;

(B) Date of the educational event;

(C) List of each instructor in attendance;

(D) Sign-in/sign-out sheet;

(E) List of each student in attendance;

| (F)_Number of hours earned by each student.

(7.]2620) Instructor/Enrolled Student Ratio
(A) Instructors shall not be permitted to perform cesmetological-cosmetology services for students, however, the
Instructor will be permitted to assist the student when needed in the clinical area.

(B) Every person employed in a school to instruct students therein shall be currently licensed by the
Board. Instructor/enrolled student ratio shall be as follows:

STUDENT INSTRUCTOR
1-25 1
26-50 2
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51-75 3

(C) All schools_of cosmetology and postsecondary schools of cosmetology shall have an additional Instructor subject to
call at all times in the event the regular_Instructor is ill or absent from the school.

(D) Instructors shall be permitted to tutor students after school hours providing services are not
performed on the public during tutoring sessions and students are not given credit for hours spent in the tutoring capacity.

A721) Responsibility of School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology
A) Training Requirements

(1) Actual experience time is defined as classroom instruction or clinical work or experience under supervision of a

bena-fidelicensed instructor. Extended break time should be on a scheduled basis, such as lunch, coffee, etc., and shall
not be counted as classroom instruction time or creditable time. The only creditable time permitted when the clinic
facility is closed will be classroom instruction.

(2) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall provide each student enrolled the
opportunity to acquire the entire course of training uninterrupted by unscheduled vacations or for any reason that may
cause a delay in the completion of such course. The school shall certify the training in accordance with the required
curriculum for examination and license. This provision does not prohibit a school from suspending a student for
disciplinary reasons. Grounds for suspension shall be determined by the owner. Only students who have been placed on
probation, as a result of a previous infraction of the school rules and regulations or policies, may be suspended from
school. Duration of a suspension shall be set forth in the school catalog.

(3) Certification of hours must be filed with the Department within thirty (30) calendar days immediately following
termination of student. Hours of instruction having been acquired by the student may not be deducted or increased for any
reason. Increase or decrease of creditable hours is prohibited.

(4) Certification of hours forms should be completed by the designated school official, along with the student
training permit and paid-in-full contract. Only the hours that have been accrued during the current enrollment shall be
certified. In the event a student has not paid for all of the accumulated hours a notation shall be made at the bottom of the
certification form stating the number of uncertified hours. Uncertified hours will not be released until a new certification
form is submitted. Certification of Hours Forms may be obtained from the Department upon request and are available for
downloading on the Department’s website at www.healthyarkansas.com.

(5) Required textbooks: The Department must approve textbooks. Textbooks must adequately
cover the prescribed curricula and prepare students for State testing. Other textbooks and reference material may be used
to enhance the cosmetology course.

(BA) Monthly Reports

(1) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology are required to repert-to the Cosmetology
Section -efficedatabase, by the-tenth-{10") the last day of each month, all students currently enrolled in the school during
the_prior month. The monthly report shall reflect the number of hours acquired in the school during the prior month and
the accumulated hours during the current enroliment.

(2) The Cosmetology Section will notify the school of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology when
an error has been made on the monthly report. Upon receipt of this notification the school owner or instructor is required
to check their records and appraise the Cosmetology Section office of the corrections made within the week.
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(3) All schools of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology have thirty (30) calendar days from the
submission date of the monthly report to_report any errors in the hours submitted on the monthly report. Copies of the
time cards and/or supporting documentation related to the error shall support corrections.

(4) No changes to student hours will be made after the thirty (30) day timeframe without good
cause.

(5) No school _of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology owner or instructor shall ever refuse to
submit a Certificate of Training form for a_student, as well as a Balance Due on Tuition form, if applicable, pursuant to

Rule 7.10(D).21 A.

(CB) Daily Records and Inspection
(1) Every school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall keep a daily record of attendance
on each student enrolled. A time clock_shall be used for the purpose of recording hours.

(2) Every school_of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall keep a daily record of the
student’s activity. The time the student has_ acquired in the various phases of cosmetology or its related branches shall be
recorded on this record.

(3) The school of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall establish a grading system and
hold examinations before issuing diplomas.

(4) All necessary basic subjects, in accordance with the Department’s -curriculum shall be
taught in the proper sequence and depth to prepare each student both for the licensing examination and for successful
entry level work in the profession.

(5) A course outline and daily lesson plans shall be used by the school. A course outline shall
be provided to students so they will be apprised of the upcoming activities.

(6) Schools_of cosmetology or post-secondary schools of cosmetology shall be inspected to determine compliance
with applicable licensing code and rules governing cosmetology schools and programs administered in a state or public-
operated school. A school license will be issued upon receipt of a compliance inspection by a representative of the
Department. During an inspection, the inspector may review the records maintained by the school; review the course
outline and lesson plans and generally evaluate the operation of the school. School owners may contact the Department to
discuss the recommendations and/or to request a hearing before the Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee. Failure
to comply with the licensing requirements will be grounds for disciplinary action and license denial.

(€D) Tuition and Fees
(1) Every school_of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall fix its tuition at such an amount
as will enable it to furnish without further_charge to the student all supplies used on the public or on mannequins. Each
student shall have access to a complete kit of tools, textbook and copies of the instructional materials used-in-each-course
prior to the beginning of the course in which those materials are needed.

(2) The student shall not be permitted to remove the kit from the school until such time the student has completed
his/her training or withdraws from school provided the student has purchased the kit from the school.

33



(BE) School Catalog
(1) Every school_of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology shall set forth basic information about
itself in a beund-catalog which is kept up To date and made available to prospective students and the Department.

(2) The catalog must include the following items as a minimum: name and address of school; date
of publication; when the school was established; admission requirements; educational objectives of each program; length
of course and course description; grading system; graduation requirements; type of document received upon graduation;
refund policy; name(s) of owners and scholarship and fee waiver policies.

(3) Either the catalog or a dated supplement to the catalog must include: total tuition for the
course; books and supplies; registration fee or enrollment fee; charges for extra instruction; all other costs
assessed to students; details, conditions, and methods of payment of monies owed to the school;
school policies, rules and regulations; disciplinary action for failure to abide by policies or rules and regulations; and
name of administrative staff and faculty of the school.

(EE) School of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology-Rules and Regulations/Catalog

(2) Prior to adoption, amendment, or repeal of any rule or regulation or catalog, the school shall give notice of its
intended action to the students enrolled in school. The notice shall include the following:

(a) The effective date;
(b) Whether the regulation(s) is new, repeals, or changes an existing rule;
(c) What the regulation(s) is.

(2) After the students are given notice in the proper form all students enrolled in said school will
be required to sign a document stating that they have been apprised of the intended action.

(3) After the regulation(s) has been adopted by the school a supplement which contains the
revisions shall be attached to all catalogs that the school has on hand.

(FG) School_of Cosmetology or Post-Secondary School of Cosmetology Contracts
School_of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology owners who require contracts as a prerequisite for
enrollment will be required to file one (1) copy of the contract with the Department and provide a copy to the student.
The contract must clearly outline the obligation of both the school and the student in accordance with the terms and
conditions stipulated in the school catalog. All contracts must contain the following:
(1) The name and address of the school.

(2) The name and address of the applicant.
(3) Course of Training — Total hours of instruction.

(4) School Term- Stipulate full or part-time. Part-time-mMust state the number of hours each day and days per
week.

(5) Schedule of Payments — State tuition and whether the tuition includes the cost of the kit and
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book. If the kit and book are not included in the tuition said items must be itemized. The down payment, balance of the
contract and the monthly payments must be stated.

(6) The school refund policy must be stated.
(7) Acknowledgement that the student received a copy of the school’s rules and regulations and catalog.

(8) Contracts of under aged student shall be signed by a parent or guardian. Parent or guardian signature is
required for students under eighteen (18) years of age.

(9) All school contracts must be fully executed.

(SH) Penalty
Any school_of cosmetology or post-secondary school of cosmetology-ewner whe-that fails to abide by the terms and
conditions set out in the school catalog or contract or fails to comply with the procedures for adopting rules and
regulations or who is capricious in enforcing school regulations will-may be subject to a disciplinary hearing before the
Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee pursuant to Rule No. 1.3 and-3£10. In the case of a Nationally Accredited
School the Department will notify the proper officials of the disposition of the complaint.

RULE NO. 8
| INSTRUCTOR -TRAINING

| __ (8.1) Requirements
(A) The Department will admit to examination for a license any person who has acquired six-hundred (600) hours of
instructor training in this state and submits the following requirements: (a) a completed Arkansas application form, (b)
certification of hours from the school attended, and (c) paid in full contract.

(B) The instructor training curriculum is designed as a course to extend over a period of not less than four (4) months
and not less than six-hundred (600) hours of training.

(C) A instructor-trainee shall:
(1) be licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist, aesthetician or electrologist in the State of Arkansas,
(2) be registered as a instructor-trainee with the Department,

| (3) be under the immediate-supervision of a licensed instructor at all times,
(4) not be authorized to verify student daily slips,
(5) be given a written examination after completion of each subject by the licensed Instructor.

_ 1 (8.2) curriculum
SUBJECTS MINIMUM HOURS
(A) Required preparatory training 50
Teaching of theory and practical operation.
Selecting subject matter for class lecture.
Preparing class lectures.
Conducting a review of all subjects taught.
Preparing and grading examinations.
Demonstrating practical operations.
Teaching practical operations.



(B) Class attendance 100
Classes are to be conducted by a licensed instructor to prepare instructor-trainee
to properly lecture and demonstrate on all subjects of cosmetology.

(C) Conducting Theory Classes in Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring or Electrology 50
Theory classes will be conducted under the supervision of a licensed instructor.

(D) Conducting Practical Classes in Cosmetology, Aesthetics, Manicuring or Electrology 300
(E) Method of Keeping Student Records 10

(F) Instructor’s Discretion 90

Training in subjects in which the individual instructor-trainee may be deficient, or to the practice of Cosmetology

600
A licensed instructor will_be present in and supervise all classes conducted by an instructor-trainee.

(8.3) Instructor/Instructor-Trainee Ratio

School owners may enroll a maximum of three (3) instructor-trainees for each authorized instructor teaching in the school

on a full-time basis. Instructor/instructor-trainee ratio is as follows:
(A) 1 Instructor/1Trainee — who has acquired between 100 and 200 hours;
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(B) 1 Instructor/2 Trainees — provided 1 trainee has acquired between 100 and 200 hours and 1 trainee has between

200 and 400 hours;

(C) 1 Instructor/3 Trainees — provided 1 trainee has acquired between 100 and 200 hours, 1 trainee has acquired

between 200 and 400 hours and 1 trainee has between 400 and 600 hours.

| The instructor-trainee(s) shall be under the direct-supervision of a full-time licensed instructor at all times. Instructor-

trainee(s) may attend on a part-time basis provided the curriculum is observed.
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RULE NO. 10-9

LICENSE REVOCATION

A person whose license has been revoked may, after the expiration of one (1) year from the date of such revocation or the
final disposition of any appeal, apply for new license in the manner provided for in the original application, and the Board
may, in its discretion, exempt the applicant from examination and grant a new license upon payment of proper fee.

RULE NO. 1310
COMPLAINT POLICY
(A) Complaints against a person, establishment or school
(1) Any person may file a complaint against any of the following: a person, establishment or school licensed by
the Board on any of the grounds for disciplinary action provided in § 17-26-105_of
the Cosmetology Act.

(2) Official complaints must be made in writing within ninety (90) days from the date of infraction. In the event
of a complaint from a student concerning the hours accrued or issues relevant to the completion of the course the student
may submit a complaint against the school within ninety (90) days after the Certificate of Training form is submitted to
the Department by the school.

(3) Complaints against a Board licensee will be provided a hearing by the Cosmetology Technical Advisory
Committee. The Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee will hold hearings bimonthly. Appeals of Committee
findings may be heard by the State Board of
Health.

RULE NO. 1211
EQUIPMENT AND CHEMICAL USE
IN COSMETOLOGY AND ITS RELATED BRANCHES

(A) Equipment
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(1) Cosmetologists and aestheticians may not use any device, tool, machine, or combination of the same, which results in

the removal, destruction, incision, or piercing of a client’s skin beyond the epidermis.

(2) Devices used by cosmetologists and aestheticians must:

(a) Follow all FDA, OSHA, and state safety requirements;

(b) Must not penetrate or pierce the skin beyond the epidermis or mucous membrane of the body, the ocular

cavity, or the urethra, or enter the ear beyond the external auditory canal, the nose beyond the nares, the mouth beyond the

pharynx, the anal canal beyond the rectum, or the vagina beyond the opening of the cervix; and
(c) Must not be classified by the FDA as a Class 3, 3a, or 3b device, or a laser class 3 or 4.

(B) Chemical

(1) A licensed cosmetologist and aesthetician may use the following chemical exfoliation
~ substances:

(a) no more than 50% alpha hydroxyl acid (AHAs which includes, but is not limited to,

____glycolic, tartaric, malic or lactic acids. Such AHAs shall not be lower than a pH of 2);
(b) no more than 20% beta hydroxyl acid (BHAs which include salicylic acid);
(c) no more than 20%Trichloroacetic Acid (TCA) with-levels-of-less-than-20%:
—_— (d) Jessner’s solutions;

(fe) Proteolytic enzymes (such as papain and bromelain) when used with an

accelerator-;and
(f) Non-medical grade retinoids.

(2) No person performing any type of eesmetelegicat-cosmetology services is permitted to use the

following:
(a) Retineids; Medical grade or prescription retinoids;

(b) Carbolic acid (phenol);
(c) Products listed above that exceed the stated maximum levels or combinations thereof;

(d) All adulterated chemical exfoliating/peeling substances.

(C) Equipment and chemical exfoliation substance services shall only be administered in an establishment or school
licensed by the Board and shall only be performed by a licensed practitioner that follows the appropriate health and safety

guidelines_ and the manufacturer’s instructions.
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(1) Cosmetologists and aestheticians shall take a client history and perform a skin analysis prior to providing any
treatment or service to ensure there are no contraindications.

(2) All cosmetology establishments that collect private medical information as part of the client history shall have
procedures in place to protect the confidentiality of the client’s private medical information.




(KE) Cosmetologist and manicurist shall not Fhe use ef-Liquid Methyl Methacrylate (MMA) Monomer.-is

(EF) Performing services prohibited under this section shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the
Cosmetology Technical Advisory Committee.

CERTIFICATION

This will certify that the Rules and Requlations for Cosmetology in Arkansas were adopted by the State Board of Health
of Arkansas at a regular session of said Board held in Little Rock, Arkansas on the day of October, 2015.

Nathaniel Smith, MD, MPH
Secretary of Arkansas State Board of Health
Director, Arkansas Department of Health
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