Arkansas Department of Health

Proposed Rules Pertaining to Arkansas Department of Health Cosmetology

Public Comments Received

A public hearing was conducted December 10, 2015, at 10:00 a.m. in Room #2512, Arkansas
Department of Health, 4815 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72205.

Verbal and Written comments were received by the deadline prior to the hearing and follow.

Comment Response
Response to written comments from Gabriel Black received November
12, 2015;

1. 1 have reviewed the revisions posted online and would like to The reciprocity

comment on the revisions concerning reciprocity. It has become
increasingly difficult to find licensed cosmetologists in our area. The
cost and length of time of the reciprocation process has all but
completely stagnated our results. The majority of the delays are in
the time of release and transfer of records from the Texas
Cosmetology Board with the additional process of scheduling and
completing the Arkansas Law Examination. Together these make
the process into not only week-long but in some cases month-long
endeavors for our applicants and are usually enough to deter them
from seeking employment with our salon. | am writing to you in hopes
to make you aware of the seriousness of our situation and how we
believe that some change, adjustment, or simplification of the rules
and regulations could not only be beneficial but a necessity to our
survival and the development of cosmetology in this part of the
state. Considering our unique position would it be possible to include
a streamlining of the process or perhaps a bi-state consideration to
give some relief to the process of attracting cosmetologist to attain
an Arkansas Cosmetology License in Texarkana, AR? Please give
us any consideration that you can it would be greatly

appreciated. Are there any steps or requirements on my part that |
can do to help with this also?

requirements are set
forth in the Cosmetology
Act, Ark. Code Ann.

§ 17-26-315. To change
these requirements in
the Regulations, there
must be a change in the
Statute first.

Response to written comments from Tracy Akard received November 24,
2015 and verbal comments received December 10, 2015:

2.

After reviewing the rules and regs, | have a concern: Pg 10 Rule 4 section A;
The removal of the sentence. Certified hours mean that tuition has either
been paid in full or the person has signed a promissory note that is
acceptable to the school. | understand the sentence prior to that states
that hours must be certified to be eligible for the examination. However, |
was in a court case where a student owed me $6000 at 1200 hours. | have
hours must be paid to certified hours in my contract, in my catalog, etc.
BUT the judge told us after looking up the rules and regs from Arkansas
state board of health; we did apply the law in implementing that
regulations at our school. It is very important. | have enclosed a copy of
this case to show the validity of what | as saying. | am going to stand firm
on requesting we don't strike that language!!

Based on the comments
received, this language
is being added back into
the Rule. Thisis nota
substantive change, as it
only clarifies what a
“certified hour” is under
the Regulations.
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Response to written comments from Carla Jones received November 30,
2015 and verbal comments received December 10, 2015:

3. Ireceived an email from Tracy Akard concerning the striking of Please see response to
the language of RULE NO. 4 EXAMINATIONS. In the Rule (4.1) A. It states | above comment #2.
that: Certified hours mean that tuition has either been paid in full or the
person has signed a promissory note that is acceptable to the school.

Tracy along with other school owners are concerned because this language
better serves them as a school owner when students do not or will not pay
tuition owed or sign a promissory note and they end up in court. My
question is what if anything, can the school owners do in order to have this
language remain in the rules and regulations?

Response to comments from Kevin Vickners received
December 10, 2015:

4. Medical Rules and Regulation 22 Does not apply to Rule
Revision, as this regards
the Rules of the State
Medical Board

5. Change Rule 11 pertaining to aestheticians to be more directly The Rules and

related to the same rules as Arkansas medical board- if you are an
aesthetician and you plan on touching a laser on someone skin, keep
in mind you are practicing medicine you need a doctors order first,
you need to work for a physician, you cannot do it on your own or
there will be consequence’s.

6. No fine listed for using lasers, a fine should be added to the

scheduled fee.

7. Add language to Rule 1.3 stating inspections can be made

anywhere aestheticians are employed.

Regulations for
Cosmetology are rules
and regulations of the
State Board of Health.
Pursuant to Ark. Code
Ann. § 20-7-109, the
Board of Health is
prohibited from
regulated the practice of
medicine. We cannot
regulate aestheticians
working under
physicians.

There are statutory fines
set forth for the violation
of any rule and
regulation, they are up to
$1000 per violation per
day. These provisions
can be relied on if there
are no more specific
fines listed in the
regulation.

There are already
provisions requiring
aestheticians who are
not working under an
exemption provision to
work in a licensed salon.
These salons must be
inspected. However, as
stated above, we cannot




Comment

Response

regulate the practice of
medicine inside a
physician’s office or
medical spa.

Response to comments from Drusella Johnson received December 10,
2015:

8. Would like something implemented in the manicurist about
preforming aesthetic work.

The Rules and Statute
already prevent a
manicurist from working
outside the scope of his
or her license, which
would include
performing aesthetics
work.

Response to comments from Jamie Hopson and Melissa Horton
received December 10, 2015:

9. Stronger Laws for medical spas -Strengthen the aesthetic industry
both with the knowledge and reputation to where people aren’t doing
things they are not supposed to be doing, help with “medi-spas”
using a doctors license when a doctor is not on the premises, help
with accreditation process like LPN and RN or nurse practitioner,
some sort of accreditation for years of service other than someone
right out of school.

10. Levels of Accreditation(Medical /Master Esthetician)

11. No mandatory CEU in the aesthetic industry, nowhere to go train in
Arkansas.

12. Hours for Cosmo and esthetics- 100 hours in esthetic training for
cosmetology program is not adequate to be properly treating clients.
And the Esthetics curriculum 150 hours of skincare is insufficient.

13. Does permanent cosmetic go under Cosmetology, is it kind of like
the medical rules and regulations.

Please see responses to
Comments #5 & 7
above.

This would require a
statutory change to
create a new licensure
level.

Language would require
a statutory change.

This would require a
statutory change to
make CEU’s a
requirement for renewal.

At this time, the
curriculum is felt to be
adequate and consistent
with national standards.
However, we are
constantly reevaluating
the curriculum and will
take these comments
under advisement.

Permanent cosmetics
are regulated with Body
Art.

Response to comments from Debbie McClure received December 10,
2015:

14. Why is it 50% for Post-secondary Schools of Cosmetology

This is a typo. The
previous rule change
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15. On the inspector why is the 5 years’ experience being taken out

16. Rule 5 (4) Does valid license mean they have to have an instructor
license.

defined a post-
secondary school as a
school that “offers a
postsecondary
curriculum approved by
the Department of
Health and whose
enroliment is made up of
only students that have
a high school diploma or
the equivalent.” The
language will be
changed to reflect that
rule revision.

This was discussed
during Rule Committee
meetings, and was
omitted at industry
request.

This question does not
apply to Rule Revision.
Please contact the
Cosmetology Section for
clarification of any Rules
and Regulations.

Response to comments from Eugene Phillips received December 10,
2015:

17. Wanted to know but lifetime license and 50 dollar fee?

This question does not
apply to Rule Revision.
Please contact the
Cosmetology Section for
clarification of any Rules
and Regulations.




