Home | Apply Online | FAQs | Forms | Patient Info | Caregiver Info
| Petition To Add New Condition | Info for Physicians | Rules and Regs |
Q. Where can I read the Medical Marijuana Amendment?
Q. Where can I read the complete department rules for the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program?
Q. What information and forms are required when a patient applies for a Medical Marijuana ID card?
The following are required when submitting your application:
- The application form.
- The completed Physician Written Certification.
- Photocopy of your Arkansas issued driver's license or state ID (remember: name and address must match what is listed on your Arkansas driver's license or ID).
- The nonrefundable $50 application fee.
Q. How long is my ID card valid?
Your registry identification card from the Arkansas Department of Health will be valid for one year from the date it is issued OR the amount of time designated by the physician.
Q. I live in another state and have one of the eligible debilitating medical conditions. Can I apply?
No. Only Arkansas residents can apply for the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program.
Q. Is my confidentiality protected when I apply and if I am approved for the use of medical marijuana?
Yes. The following information received and records kept by the Arkansas Department Health Medical Marijuana Section are subject to all applicable federal privacy laws, are confidential, are exempt from the Freedom of Information Act and are not subject to disclosure to any individual or public or private entity, except as necessary for authorized employees of the department to perform official duties for the medical marijuana program. Law enforcement will have the ability to confirm patient status in the medical marijuana registry only if a patient is approached or arrested by a state or local law enforcement officer.
- Applications, or renewals, their contents and supporting information submitted by qualifying patients and designated caregivers, including information regarding designated caregivers and physicians
- The individual name and other information identifying the person to whom the Arkansas Department of Health Medical Marijuana Section has issued registry identification cards
Q. Can I use medical marijuana anywhere in Arkansas?
No. Using medical cannabis is prohibited in a school bus, on the grounds of any preschool or primary or secondary school, in any correctional facility, in any motor vehicle, in a private residence used at any time to provide licensed child care or other similar social service care on the premises and in any public place where an individual could reasonably be expected to be observed by others. A public place includes all parts of buildings owned in a whole or in part, or leased, by the state or local unit of government. A public place does not include a private residence unless the private residence is used to provide licensed child care, foster care or other similar social service care on the premises. Using medical marijuana is also prohibited in a health care facility or any other place where smoking is prohibited by the Clean Indoor Air Act of 2006 and knowingly in close physical proximity to anyone under the age of 18.
Q. Are registry identification cards from other state medical marijuana programs valid in Arkansas?
A visiting qualifying patient may obtain marijuana within a 30-day period from a dispensary upon producing evidence of his or her registry identification card or its equivalent that is issued under the laws of another state, district, territory, commonwealth, or insular possession of the United States.
Q. May I obtain a qualified patient or designated caregiver registry ID card if I am a member of Arkansas National Guard or Unites States military?
Legislation passed in 2017 prohibits members of Arkansas National Guard and United States military from obtaining a qualified patient or designated caregiver registry ID card.
Q. How do I apply for the Medical Marijuana Program?
Applications may be completed online here.
The medical marijuana application process has been made easy as possible for individuals to complete. The application lists the requirements. Read the application carefully.
Qualifying patients may submit applications using the Department’s website or applications may be printed from the website and mailed in to the department. If requested, the department will mail or email an application to a patient.
If you choose to submit a paper application, completed applications can be mailed to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Medical Marijuana Section
4815 West Markham slot 50
Little Rock, AR 72205
Applications are generally processed in the order in which they are received.
Q. May a minor become a qualified patient?
The Department shall NOT issue a registry identification card to a qualifying patient under eighteen (18) unless the following conditions are met:
- The parent, guardian, or legal custodian consents in writing to the following:
- To allow the qualifying patient ‘s medical use of marijuana
- To assist the qualifying patient in the medical use of marijuana
- To control the acquisition of the marijuana, the dosage, and the frequency of the medical use of marijuana by the qualifying patient.
- The parent, guardian or legal custodian registers as a designated caregiver for the qualifying patient.
Q. How can I get a paper application?
You may print forms here and send completed applications to the Arkansas Department of Health.
Q. What if my application is rejected?
If your application is rejected for lack of information, you may continue to work toward completion of the application.
Q. Will the Arkansas Department of Health verify my written certification form with my doctor?
Yes. The department may contact the physician that provided the written certification.
Q. How long does it take to process an application once I submit my forms to the program?
When a fully completed application has been received, the department has 14 days to process the application.
Q. What happens at the end of the 14 days the Department has to review my application?
The applicant will receive notification, and cards will not be issued until one month prior to Medical Marijuana availability in Arkansas dispensaries.
Q. What happens if my application is incomplete?
The department will not process an application unless it is complete. Your application will be returned with instructions for re-submission.
ID Card questions:
Q. How do I get a card?
Please complete the online application and pay the fee. Applications which are complete and have paid the required fee will be reviewed for determination of qualifications. Those applicants meeting all of the required qualifications will be able to print or will have printed for them a Medical Marijuana Registry Card one month prior to Medical Marijuana availability in Arkansas dispensaries.
Q. If my registry identification card is lost, stolen or damaged what do I do and is there a fee to replace the card?
A registry card holder can print a replacement card for free using the registry website. A registry card holder without internet access can contact the Department for a replacement card. Once a replacement card is issued the old card is no longer valid. There is a Registry Change form available here for requesting a change/replacement card.
Q. I received my registry identification card, but my name is misspelled (or has other incorrect information). What do I do?
Complete a change of information form and send the form to the Arkansas Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program. A corrected replacement card will be sent as soon as possible. Once a replacement card is issued, the prior card is no longer valid.
Q. If my registry identification card expired and I didn’t submit my renewal application before the deadline, am I still eligible to purchase medical marijuana?
No. When your card expires, the legal protection offered by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act is expired. You may still submit your renewal application.
Questions about Medical Conditions:
Q. What are the qualifying conditions?
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus/ acquired immune deficiency syndrome
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Severe arthritis
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Intractable pain which is pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
- Severe nausea
- Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
- and any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health
Q. Can other medical conditions be added to the list?
Patients suffering from medical conditions may petition the department for consideration of an illness. After a hearing, the department shall approve or deny a petition within one hundred (120) days of submission of the petition. Click here for petition information.
Q. I have one of the debilitating medical conditions, am I automatically a qualified patient?
An official written certification must be obtained from a medical physician and submitted with the application.
Questions about Physicians:
Q. Which medical physicians can certify me for medical marijuana?
The medical provider must be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy licensed in the state of Arkansas, have a controlled substances license on file with the DEA, be in good standing to practice medicine in Arkansas, and have a bona fide physician-patient relationship with the patient they are certifying for medical cannabis.
Q. Can the program give me a list of medical physicians who will certify me for the Medical Marijuana Program?
The department does not keep a list of medical physicians who will certify patients for medical marijuana.
Q. Is there a list of doctors in my area that can give me a Medical Marijuana certification?
The department does not maintain a physician list. Patients will be responsible for locating their own physician.
Q. Are physicians required to complete the written certification form if I have a qualifying debilitating medical condition?
No, a physician is not mandated to provide a patient with a certification.
Q. When does the physician certification expire?
The physician certification is valid for 30 days. If a patient gets a certification and fails to submit it to the ADH within 30 days, they must get a new certification.
Q. Do I have to buy my marijuana from one of the dispensaries?
Yes. To be protected under the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act, your marijuana must be labeled from one of the Arkansas dispensaries.
Q. Can I grow my own medical marijuana?
No. Qualifying registered patients and their designated caregivers cannot grow or cultivate medical marijuana. Marijuana-infused products must be purchased through the Arkansas medical marijuana dispensaries.
Q. How much medical marijuana may I possess as a qualified registered patient?
Qualified registered patients are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces from a dispensary every 14 days.
Q. Will my insurance or Medicaid pay for my marijuana?
Please contact your insurance provider or Medicaid official for an answer.
Q. How do I become a cultivator of dispenser?
Please contact the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission for information about licensure for cultivation. Please contact the Arkansas Beverage Control Agency for information about dispensary licensure. Questions about cultivation and dispensing requirements should be directed to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration--click here.
Designated Caregiver questions:
Q. What is a designated caregiver?
A designated caregiver is a person who is selected by a qualifying patient as the person authorized, on the qualifying patient’s behalf, to possess, obtain from a certified medical marijuana dispensary, dispense and assist in the administration of medical marijuana. Caregivers must apply for a registry card. A designated caregiver is issued a medical marijuana registry identification card that allows him/her to possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana on behalf of their patient. It is not legal for caregivers to consume, by any means, medical marijuana that has been dispensed on behalf of a registered qualifying patient.
Q. How do I apply to be a designated caregiver?
Complete the designated caregiver application here.
Q. Do I need a caregiver card to purchase MMJ for my child?
Yes. Qualified patients under 18 years of age cannot purchase medical marijuana from a dispensary. The legal guardian or parent is required to register as a caregiver to buy medical marijuana for a minor.
Q. Can a caregiver have more than one patient?
Yes. A caregiver may serve more than one patient. A caregiver must apply for a registry card for each patient and pay $50 for each registry card.
Q. Can a caregiver also be a registered qualifying patient?
Yes. A caregiver may be a registered qualifying patient.
|Office ||Address ||Phone |
|Medical Marijuana ||4815 W. Markham St., Slot 50 |
Little Rock, AR 72205
|Toll Free 1-833-214-8619 |